We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and conference centre and facilities”
Review of Alexandra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed here whilst doing a training course. It is a class above normal venues and has great hotel, training and leisure facilities. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable, staff friendly and there are snacks and drinks freely available throughout the hotel as well as the usual tea/coffee making in the room. Food was good although the restaurant does not have an extensive menu. This would be my preferred venue for training and conferences.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloriamundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

979 - 985 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

Big Hotel located in the middle of wanborough, nice country feel to the area but an executive looking hotel.
We booked a exec room inc breakfast, the room was good, clean and smart with tea/coffee making facilities along with a half bottle of wine and a box containing 2 chocolates. The Bathroom was clean and modern, nice shower with smart toiletries plus bathrobes.

Reception staff polite and informative-always a bonus these days.
Although there was a wedding the night we booked in we didnt hear anything where we were sleeping. Varying types of people use this hotel from business to families/ young couples from what I could gather.

Best part, breakfast - the head waitor-didn't get his name-a middle aged male-was fab, couldn't do enough for us, even though we are a young couple we still got treated well by this member of staff. Everything you need from a good breakfast cooked meats, eggs, toast, cereal, fruit, yogurts etc with tea and coffee. Perfect.

Only downside-we Pre booked the room online and and paid in advance as per the hotel policy- but on checking out we were asked to pay- having thought it was all sorted and the money gone from our account, not the case-it seemed the 'computer' made a mistake and did not charge the full amount so this left us unclear as to how much money we actually had left. Not the worst error in the world but unhelpful none the less.

We only stayed 1 night but all in all we would stay again, nice surroundings, clean rooms, and decent breakfast with polite/friendly staff.

Room Tip: Book in advance online, and double check your booking details with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needmoreHolidays0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

5 channels on TV, morgue like bar, slow, intermittent internet. only pizza on room service, limited dining options, noisy heating. not a place to go back to

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herodotus_rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Needed somewhere close to swindon so chose this hotel after reading reviews on trip adviser. Was not disappointed! The room was great; spacious, very comfy beds, free chocs and wine, lots of space for babies cot. Clean and well maintained, very nice shower etc. Views of nice trees from the room. Quiet etc etc. The food on offer was buffet but of good quality, breakfast was fresh and plentiful. We were also given a simple packed lunch on our last day which was adequate. The leisure facilities were good, clean and they also had an outdoor tennis court which looked good.

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms are quicker to get to. Wev were in 167 and had to walk a long way donw corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolClogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We booked one night here on their "Ramblers Retreat" deal. Very difficult to find but when we finally arrived, the reception staff were excellent. Unfortunately, we had been allocated a room with a double bed (we are 2 single ladies). We were informed all the twin rooms were taken but instead were given a double room each at no extra cost. The rooms were modern and spotlessly clean. Dinner, which was included, was excellent and we could not praise the staff more - they were all so friendly and pleasant.
Breakfast was a feast and we were then given a packed lunch for our day out on the Sunday, so ended up spending no money at all on top of the £45pp we paid in advance!
There was a wedding in the hotel but we didn't hear any music or noise from this.
We didn't use the leisure facilities but did go to have a look. The pool is small but adequate.
All in all, a large modern conference hotel with great staff, clean modern rooms and good food - what more can you ask for?

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be of the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbkofherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrahouse, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Good Morning and very many thanks for your kind feedback. I am delighted that my team dealt swiftly with the accommodation issue and that overall you had an excellent stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to Alexandra House in the future.

Regards

Andrew Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed at this place as a part of our course. We found this place very comfortable. The conference facilities were very good, they have a very large auditorium. The rooms were larger than life for 1 person. Service is excellent

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nirajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrahouse, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Dear nirajay, very many thanks for your excellent feedback. I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Alexandra House in the future.

Kind Regards

Andrew Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

As we arrived we were blown away by the service and friendliness of the reception staff and this was repeated later on in the bar and restaurant. It's clear the hotel management have made this a top priority.

The room was nice, spacious and clean. If I had to pick some bad points, it was a little dark and I found the pillows very thin, which kept me awake until I got another from the wardrobe.

The pool was nice but a little small which was noticeable when busy.

The bar area was nice, however very expensive, I have seen one of their £22.50 bottles of wine for £16.50 in other hotels and £6 in ASDA.

The restaurant was nice. On Saturday it was a self service buffet, very nice salads and starters however main and desert would have been nicer if to the same standard as the starters. Buffet breakfast was ok, nothing different really. Pack lunch was very acceptable.

I was a bit disappointed that this was advertised as a "ramblers retreat" as there didn't seem to be any walks from the hotel and it wasn't really in the Cotswolds as some adverts suggested. We did take one short walk around a corn field but didn't really know it was an official path or just a farmers driveway.

All in all an enjoyable stay and would return without hesitation Good value for money at £92.50 inc credit card charge for Dinner, B&B and pack lunch for two.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelshKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrahouse, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Good Morning and very many thanks for your feedback. I note your constructive comments regarding dinner and walking routes which of course I will address. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed Alexandra Hosue and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Andrew Boyd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
692 reviews
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#7 of 25 in Swindon
2,171 reviews
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,607 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#3 of 25 in Swindon
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra House

Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range: £56 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
Alexandra House Wroughton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing