We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good location”
Review of Alexandra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We needed somewhere to stay easily accessible from the M4 after a day at work ready for a tour of Highgrove late morning.

The hotel is a conference/ training centre, but as an alternative to a Days Inn or Travelodge there is no competition.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean, it is set in a quiet location and if we had had more time we could have used the gym and pool.

The breakfast is the usual buffet style, and a slight problem with the waitress's english who took my ham and cheese omelette order to be cheese and onion, but it was was very well cooked!

Not sure we'd use it for more than passing through but excellent value for a very comfortable room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Lovely location in rural Wiltshire. The bedrooms are clean and newly decorated. Nothing amazing but certainly ok. Bath could be bigger. And the toiletries aren't great.
The restaurant choices for lunch are fairly standard. They seem to like the word 'panache'. A panache of vegetables. A panache of fish. Just means mixed!
Evening meal ok. Plenty of food available.
My biggest gripe is that in the whole place there isn't proper coffee. It is all Nescafé instant machines. Yuck. . Not a coffee bean to be seen. Shame. Two days and no coffee. Next time I will bring my own cafetiere.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shona7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Decided to have a 'chill-out' weekend at Alexandra House. The hotel is set in acres of land and has lovely rooms with good facilities. We looked at various sites to get a good deal and found an offer that was 50% off the hotel web site rate!
The staff were pleasant and helpful and the leisure facilities were excellent.
Just a couple of negatives, if you are sitting in the lounge / bar area there is a constant stream of people dragging cases through the area to get to their rooms. (I don't quite understand the design of this part of the hotel).
Secondly, to get to anywhere (for a meal) an expensive taxi ride is required. (Malborough / Swindon).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Movingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Comfortable hotel more suited to the business users. Room was an executive which was well equipped and clean but was a long walk from reception, the hotel is spread over quite a large area!
No problems with the stay, staff friendly, bar and restaurant fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H-Inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The hotel is quite new and in excellent condition. They are very dog friendly and there is lots of green space around the hotel, so great for us with our dog. The room was nice, although the bed was not brilliant, and the tv system is not the most sophisticated. We didn't use the pool but it looked good and there was a games room too. The breakfast was excellent, with one of the freshest cooked breakfast buffets we've experienced. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2013
Thank PompeyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Good all round hotel. The main selling point is the staff. Friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Food was good at breakfast and dinner. Small selection of drinks in the bars and they don't do cocktails. A little out of the way but worth a visit if you are going to be in Swindon. The room we were in was a little noisy when other guests were returning to their rooms. One of our friends was disturbed by a delivery early on Saturday morning. Get a room on the first floor if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnM9693YC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A colleague and I stayed in a twin room for one night. The setting is lovely and first impressions of hotel and room were good. Room was comfortable, but cold when we arrived. It took a while to warm up. The lounge and restaurant were pleasant and food good. Drinks expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Amanda

thank you for taking the time to go onto the trip advisor website and give us your comments.
It's an absolute pleasure to read your comments, I printed them off today and shared them with the team and morning lineup. It certainly put a smile on all our faces.

The team do work very hard to get things right and its feedback like that which makes all our efforts to go the extra mile so worthwhile.

Thanks once again and we look forward to welcome you back to Alexandra house.

Kind regards

Ray and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
692 reviews
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#7 of 25 in Swindon
2,163 reviews
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,603 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#2 of 25 in Swindon
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra House

Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range: £56 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
Alexandra House Wroughton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing