We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Nearby Hotels
Sea View Hotel and Apartments(Kato Daratso)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lefka Apartments(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$61
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kyriaki(Chrissi Akti)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elma's Dream Apartments & Villas(Nea Kydonia)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$54
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Apartments(Daratsos)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
Forum Suites(Chrissi Akti)(Great Value!)
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Christina(Chania Town)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveller rating
377
211
62
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
211
62
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerthe half board optionamazing restauranthotel restaurantsea viewfriendly hotelold townminute walkstar hotelclean roomsfamily run hotelnice beachair conditioningnice stayshower curtainbus stopplaces to visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 673 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I can't say enough good things about Hotel Alexis and its people. The sub text on the business card for the hotel ( with the managers cell phone number in case you get lost) says " your home in Crete". How true. I was travelling alone and found the daily chatter with Yianni and Georgia, the restaurant and bar's staff/hosts/light entertainment great at the end of the day. They patiently answered my questions about life in Crete and are great fun.
Don't go to Theo's restaurant if you are on a diet. That man can cook. Don't bother eating anywhere else unless you want to punish yourself.
The rooms are clean and tidy. The bed was comfortable. The view from the balcony amazing. How many sunset photos do you need??? The shower curtains get you a bit but that is standard for that part of the world.
Hotel Alexis is great value. You will feel comfortable and at home.
Close to a good beach and close but out of the busyness of down town Chania
I will be back Theo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, Chania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Very happy you felt at home at Alexis hotel!

I am pleased you enjoyed the view from your room and the meals at our restaurant!

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We booked to stay for 4 days in October 2013. On arrival, the hotel manager was charming and extremely welcoming, going out of his way to show us on the local map how to get around the locality.
The room itself was as advertised: basic but clean. No toiletries in the bathroom, but the citronella candle in the bedroom was a nice touch. There was a lovely view out on the balcony too, looking down to the sea on one side.
The nearest beach was 10 minutes walk away (although there's little there: the financial crisis has destroyed the bars and restaurants that once lined up alongside the first beach) and Chania's Old Town (which is gorgeous and well worth a trip) is 20 minutes walk or a short bus ride away.
Unfortunately we found the paper thin walls around our room too much to contend with: we were staying on the ground floor and therefore heard everyone's comings and goings throughout the day and night, which kept us awake.
We were also unfortunate enough to have our room situated next door to that of a rather badly behaved toddler, who spent most nights screaming and running up and down the corridor, throwing toys around as he went. Not the hotel's fault certainly, but with the thin walls it made sleep impossible.
The manager, when we informed him that we were having to cut our trip short because of the noise levels, couldn't have been more apologetic, and insisted on paying our money back for the remainder of the stay, which was very kind. He seemed genuinely upset that we were calling time on our stay at his hotel, which he clearly adores.
We didn't get a chance to see the restaurant, but the reviews from other diners we saw sounded promising.
All in all, not bad for a budget trip, but bring your ear plugs if you're a light sleeper, and try and get a room on the higher floors.

Room Tip: ask for one on the higher floors.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, Chania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Happy you enjoyed the sea views!
Sorry to hear you were troubled with noise...it really usually is very quiet here. Sometimes things like this is out of our control, like the screaming toddler! But I am happy to have had you as our guest even for the few days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had a wonderful week in september at this small and simple, but well kept and spotlessly clean hotel. The room was small, but clean and comfortable with en suite bathroom. The shower was good enough, but it's difficult to avoid the plastic cutains to stick to your body when using it, and the floor wil get wet. But then, it's not a 5 star hotel. We had a small(ish) balcony with wonderful sea views.
The breakfast was very good for Crete, and the Restaurant served very good and well prepared meals in the evening at reasonable prices.
The location was perfect for us in a quiet neighbourhood within walking distance from the old town (approx. 25 min or 5-10 min. by bus). A taxi back from the old town sat us back 6 Euro.
Approx. 10 min walk down to a nice beach.
The staff was very nice and helpful and we will certainly come back if we go to Chania again!

Room Tip: Get a room With a sea wiew.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndisMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, Chania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Glad you enjoyed our location, breakfast selection and meals at our restaurant!!
Happy to hear you will be coming back to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

What an absolute joy Alexis Hotel is. Pottering arround Europe on a budget this venue - 23rd stop-over so far this year - represents excellent value for money.

I usualy book for just two or three days in advance but, after reading reviews here, took a chance on a full week. No regrets at all.

Difficult to add further compliments to previous review comments but must mention that the rooms are extremely well appointed with lighting and power sockets - not something I can say about any bar one of ALL the budget hotels I've stayed at throughout Spain, Italy and France this year. The only one comparable was a 4*. I'm all for'saving the planet' but the usual 40watt bulbs and unreachable power sockets are aa pain.

Well done Theo and family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BagginsAtSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, Chania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Happy to hear you got value for your money at Alexis hotel!
Look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Peaceful location with great views. Walking distance from Chania and lovely beaches. Rooms cleaned everyday. Restaurant food superb at very reasonable prices. Friendly staff. Amazing value for money. Thanks Theo - hope to see you again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 821CJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theok, Manager at Alexis Hotel, Chania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Hello! Thank you for your comments!
I am happy that you found our hotel a great value for your money! See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews