We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Superb”
Review of Alexandra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Spent two nights here with a friend on a Great Little Breaks deal and couldn't believe the great quality and value. The hotel is clean, nicely decorated and in a really nice and quiet location. Our room was large and well-equipped. All the staff we had dealings with were nice and friendly, and really attentive - nothing was too much trouble. The food was wonderful; fresh, flavour-some and plentiful, and the evening buffet in particular was brilliant. I used the gym a couple of times and it has a good selection of equipment. Didn't use the pool but it looked nice. Throughout the day there was complementary fresh fruit, packets of biscuits and pastries, and coffee from smashing machines that made cappuccino so well you needed a spoon for the froth. Would certainly recommend it. I don't normally wax quite so lyrically, honest!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liketorome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time today to send us your very positive feedback, its real joy to read, the team and I are very pleased that you had a great stay.

We all be delighted if you told all your friends that you had a great time at Alexandra House in Swindon

Thanks once again and have a lovely weekend.

Kind regards

Ray and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,084)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just got home from a very happy visit. Although it is advertised as a conference hotel I would recommend Alexandra House as a good place for couples to stay as there are lots of lovely places to visit in the area. We visited Lacock and Highclere castle also the Avebury Stones. We used the indoor pool, jacuzzi sauna & steam room every day after our travels. We were on a Ramblers Package which offers breakfast, packed lunch & dinner. We were particularly impressed with the Tempus Restaurant buffet 3 course meal which had lots of choice. It is run impeccably well by Mr Bilal Hussein who is passionate about his food and attentive to all his guests and made it a superb experience for us.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room with king bed, wider tv & more facilities. The quieter rooms are furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time today to send us your very positive feedback,
Its lovely to read that you use the hotel as a stepping stone to visit other areas, we originally built the venue as a conference centre as you stated in your feedback, but it’s great to see that guests like yourself see us as a good place of the weekend travellers.

Bilal my F&B manager is away at the moment having a well earned break and I know he will be delighted to have a mention on trip advisor, I know he’ll will enjoy telling me about it when he returns, is certainly a great asset to myself and the team and we really appreciate all the hard work that he put into the business and the way he looks after all our guests.

Thanks again for your feedback

Ray and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel was great with good facilities, friendly staff, nice location, nice courtyard, unfortunately the restaurant let it down with poor range of choice, bad dishes, poor quality control although the restaurant staff were very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: none of the rooms are particularly light because of smallish windows but be careful to pick a room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Booked this as a cheap deal and was disappointed to find it was a conference centre. But despite a wedding going on and it being busy, service was good and food ok. Drinks were very pricey, £21 for house wine. Air con was on full blast and it was freezing in public areas. Room was fine. Gym and pool were great. We got what we paid for and the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We wanted a treat, and chose this hotel for an overnight stay. Booked the dinner bed and breakfast package and also prepaid for a bottle of wine. The welcome at Reception was warm and efficient. The room was beautiful , bed very comfortable and bathroom adequate. We didn't use the gym, but had a swim, steam and sauna- really nice facility. We were expecting a restricted menu but had full choice from the menu ( two courses) or from the buffet ( no restriction) . All of the food was delicious. Breakfast was lovely too. All in all a very nice stay... We will do this again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel. Very clean and staff friendly. Used this as our base whilst visiting Plymouth Dockyard, Stonehenge, Oxford, Salisbury Cathedral, Cotswolds so the pool and jacuzzi were welcome at the end of the day, both of which are e trembly clean too Personally we felt the restaurant was a bit pricey as £30 for two at breakfast seemed a bit steep if we were to have this every day. Although England is not normally warm Air conditioning would have been good as we only had a small window and it was extremely hot in the room. Having said that we would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again if we were in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony and Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have just returned from a two n ight stay at the hotel. It is modern and large (well over 100 bedrooms) but during the week it is obviously set up to deal with training seminars for major employers (I believe Nationwide, Zurich and St Hames Place were all holding courses this week) and as a result they wern't able to offer the same level of service that we would expect from a 4* Hotel. Breakfast 7-9 is a bit early unless you are still in the working week - later at weekends I noticed - and to not be able to cope with a request for a 7pm evening meal meant that we were eating at 8.15 and they were not quite ready then. Staff are all very polite, room was good amd spacious but I wouldn't recommend it Monday to Friday. Oh, and its not in the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Get down early if you want danish pastries/crossants for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forgeronfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
716 reviews
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#7 of 25 in Swindon
2,288 reviews
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,662 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#2 of 25 in Swindon
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra House

Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range: £57 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
Alexandra House Wroughton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing