We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Alexandra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Have recently stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms were clean spacious and comfortable. The service overall was nothing short of superb - especially the gentleman in the suit - I can't remember his name but he had an accent and believe he was some sort of manager. I would hire him in a heartbeat. THe complimentary nuts and cold drinks were great. Drinks were a little on the pricey side but overall fantastic and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Victoria,

Thanks for your wonderful comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House. These have been fed back to all team members and we hope that you return again soon.

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
There are newer reviews for Alexandra House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

723 - 729 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed for two nights bed and breakfast with dinner on the first night at Alexandra House and it cost us £125 all in. For that price you can not go wrong.

Reception was excellent and very efficient. No help with our cases but this wasn't a problem, despite the fairly long walk around the hotel.

Our room (138) was well appointed with a fairly large bed and plenty of storage. The TV was tiny though and had very limited channels. For a large modern chain you should expect pay per movies and satellite channels. The bathroom was very small but spotless. The shower had very low pressure but lots of hot water.

THE BED WAS THE MOST UNCOMFORTABLE EVER. It had a huge slope to the centre and by morning my back was agony.

Food in the evening was appalling. Poor choice, poorly cooked and extortionatly expensive, thank goodness the meal was included as £25 for an overcooked steak and chips is terrible. By contrast, breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and all very well cooked.

The bar was a little expensive and they did seem to be low on stock, nevertheless considering everything it was fine.

The hotel is well located for a short 10 min drive to Marlborough or the pretty railway town of Swindon. The latter was meant in jest! I say that because the hotel does attract a chavvy eliment from the town. We thought that after seeing a number of greasy haired, tattoo'd pram faces in the bar. Later we had the misfortune of discovering that our neighbours in 140 were in attendance for a drink and drug fuelled evening that continued in their room until 0330hrs. To the hotels credit, a quick call to reception ensured that our selfish scumbag neighbours were moved to the far end of the hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pau109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thanks for your recent comments about your stay here at Alexandra House,

I am glad that you received great customer service from our Reception Team, but I am disapointed in your comments with regards to the food.

Both our Restaurant and Bar prices are in line with the local competitors and we offer a large range of good quality meal options.

I have passed your feedback onto our Kitchen Team about the quality of the meal you had and to Housekeeping with regards to your bed.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope you return to Alexandra House.

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have stayed at this establishment twice and booked with booking.com. It stated that the deal included dinner bed and breakfast. Sadly this did not include a dessert, which was not obvious and no one at the hotel felt they should point this out. Although reasonably happy the first time round, not so happy the second time round. We had to pay for the dessert, and somehow the atmosphere was just not the same.

On a more positive note, the whirlpool is bliss.

Sadly I don't think we will be going back there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceangirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip Advisor,

Your comments have been discussed with the team to ensure better communication delivered to guests as to what is included in their bookings.

I hope you return to Alexandra House,

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I've stayed at this hotel a few times on business and would recommend to others. A bit off the beaten track next to a residential estate on the outskirts of Swindon but hotel has good facilities. It's modern, with good leisure facilities, pool, gym etc. Bedrooms are well equipped, double rooms with desks and nice comfy beds. Only gripe is the food served in the bar area. On every occasion I've stayed they have never been able to make a decent Chicken Caesar salad and last night was no exception. However to the credit of the Restaurant Manager, he apologised and provided a free drink as compensation which was appreciated. Breakfast was excellent, and service overall was very good. Highly recommended

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jamie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Jamie O,

Thanks for your comments about your stay here at Alexandra House, Your positive comments will be fed back to the team, and we look forward to having you stay here again.

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband booked this hotel for an overnight birthday stay. Whilst room was clean, and staff pleasant and helpful the hotel had as much atmosphere as a confessional box. On our ist night there was only 2 couples in dining room and one couple was us! The following morning for breakfast was the same. More dining room staff than guests. There was some meetings going on and some of those attending were not considerate of others in the morning.We could hear a tv at 6.30am then the "door slamming" began until 8am.
We have been to 2 Principal Hayley Hotels before and unfortunately this was not one of the better ones. Shame.

Room Tip: End rooms on the south side, as no one disturbs you.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dymchurchsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House.

I'm sorry that you were disturbed by the noise in the morning, as we are a purpose built Conference Centre this is unusual. Our Staff work hard to deliver good customer service and I'm glad that you have received this.

Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a room as my Son held a Masquerade Ball there on Saturday 8th March 2014.
Great location, staff very friendly and helpful. Food was outstanding. They went the extra mile to make sure everyone was happy.
Thank you everyone...!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MaT_Garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray M, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much from all the team for your kind review, it means a great deal to all of us.
We as a team all work to make sure our guests are looked after. We are extremely proud of our Alexandra House Swindon. We will be delighted to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Ray and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel a year ago and a few weeks ago. The food was nothing to write home about last year; this year it was awful. I actually lost 5 pounds in weight over the 48 hours I was there. All the food tasted manufactured (to a low standard) rather than freshly prepared. Otherwise, the facilities were clean, the rooms were more than satisfactory and the staff were pleasant. I echo what others have said about mobile phone coverage. I could only get reception outside the reception. I may have to return to this hotel next year for work and I am planning to take reserves of snacks to keep me going! Terry

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Terry,

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House, I am disappointed in your comments about the food. We aim to provide a variety of meal options, and use the highest quality of products, your comments have been fedback to the Kitchen Team.

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
682 reviews
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
2,044 reviews
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,548 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra House

Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range: £47 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
Alexandra House Wroughton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing