We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed 2 nights on DBB in August and overall had a wonderful stay! The service at reception was excellent, and although our two rooms were a little walk away this was not a problem for us, (and actually allowed us to walk off the delicious dinner we had!) The dinner on the first night was very good, with efficient service from very helpful and friendly staff. (Especially the F&B manager who served us)

The second night however was not quite up to the same standard - for example we asked for the fish and chips to come without mushy peas, and it subsequently came WITH mushy peas! They did offer to correct this though when mentioned. We did also feel a bit neglected when we were ready to order dessert and were avoided for about 20minutes by the waiting staff, who kept walking past avoiding our gaze!

These were only small points however, and the rest of our stay was most enjoyable - the bedrooms were a good size and very comfortable, and the leisure facilities are well maintained and modern too. There was a wedding on on the Staurday night, but this didn't affect us at all and we hardly even noticed it was there!

Would very happily stay at this hotel again and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TW93186419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and your stay with us.

Your points with regard dinner on the second night are duly noted and have been addressed with both our Chef and Food & Beverage Manager. At Alexandra House we are striving for excellent service at all times and with constructive feedback like yours this makes us able to continue to improve.

Your feedback is most appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back to Alexandra House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    334
    179
    63
    34
See reviews for
81
438
21
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel. We had a family get-together to celebrate the life of a member of the family who had passed away. I thoroughly enjoyed the visit. The room was perfect - very clean and comfortable bed. The food is OK - I ate from the buffet and it was quite tasty, but I couldn't say the food is of a high standard. Breakfast was a disaster - food was in short supply and people were waiting around the buffet area for 20 minutes plus for hot food. When it did come out, there wasn't enough for those waiting. They need to get that organized and to be fair it wasn't over busy in the hotel. My cousin went without breakfast because she got fed-up with waiting. She asked to see the manager several times but her request was ignored. Overall lovely to be with family and I would go back for another family event, but not if I was travelling with my husband and wanted a special weekend away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlastonburySunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your feed back for your recent stay, firstly may I apologise for the delay in responding to you as I have been on annual leave.

I thank you for your positive comments and also for your constructive feedback with regard breakfast service, I have investigated this with my food and beverage team and unfortunately we simply did not get service right on this occasion, there were extenuating circumstances with members of staff not coming in for work however we appreciate that this is not your (the guests) problem. We have now taken measures to address this so that if a similar situation arises in the future we will have suitable cover to avoid any such mishap.

I would to encourage you to return so that we can prove this was very much a one off situation and I hope you are able to make reference to the large number of positive comments we continue to receive on Tripadvisor.

Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We have stayed at the Alexandra House on a number of occasions and our most recent stay didn't disappoint. The hotel has a very modern feel, the rooms are great, staff friendly and there is a good number of options at the breakfast buffet. Good location just off the M4, it is the perfect place for an overnight stop. We will be back, for sure!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edenridge75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for once again for your great feedback, I am delighted that you continue to enjoy our hotel and your stays with us.

Your feedback is most appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back to Alexandra House very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here at the end of July on a ramblers weekend. We had a room upgrade which was nice with chocs and wine too. A nice sized room with everything you need. breakfasts and dinners were both very good with plenty of choice. The hotel is in a nice location, in the countryside with nice walks on the doorstep and Swindon only 10 minutes drive away. The reception desk staff offer a great welcome and were always friendly, the same in the restaurant. There is a pool and a gym but we never got in there.
All in this was a great place for a weekend break with nice staff and good food.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candghicks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it's great to hear you had a good time at our hotel and I trust you will be looking forward to come back and stay with us again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hambledon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed for a one night Rambler's Retreat Break which included Breakfast, Dinner and a Packed lunch for £109. Automatically upgraded to an Executive Double with wine and chocs. Had a buffet lunch upon our arrival for £15 for 2 which is reasonable. Food was really good. We also used the fully equipped gym, the pool looked a good size although we didn't get time to use it. Great area for walking, started at Avebury Stone Circles and walked for 7 miles around the various monuments etc. Hotel also provided a walking guide. Would definately return later in the year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and your stay with us.

The Chef is always delighted to hear positive feedback on the food we provide and we are fortunate to have a number of these.

Your comments are most appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back to Alexandra House in the near future, hopefully you will get chance to use our leisure facilities next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We paid £77 per night B&B and found that the hotel is in an excellent quiet location.
The room we were in was of a good size and in immaculate condition.
Found that the Breakfast was a bit like sitting in a school canteen due to the amount of noise, from people talking to each other, conference delegates and wedding parties.
Found that the staff in the restaurant worked very hard in a very crowded dining room. Food choice was good and the quality was also very good.
Will definately return again

Room Tip: We had room 203 which is of a good size, my daughter had 207 which was a little smaller and she was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandPoohbaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and your stay with us.

Your points with regard noise at breakfast are taken on board and I suspect that our normal background music was not playing to give the dining room this 'feel', something I have noticed myself and will rectify with immediate effect,

Your feedback is most appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back to Alexandra House in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst attending a wedding ceremony at the hotel. All the rooms are on the ground floor so all would have a similar view which is pleasant green wide open parkland around the hotel. The room was clean and had all the standard facilities including a desk and swivel chair. There was plenty of cupboard storage and a room safe. However, the first thing that was apparent was that because there was no air conditioning, the room was very airless. We opened the window but for security reasons, it could not be opened more than a few inches so in the warm weather, the room stayed very warm and stuffy. The only other issue was that the bath was very small; somewhere between a half length and full length bath. The bed was very comfortable and because the hotel is set in quiet parkland, there was no noise of any sort from outside the hotel.
The lounges, bar and conference rooms where all very well appointed and comfortable and all the staff that we met, were very helpful and welcoming. Although the cost of the room was very good value for money, they obviously made up their costs on the bar tariffs; a pint of Peroni was about £4.70 which for Swindon is steep.
All in all our stay was very enjoyable and for the cost, was certainly excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We had room 145 but we know that there are other rooms which are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGandTheBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon B, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at Alexandra House.

Our building is set over two storeys with rooms available on the first floor, on this occasion you were allocated a ground floor room and I confirm that due to security the windows do open a small way, we do offer fans to allow some better air circulation if the weather is warm should the guest require them but perhaps we need to make this more apparent in the bedroom, I will endeavour to make this the case.

The room you booked was a standard room and is a little smaller than our Executive rooms to which you can upgrade for just a further £20. For this bath robes, wine, chocolates and upgraded toliletries are included as well as the larger room.

With regard the cost of our Peroni we monitor the local market on a regular basis and I can confirm that the price at £4.70 is similar to other hotels in Swindon for their premium brand lager. We do offer Carling at £3.80 per pint which again is in line with other hotels and bars in the area.

I thnak you once again for your feedback and trust that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
13.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
18.0 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Alexandra House

Property: De Vere Alexandra House
Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
De Vere Alexandra House Wroughton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing