We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexandra House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$82
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Thistle Express - Swindon(Swindon)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Swindon(Swindon)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveller rating
330
376
218
109
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
376
218
109
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconference hotelhousing estateleisure facilitiessteam roomrestaurant managergood sizeevening mealpool and saunatrouser pressbar pricesbuffet breakfastquiet locationmodern hotelwaiting staffnight breakpublic areashash browns
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,024 - 1,029 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2011

High quality ,clean, comfortable room
Good standard restaurant except our 1st night was a "Curry Night", there was an alternative menu but one of the 4 choices was "Lamb Curry" !!
The road signs leading to it say " Conference centre" and that is exactly what it felt like as it was geared for conferences and training and had no character or "hotel-feel" to it at all. It looked like an upmarket comprehensive school from the outside!
I cannot comment on the pool,spa,or leisure facilities as they were all under repair and not in use for the entire weekend

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmaliser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrahouse, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Many thanks for posting your review. I am sorry that you felt that Alexandra House was akin to an upmarket comprehensive school and that the choice of dinner on the first evening was limited. Your kind comments regarding general standards and quality are much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I use this hotel on a regular basis for business. Great, fast, free broadband and good size desk in the room make this an ideal spot. Rooms very comfortable, staff always very friendly. However, the evening menu has recently changed and it is very poor. I have stayed here twice since the change and it was poor both times. Many guests were complaining and I am not surprised. A poor choice, gone are the more local/chef's specials and replaced by pizzas in takeaway boxes???? Please revert back to your wonderful bestand do not let the bosses make you a chain with no feeling or originality!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurrymonstersTbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrahouse, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Many thanks for your feedback. I can confirm that we have reviewed and amended our Bar Food offering and that the Tempus Restaurant menu is under review with a launch date of early October.

Kind Regards

Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed here whilst doing a training course. It is a class above normal venues and has great hotel, training and leisure facilities. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable, staff friendly and there are snacks and drinks freely available throughout the hotel as well as the usual tea/coffee making in the room. Food was good although the restaurant does not have an extensive menu. This would be my preferred venue for training and conferences.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloriamundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Big Hotel located in the middle of wanborough, nice country feel to the area but an executive looking hotel.
We booked a exec room inc breakfast, the room was good, clean and smart with tea/coffee making facilities along with a half bottle of wine and a box containing 2 chocolates. The Bathroom was clean and modern, nice shower with smart toiletries plus bathrobes.

Reception staff polite and informative-always a bonus these days.
Although there was a wedding the night we booked in we didnt hear anything where we were sleeping. Varying types of people use this hotel from business to families/ young couples from what I could gather.

Best part, breakfast - the head waitor-didn't get his name-a middle aged male-was fab, couldn't do enough for us, even though we are a young couple we still got treated well by this member of staff. Everything you need from a good breakfast cooked meats, eggs, toast, cereal, fruit, yogurts etc with tea and coffee. Perfect.

Only downside-we Pre booked the room online and and paid in advance as per the hotel policy- but on checking out we were asked to pay- having thought it was all sorted and the money gone from our account, not the case-it seemed the 'computer' made a mistake and did not charge the full amount so this left us unclear as to how much money we actually had left. Not the worst error in the world but unhelpful none the less.

We only stayed 1 night but all in all we would stay again, nice surroundings, clean rooms, and decent breakfast with polite/friendly staff.

Room Tip: Book in advance online, and double check your booking details with the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank needmoreHolidays0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

5 channels on TV, morgue like bar, slow, intermittent internet. only pizza on room service, limited dining options, noisy heating. not a place to go back to

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herodotus_rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews