We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great beds!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Alexandra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Vere Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
bristol
Level Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value, great beds!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Needed somewhere close to swindon so chose this hotel after reading reviews on trip adviser. Was not disappointed! The room was great; spacious, very comfy beds, free chocs and wine, lots of space for babies cot. Clean and well maintained, very nice shower etc. Views of nice trees from the room. Quiet etc etc. The food on offer was buffet but of good quality, breakfast was fresh and plentiful. We were also given a simple packed lunch on our last day which was adequate. The leisure facilities were good, clean and they also had an outdoor tennis court which looked good.

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms are quicker to get to. Wev were in 167 and had to walk a long way donw corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolClogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    329
    173
    60
    32
See reviews for
78
425
21
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We booked one night here on their "Ramblers Retreat" deal. Very difficult to find but when we finally arrived, the reception staff were excellent. Unfortunately, we had been allocated a room with a double bed (we are 2 single ladies). We were informed all the twin rooms were taken but instead were given a double room each at no extra cost. The rooms were modern and spotlessly clean. Dinner, which was included, was excellent and we could not praise the staff more - they were all so friendly and pleasant.
Breakfast was a feast and we were then given a packed lunch for our day out on the Sunday, so ended up spending no money at all on top of the £45pp we paid in advance!
There was a wedding in the hotel but we didn't hear any music or noise from this.
We didn't use the leisure facilities but did go to have a look. The pool is small but adequate.
All in all, a large modern conference hotel with great staff, clean modern rooms and good food - what more can you ask for?

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be of the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbkofherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrahouse, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Good Morning and very many thanks for your kind feedback. I am delighted that my team dealt swiftly with the accommodation issue and that overall you had an excellent stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to Alexandra House in the future.

Regards

Andrew Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northolt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed at this place as a part of our course. We found this place very comfortable. The conference facilities were very good, they have a very large auditorium. The rooms were larger than life for 1 person. Service is excellent

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nirajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrahouse, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear nirajay, very many thanks for your excellent feedback. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Alexandra House in the future.

Kind Regards

Andrew Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

As we arrived we were blown away by the service and friendliness of the reception staff and this was repeated later on in the bar and restaurant. It's clear the hotel management have made this a top priority.

The room was nice, spacious and clean. If I had to pick some bad points, it was a little dark and I found the pillows very thin, which kept me awake until I got another from the wardrobe.

The pool was nice but a little small which was noticeable when busy.

The bar area was nice, however very expensive, I have seen one of their £22.50 bottles of wine for £16.50 in other hotels and £6 in ASDA.

The restaurant was nice. On Saturday it was a self service buffet, very nice salads and starters however main and desert would have been nicer if to the same standard as the starters. Buffet breakfast was ok, nothing different really. Pack lunch was very acceptable.

I was a bit disappointed that this was advertised as a "ramblers retreat" as there didn't seem to be any walks from the hotel and it wasn't really in the Cotswolds as some adverts suggested. We did take one short walk around a corn field but didn't really know it was an official path or just a farmers driveway.

All in all an enjoyable stay and would return without hesitation Good value for money at £92.50 inc credit card charge for Dinner, B&B and pack lunch for two.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrahouse, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Good Morning and very many thanks for your feedback. I note your constructive comments regarding dinner and walking routes which of course I will address. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed Alexandra Hosue and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Andrew Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed for one night in May. We booked just a couple of days beforehand and found the hotel to be fine. It's a conference centre during the week, so was quiet at the weekend, with most of the hotel being booked out for a wedding. Good breakfast, decent leisure facilities and comfortable rooms. It's a little out of the way, so you need a car if you want to eat out at a
local pub or restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatboytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

We had a works event here recently and had the challenge of staying over for 2 nights. Be forewarned that the lobby reception to the rooms is a very long trek when you arrive so stage your luggage there upon arrival before parking.

The hotel bar thinks it perfectly OK to charge £6.50 for 1 single Vodka&Tonic -- that's almost DOUBLE London prices so a huge rippoff even if I was on expense report for the trip. THey have a poor selection of beers on offer so you may want to teatotal there.

The rooms are nothing special, but they're not bad either. It is very sad they only have aerial TV and not at least Digital Freeview as the TV in my room had been "fiddled with" and I had to force a re-tune so I could see anything. That's a QA issue that the staff should be checking.
The bathtubs have a VERY HIGH side on them so take caution when getting in as the rubber mats slip, I almost ended up in a most painful male position. The 2 twin beds put together both had a noticable slope to the side so you could not get into a position for full sleep, and if you did the light woke you because the blind would not go down all the way. Over 2 evenings I tried to call front desk, but no answer and I wasn't redressing just to walk up there to report this.

The saddest part however is the very poor state of the food on offer. Lifeless, flaovurless, and almost tasteless. The buffet line for breakfast has foods like scrambled eggs and bacon "swimming" in water or grease which is poor. The dining room I'd guess seats around 100, but there is only ONE toasting machine, again a poor show.

Serving a 100 person meeting chili with BEANS was another catastrophically bad idea without oxygen masks for the afternoon session I am sorry to report.

The evening meal we had diners on our table complained to staff about the extremely dried out Pork, although the Chicken swimming in pasta sauce supposedly was better.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S6blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

I have stayed here before and find the location and facilities excellent and it is convenient for touring the Cotswolds. I have never paid full price and do not know what it is! In the past I have had dinner and B&B for £79 per night for two people and on my last stay I paid £98 for 2 nights B&B. The rooms are excellent, the beds are very comfortable and the breakfast was very good, particularly the bacon!.

Small quibbles. Free internet is provided but one has to ask reception for a 16 digit code which gives one 30 minutes access and then a new code is needed. I was not on a business trip but if I had been I would have found this procedure very tedious. I paid £25 for an upgrade package of "A Bottle of Wine and Chocolates" etc which was, to be candid, disappointing. A 1/2 bottle of undrinkable red wine and a box of 4 chocolates! Also 2 small bottles of water, a can of cherry fizz and 2 nice towelling bathrobes. A bit much I thought. Get a bargain price on this hotel and skip the "Extras" and you will be happy. Also, the hotel telephone system charges 70p/minute for local calls! Anybody who is charging that when mobiles are free or Max 35p a minute isn't going to get business I think!

Room Tip: Go for the Special Rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
13.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#4 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Alexandra House

Property: De Vere Alexandra House
Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and Booking.com so you can book your De Vere Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
De Vere Alexandra House Wroughton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing