We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable weekend away”
Review of Alexandra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable weekend away”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

An enjoyable weekend away, we wanted to take a weekend but not go too far, we got a deal through great little breaks,which included a bottle of wine dinner each night along with breakfast, taken in to account which I just stated they just about gave us the the room for next to nothing, the room we got a corner room and was a really good size in fact I would say is was a very large room. the food was just wonderful and service given was also top notch, the hotel is modern and tucked away on the outskirts of Swindon, it was quiet with no traffic noise we were at the back of the hotel. On the second night the fire alarm went off making us jump up out of bed, this soon went off and we were left wondering if we should leave or not ,as no one else were leaving we done the same, at breakfast the next morning we found a football staying at the hotel and playing Swindon that day, we laugh, joking saying it that what happens when a team stays there? one would say not but there was no real explanation of what happen

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Jon W,

Thanks for your recent comments about your stay here at Alexandra House.

I'm glad that you experienced the great customer service that our staff here work so hard to deliver, thanks for your comments on the food and quality of meals that you received.

I apologise that there wasn't an explanation for why the Fire Alarm had been activated and that it disturbed you.

Please keep watching the websites as we frequently update them with offers for Alexandra House.

Thanks Again

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    341
    190
    71
    46
See reviews for
89
454
21
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Located in spacious grounds, externally this modern hotel rather resembles the Premier Inn style of construction, but internally presents a fresh and smart image providing conference facilities; a fitness centre; a lounge with bar (although the subdued lighting added an extra challenge to the completion of a crossword puzzle), plus restaurant, which we didn`t patronise as the menu choice appeared restricted to rather standard "pub grub". On the other hand, the breakfast selection was good although the toast machine appeared to be faulty.
The bedroom and bed were both roomy and comfortable whilst the en suite was adequate rather than generous in size. A significant plus point here was the welcome for our dog at no extra charge.
At the time of our visit there was no information folder provided in the rooms (apparently being in the process of updating). This meant that enquiries were necessary to establish breakfast times; wifi access and lack of a restaurant menu for leisurely perusal.
Service was polite, cheerful, attentive and efficient.
Would we return? Yes without hesitation, although we might well be tempted to dine out at one of the various pubs and restaurants located in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tydur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your recent comments about your stay here at Alexandra House.

I'm glad you found are accomodation as being clean, modern and spacious, as we are purpose built venue, our bedrooms and conference rooms have been designed to accomodate our various guests requirements.

Our Restaurant menu offers a variety of options to cater for all tastes.

Thanks for again for your comments and I hope that you return to Alexandra House soon.

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed recently on a course. Good quality modern building in quiet rural location - plenty of parking with no height barrier. All the waiting & reception staff (and we had to return to reception five times to get our keys reprogrammed) were excellent, and the restaurant manager was a real character - a great people person for dealing with a crowd. Food was very good, drinks expensive. The only niggles were infrastructure items: radiator in room was very noisy, but at least we were warm. The radiator was unusually positioned on an inside wall, so the room was quite cool over by the window (where the desk and relaxing chair were located). Noise from the corridors carried into the rooms, as there was no "lobby" type door within the room (as Novotels usually have). And those room keys, that needed reprogramming 5 times .... But overall, there are many hotels that could take a note of how the staff do it so well here.

Room Tip: Some are a long way from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for your comments on your recent stay at Alexandra House.

I am happy that you received excellent customer service here, as we train all our staff to deliver high standards of customer care.

Our drinks prices are comparable with the local hotels in the area, I am disappointed that you overheard noise in your rooms, this is uncommon and I apologise that you experienced this.

I hope you return to Alexandra House in the future.

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is on the outskirts of Swindon. Edge of a new housing estate. Modern hotel with cosy swimming pool. Some rooms are a long walk from reception. Restaurant not great. Had to send back both my starter and main. Staff very accommodating. They had a wedding on and we felt they put the effort into that and not the other customers. Location near some lovely places. Marlborough is great and Swindon designer centre. We still had a good time despite this.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLS197321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor comments, on your recent stay here at Alexandra House.

I am disappointed that you didn't receive your meals to the high standard that is delievered here. The Kitchen and Restaurant team work hard to ensure all food is of an exceptional quality and I apologise for the shortfall that you experienced.

However, I am glad that you found all staff accomodating, as we endeavour to provide excellent customer service.

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed a weekend here in late March and my partner is gluten intolerant. They went out of their way to look after her which was much appreciated. Service throughout the hotel was spot on, especially the Maitre d', whose attention to detail was amazing. Great room too; more like a suite. Fairly quiet at the weekend but no doubt a lot busier during the week, but a really professional team from arrival to departure. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Brian,

Thanks for your wonderful comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House.

Our Chefs and Restaurant team are happy to assist with any dietary requirements and I'm happy that your wife was accomodated.

I shall pass your feedback to all members of the team, and I hope that you return to Alexandra House soon.

Thanks

Ray Mckobben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I had the pleasure of staying here recently as part of a crafting group of ladies. We were welcomed at reception in a friendly and professional manner, which set the tone for the whole weekend. The conference room we used was spacious, airy and very comfortable. The bedrooms have everything you could possibly ask for. I must reiterate the previous comments about the restaurant manager, Bilal, and all the staff who catered for our every need. There was an abundance of food at each meal, plenty of choice and it was always delicious. I couldn't get any signal on my mobile phone (Orange network) but I couldn't fault the free wi-fi. I am hoping to return for a similar weekend in October, so 'Thank You' Alexandra House and see you again soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Tim,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House. We are a purpose built conference centre and all our meeting rooms have lots of natural daylight and are spacious.
I'm happy that you recieved great customer service as we aim to deliver this to all guests.

We hope you return to Alexandra House very soon,

Thanks

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just returned from a lovely weekend break with friends...this venue is becoming a firm favourite of ours! It's location (not far off the M4 yet near beautiful countryside) is great for convenience and from check in till check out we always feel looked after. Nothing is too much trouble. All credit to the staff, especially Bilal who is the perfect host. The food is always excellent, the rooms are modern and clean and the atmosphere is restful. A visit to the pool, sauna and steam room is a welcome experience after your drive here. A thoroughly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyblue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks for your recent review on Alexandra House,

As in your comments we are easily accessible from the M4 yet we are surrounded by the Marlborough Downs. I'm glad you found your stay enjoyable as all our staff work hard to give great customer service to all clients.

I have fed back your comments to all team members and we hope you stay here again very soon.

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 24 in Swindon
1,847 reviews
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
652 reviews
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
1,441 reviews
13.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra House

Property: Alexandra House
Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
Alexandra House Wroughton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing