We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is poor, everything else good”
Review of Alexandra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel a year ago and a few weeks ago. The food was nothing to write home about last year; this year it was awful. I actually lost 5 pounds in weight over the 48 hours I was there. All the food tasted manufactured (to a low standard) rather than freshly prepared. Otherwise, the facilities were clean, the rooms were more than satisfactory and the staff were pleasant. I echo what others have said about mobile phone coverage. I could only get reception outside the reception. I may have to return to this hotel next year for work and I am planning to take reserves of snacks to keep me going! Terry

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Terry,

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House, I am disappointed in your comments about the food. We aim to provide a variety of meal options, and use the highest quality of products, your comments have been fedback to the Kitchen Team.

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

748 - 754 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

We went to this conference hotel for a cheap weekend break for a change of scenery. It's on the outskirts of Swindon and is a good base for sightseeing in the area. It's a little off the beaten track and quite rural in a nice setting. You definitely need a car. From the warm welcome we got when we arrived to the day we left the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, especially the reception staff. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant which had a nice atmosphere and looks out on courtyards. The maitre d was super nice and helpful and the waiting staff were lovely. Breakfast was buffet and very nice. When there were a couple of problems (i.e run out of fried eggs) it all got sorted, the young waiter even cooked one himself! The rooms aren't enormous but clean, comfortable and well equipped. The leisure centre was also nice and clean. Spa could be bigger but I'm being picky. All in all a nice weekend at a good price

Room Tip: At tye front you look over the green and at the back I think over a courtyard so it doesn't real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House. Although, we are set in a rural location we are easily accessible by the larger road links.

Your positive feedback has been passed back to the team members, and we hope that you will return to stay here very soon.

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I cannot fault a single thing about this hotel! Our reception in arrival was warm, friendly and helpful which summarises every contact with every member of staff!
The hotel is situated on the edge of Wroughton and is set in very well kept grounds.Our room was on the ground floor as requested and close to an exit which was very useful for us taking our dogs out. This is a very dog friendly hotel with plenty of dog "bins" placed around the grounds. Our dogs behaved well and we felt very relaxed about having them with us. The room was spacious with a flat screen tv, work desk, comfortable chair and coffee table.The hotel wifi worked very well with good speeds.Everywhere was clean and housekeeping were unobtrusive and efficient.
I have to comment about the staff in this hotel. Whoever does the staff training has done an excellent job. The staff could be used as a role model for other hotel chains. All the staff without exception on our 3 day stay were friendly, seemed very happy in their jobs and were unfailingly helpful I would particularly like to mention Christine from the Leisure Centre who was very thoughtful and helpful as she took my bag to help me to show me where the disabled changing rooms were. The pool has very relaxed lighting and was very pleasant to swim in.
We only took breakfast on one morning and it was very good. Cooked to order and efficiently served. We ate in the bar one evening and both chose omelettes which were beautifully cooked - light to eat which was what was required. We also used room service for sandwiches and soup - again all nicely presented and just what we needed.
I would love to revisit and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 116 and were very satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay here at Alexandra House, Your positive comments have been fed back to all team members, We aim to give all our guests the same experience you have received, and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here on valentines night with a deal we booked online and it was great value for money. The staff were great very attentive, the hotel was lovely and clean and rooms were nice. The only negative with the room was that there wasn't a fridge and you couldn't order any movies for the room. The hotel facilities were great, lovely pool, a nice bar with a pool table and football table. The food in the restaurant was a very good standard. Overall we were very happy and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay, here at Alexandra House, please keep a look on the websites as there are often discounted stays and offers available.

Your comments will be fed back to the team.

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed for one night as attending NSBRC show in Swindon. We had stayed here before and the hotel is as described by others a conference or wedding venue. The hotel actually stands on what was the Naafi, mess and junior living quarters of RAF H Wroughton which of course is no more. The memories come from the fact that my wife and I served there for 6 years in the 70's.
The room was spacious as we picked the larger room, and it was clean and tidy but the lighting was dim to say the least. We ate out in the evening but breakfast in the morning was fine and staff were helpful and polite. There are cheaper options available locally near the motorway but this is a far better experience and sits in open countryside which is peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pompeyfan1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay here at Alexandra House, We could've provided extra lighting for your bedroom, and I apologise that you felt it was too dimly lit for you.
I am happy that you had a good stay and that you would recommend us to others, your positive comments are gratefully recieved.

Many Thanks

Ray McKibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We booked this wonderful venue when our other venue went into administration 2 months before our wedding date! What should have been an extremely stressful situation was made so much easier due the amazing staff at Alexandra House. Kirsty and manager, Bilal work extremely hard to organise everything and put you at ease. All our guests commented on how efficient and friendly the staff were and how lovely the food was. I was initially worried about the "corporate" feel of this venue but with the beautiful outside space, modern interior and the lovely family-feel of the staff, I needn't have worried. It rained for parts of the day but the venue is big enough to have photos taken inside too which is always a bonus in this county!
It was absolutely perfect and we felt relaxed and happy all day long.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Natalie,

Thank you for your positive comments about Alexandra House, and your wedding here.
Your comments have been fedback to both Kirsty our Wedding Co-ordinator and Bilal our Restaurant Manager, all the team at Alexandra House work hard to ensure every detail of a Wedding is catered for.

We are glad to have helped you with your special day.

Many Thanks

Ray McKibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed for one night with my girlfriend, simply for a pleasant night away with just the two of us. The hotel is mainly set up as a conference venue and this is evident throughout. That said, all the staff we encountered were very friendly, helpful and happy to have a chat. The room was very spacious (we chose an upgrade) and had no problems.

The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent, and although there was a fairly small selection on the menu, it was very varied so we had no problem finding things we both wanted.

The big downside we found was the leisure centre / pool area. Ok, the changing rooms and facilities could use a general renovation session (plenty of rust and peeling paint seen - nothing life threatening, but not what you'd expect to see in such a place) but the big issue we had was a large group of other guests effectively running riot in the pool. With no obvious staff presence to control them, they were play fighting, running, shouting and generally abusing the place. Our planned 2 relaxing hours before dinner turned into 10 minutes before we gave up. Disappointed by the lack of staff presence.

Aside from that, our stay was very pleasant but we probably won't be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandomTravels_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House, I am disapointed that your stay was spoiled by the Leisure Club being busy,

It has been designed to be an unmanned pool, however, I apologise because if we had known it was going to be excessively busy we would have ensured the Club was staffed.

Thanks again for your comments,

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
686 reviews
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 25 in Swindon
2,097 reviews
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,581 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra House

Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range: £55 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
Alexandra House Wroughton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing