We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extortionate”
Review of Alexandra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Extortionate”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Hotel new and very clean, Decore very nice. Location useless, too far from anywhere. Evening meal very poor and not worth the money. Ordered the Lamb shoulder, received 2 slices of tough Lamb with small amount of mash and 1 other veg £15. Drinks are extortionate, cheapest glass of wine in the bar £6.50.
I don't mind paying for quality but the food and drink here is a rip off. We will not visit again.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelvin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrahouse, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments regarding your recent stay. I am sorry that Alexandra House did not meet your expectations, that you feel our prices are excessive and our location useless. I do however appreciate your positive comments regarding decor and cleanliness.

Kind Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    341
    188
    71
    46
See reviews for
89
453
21
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed here when in the area for a wedding. This place is very difficult to find, the directions led us through an estate with a complete lack of signage for the hotel which was very annoying. When we arrived at about 11am there was an unsightly amount of cigarette butts and empty bottles outside the main reception entrance. The lady on the front desk was very helpful and allowed us to check-in early so that we could get ready ahead of the wedding, which we were very grateful for. Rooms are nice, nothing special but shower and bed are good. Things to improve would be to provide a pen and paper in the room especially as it is primarily a hotel for conferences. Also, increase quantities on the tea tray - one teabag for an overnight stay for 2 isn't really enough.
Best thing about the hotel is the buffet breakfast - lots of selection and a nice seating area.
Don't get me wrong, this hotel fulfilled our requirements, it just isn't amazing value for money and with a few small improvements could be much better and live up to the 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Attended a conference and stayed one night. Nice hotel excellent food, nice rooms plenty of room. Only one problem wifi offered but tried 4 cards to get 24 hours of access but none of them worked the evening before. The girls on reception suggested at first that the server needed rebooting? Then it was my fault for uing an ipad. No action and gave up after trying four cards and as a result missed my opportunity to use the gym before dinner. Tried again in the morning and it worked and did so all day. Clearly not the iPad fault as settings unchanged. Pity as took the edge off an otherwise good experience.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagsandscarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrahouse, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Very many thanks for your feedback and I am pleased that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. My apologies for the problem you encountered with the WiFi cards. We have now removed this batch of cards from circulation and these have been replaced with new one's from our provider.

Kind Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

From the moment we arrived every one was very polite and helpfull. Rooms were smart, and clean, and the breakfast was very good. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexMeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrahouse, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to Alexandra House for a return visit in the future.

Kind Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed the hotel and the leisure facilities. The room was modern and spotlessly clean. There was an excellent choice for breakfast. Used the gym and pool which were both great. We arrived at the hotel early and check in was not a problem. The staff were always polite and very helpful. There is a large car park and the free wifi was also a bonus.
Would have no problem in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flossy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrahouse, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Very many thanks for your very positive comments. I do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Alexandra House again in the future.

Kind Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I've stayed in most hotels around Swindon, and Alexandra House Hotel has to be one of my favourites. It's new, spacious, modern and great value for money.

We have a corporate rate with them (which I can't reveal!) and for the money, this really is excellent. It may be a little out of the way, and you really need a car to get to it, but it's worth it. Lots of free car parking, free wifi, and very nice food.

Speaking of which, I have an intolerance of Gluten. When I asked about this, chef (yes, a proper chef, not a cook!) offered to cook items which were not on the menu, or to adapt anything to suit. They even kept Gluten Free bread.

Rooms were spacious, clean and modern. No complaints at all.

Now that I've tried nearly every other hotel in Swindon, I think this will become my regular from now on.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stepbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrahouse, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Many thanks for your excellent feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back as a regular guest of Alexandra House.

Kind Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Very good hotel, very modern, food excellent cannot fault it. However, being woken at 06:15 by delivery van on Saturday morning was not appreciated, and disappointed that the pool was closed. We had booked a month before to attend a wedding and the hotel having our email could have let us know before our arrival. The TV has only 5 channels, would free view have be too much to ask? Bar prices OTT.

Room Tip: Avoid front of hotel near delivery entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryNSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandrahouse, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Dear GaryNSue,

Thank you for your feedback and your kind comments. Please accept my sincere apologies for you not being contacted regarding the closure of the Swimming Pool due to a major structural problem with the Pool floor. Your comments regarding early morning deliveries are noted and I will certainly ensure that this is addressed in terms of delivery timings and allocation of bedrooms close to the delivery area.

Kind Regards

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 24 in Swindon
1,835 reviews
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
652 reviews
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
1,437 reviews
13.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra House

Property: Alexandra House
Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, LateRooms, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
Alexandra House Wroughton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing