We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and clean hotel, but bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parigoria
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly and clean hotel, but bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We booked to stay for 4 days in October 2013. On arrival, the hotel manager was charming and extremely welcoming, going out of his way to show us on the local map how to get around the locality.
The room itself was as advertised: basic but clean. No toiletries in the bathroom, but the citronella candle in the bedroom was a nice touch. There was a lovely view out on the balcony too, looking down to the sea on one side.
The nearest beach was 10 minutes walk away (although there's little there: the financial crisis has destroyed the bars and restaurants that once lined up alongside the first beach) and Chania's Old Town (which is gorgeous and well worth a trip) is 20 minutes walk or a short bus ride away.
Unfortunately we found the paper thin walls around our room too much to contend with: we were staying on the ground floor and therefore heard everyone's comings and goings throughout the day and night, which kept us awake.
We were also unfortunate enough to have our room situated next door to that of a rather badly behaved toddler, who spent most nights screaming and running up and down the corridor, throwing toys around as he went. Not the hotel's fault certainly, but with the thin walls it made sleep impossible.
The manager, when we informed him that we were having to cut our trip short because of the noise levels, couldn't have been more apologetic, and insisted on paying our money back for the remainder of the stay, which was very kind. He seemed genuinely upset that we were calling time on our stay at his hotel, which he clearly adores.
We didn't get a chance to see the restaurant, but the reviews from other diners we saw sounded promising.
All in all, not bad for a budget trip, but bring your ear plugs if you're a light sleeper, and try and get a room on the higher floors.

Room Tip: ask for one on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Happy you enjoyed the sea views!
Sorry to hear you were troubled with noise...it really usually is very quiet here. Sometimes things like this is out of our control, like the screaming toddler! But I am happy to have had you as our guest even for the few days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    192
    59
    15
    5
See reviews for
84
356
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had a wonderful week in september at this small and simple, but well kept and spotlessly clean hotel. The room was small, but clean and comfortable with en suite bathroom. The shower was good enough, but it's difficult to avoid the plastic cutains to stick to your body when using it, and the floor wil get wet. But then, it's not a 5 star hotel. We had a small(ish) balcony with wonderful sea views.
The breakfast was very good for Crete, and the Restaurant served very good and well prepared meals in the evening at reasonable prices.
The location was perfect for us in a quiet neighbourhood within walking distance from the old town (approx. 25 min or 5-10 min. by bus). A taxi back from the old town sat us back 6 Euro.
Approx. 10 min walk down to a nice beach.
The staff was very nice and helpful and we will certainly come back if we go to Chania again!

Room Tip: Get a room With a sea wiew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndisMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Glad you enjoyed our location, breakfast selection and meals at our restaurant!!
Happy to hear you will be coming back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

What an absolute joy Alexis Hotel is. Pottering arround Europe on a budget this venue - 23rd stop-over so far this year - represents excellent value for money.

I usualy book for just two or three days in advance but, after reading reviews here, took a chance on a full week. No regrets at all.

Difficult to add further compliments to previous review comments but must mention that the rooms are extremely well appointed with lighting and power sockets - not something I can say about any bar one of ALL the budget hotels I've stayed at throughout Spain, Italy and France this year. The only one comparable was a 4*. I'm all for'saving the planet' but the usual 40watt bulbs and unreachable power sockets are aa pain.

Well done Theo and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BagginsAtSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Happy to hear you got value for your money at Alexis hotel!
Look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Peaceful location with great views. Walking distance from Chania and lovely beaches. Rooms cleaned everyday. Restaurant food superb at very reasonable prices. Friendly staff. Amazing value for money. Thanks Theo - hope to see you again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 821CJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hello! Thank you for your comments!
I am happy that you found our hotel a great value for your money! See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polis, Cyprus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Basic "pension style" accommodation kept very clean and tidy by the cleaning lady; all staff very friendly and helpful.......the most amazing part of the holiday for us was eating in the hotel restaurant which is also open to non-residents....Theo did the cooking himself and his food was second to none, beautifully prepared and presented and tasted delicious...we will certainly be making a return visit

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of our hotel! Glad you enjoyed the food at the restaurant!
I look forward to spending time with you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
195 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed here for just one night, it is in a great location, 5 minute walk from the beach, 5 minute walk from the bus stop, 1 minute walk from 1 of the most amazing restaurants I have ever eaten at! The room itself was nothing amazing, make sure you ask for Air Conditioning as it was very hot. The staff were VERY helpful and I would recommend this hotel to anyone for a night or two!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Hello! thank you for leaving your review of Alexis hotel. Glad you liked the hotel's location. Thank you for your kind comments on our hotel restaurant! thanks for recommending our hotel and restaurant to others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hotel is excellent & the location is great, within easy walking distance from the town and also the fine beaches nearby. Theo and all of the staff are extremely helpful, efficient and welcoming. The restaurant is superb with a great atmosphere, is good value for money and definitely worth a visit with stunning sunset views when dining al fresco. This hotel and restaurant should definitely be on your shortlist if you are visiting Chania.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex00000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for your review! Glad you like our restaurant, location and proximity to the beach. I am pleased you were well taken care of and I look forward to seeing you again next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parigoria
1.9 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.1 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
65.2 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Hotel

Property: Alexis Hotel
Address: 99 Kallergidon Street, Parigoria, Chania Town, Crete 731 35, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town > Parigoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Parigoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexis Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Chania Town, close to the beach, Venetian Port and Chania Lighthouse. Guestrooms open to balconies with sea views, and offer air conditioning, safes, mini-fridge and free WiFi. The hotel restaurant serves Greek and Creative Cretan dishes and room service is also available. There is a regular shuttle bus to the city center or 20 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Alexis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Parigoría
Alexis Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing