We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Alexandra House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
De Vere Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One night stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband booked this hotel for an overnight birthday stay. Whilst room was clean, and staff pleasant and helpful the hotel had as much atmosphere as a confessional box. On our ist night there was only 2 couples in dining room and one couple was us! The following morning for breakfast was the same. More dining room staff than guests. There was some meetings going on and some of those attending were not considerate of others in the morning.We could hear a tv at 6.30am then the "door slamming" began until 8am.
We have been to 2 Principal Hayley Hotels before and unfortunately this was not one of the better ones. Shame.

Room Tip: End rooms on the south side, as no one disturbs you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dymchurchsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House.

I'm sorry that you were disturbed by the noise in the morning, as we are a purpose built Conference Centre this is unusual. Our Staff work hard to deliver good customer service and I'm glad that you have received this.

Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    329
    173
    60
    32
See reviews for
78
425
21
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a room as my Son held a Masquerade Ball there on Saturday 8th March 2014.
Great location, staff very friendly and helpful. Food was outstanding. They went the extra mile to make sure everyone was happy.
Thank you everyone...!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaT_Garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray M, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much from all the team for your kind review, it means a great deal to all of us.
We as a team all work to make sure our guests are looked after. We are extremely proud of our Alexandra House Swindon. We will be delighted to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Ray and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel a year ago and a few weeks ago. The food was nothing to write home about last year; this year it was awful. I actually lost 5 pounds in weight over the 48 hours I was there. All the food tasted manufactured (to a low standard) rather than freshly prepared. Otherwise, the facilities were clean, the rooms were more than satisfactory and the staff were pleasant. I echo what others have said about mobile phone coverage. I could only get reception outside the reception. I may have to return to this hotel next year for work and I am planning to take reserves of snacks to keep me going! Terry

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Terry,

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House, I am disappointed in your comments about the food. We aim to provide a variety of meal options, and use the highest quality of products, your comments have been fedback to the Kitchen Team.

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We went to this conference hotel for a cheap weekend break for a change of scenery. It's on the outskirts of Swindon and is a good base for sightseeing in the area. It's a little off the beaten track and quite rural in a nice setting. You definitely need a car. From the warm welcome we got when we arrived to the day we left the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, especially the reception staff. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant which had a nice atmosphere and looks out on courtyards. The maitre d was super nice and helpful and the waiting staff were lovely. Breakfast was buffet and very nice. When there were a couple of problems (i.e run out of fried eggs) it all got sorted, the young waiter even cooked one himself! The rooms aren't enormous but clean, comfortable and well equipped. The leisure centre was also nice and clean. Spa could be bigger but I'm being picky. All in all a nice weekend at a good price

Room Tip: At tye front you look over the green and at the back I think over a courtyard so it doesn't real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House. Although, we are set in a rural location we are easily accessible by the larger road links.

Your positive feedback has been passed back to the team members, and we hope that you will return to stay here very soon.

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I cannot fault a single thing about this hotel! Our reception in arrival was warm, friendly and helpful which summarises every contact with every member of staff!
The hotel is situated on the edge of Wroughton and is set in very well kept grounds.Our room was on the ground floor as requested and close to an exit which was very useful for us taking our dogs out. This is a very dog friendly hotel with plenty of dog "bins" placed around the grounds. Our dogs behaved well and we felt very relaxed about having them with us. The room was spacious with a flat screen tv, work desk, comfortable chair and coffee table.The hotel wifi worked very well with good speeds.Everywhere was clean and housekeeping were unobtrusive and efficient.
I have to comment about the staff in this hotel. Whoever does the staff training has done an excellent job. The staff could be used as a role model for other hotel chains. All the staff without exception on our 3 day stay were friendly, seemed very happy in their jobs and were unfailingly helpful I would particularly like to mention Christine from the Leisure Centre who was very thoughtful and helpful as she took my bag to help me to show me where the disabled changing rooms were. The pool has very relaxed lighting and was very pleasant to swim in.
We only took breakfast on one morning and it was very good. Cooked to order and efficiently served. We ate in the bar one evening and both chose omelettes which were beautifully cooked - light to eat which was what was required. We also used room service for sandwiches and soup - again all nicely presented and just what we needed.
I would love to revisit and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 116 and were very satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank remfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay here at Alexandra House, Your positive comments have been fed back to all team members, We aim to give all our guests the same experience you have received, and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
236 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here on valentines night with a deal we booked online and it was great value for money. The staff were great very attentive, the hotel was lovely and clean and rooms were nice. The only negative with the room was that there wasn't a fridge and you couldn't order any movies for the room. The hotel facilities were great, lovely pool, a nice bar with a pool table and football table. The food in the restaurant was a very good standard. Overall we were very happy and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay, here at Alexandra House, please keep a look on the websites as there are often discounted stays and offers available.

Your comments will be fed back to the team.

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed for one night as attending NSBRC show in Swindon. We had stayed here before and the hotel is as described by others a conference or wedding venue. The hotel actually stands on what was the Naafi, mess and junior living quarters of RAF H Wroughton which of course is no more. The memories come from the fact that my wife and I served there for 6 years in the 70's.
The room was spacious as we picked the larger room, and it was clean and tidy but the lighting was dim to say the least. We ate out in the evening but breakfast in the morning was fine and staff were helpful and polite. There are cheaper options available locally near the motorway but this is a far better experience and sits in open countryside which is peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pompeyfan1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay here at Alexandra House, We could've provided extra lighting for your bedroom, and I apologise that you felt it was too dimly lit for you.
I am happy that you had a good stay and that you would recommend us to others, your positive comments are gratefully recieved.

Many Thanks

Ray McKibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
13.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Alexandra House

Property: De Vere Alexandra House
Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
De Vere Alexandra House Wroughton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing