We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexandra House
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$87
US$73
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Travelodge
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
Thistle Express - Swindon(Swindon)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jurys Inn Swindon(Swindon)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$80
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveller rating
330
375
218
108
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
375
218
108
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconference hotelhousing estateleisure facilitiessteam roomrestaurant managergood sizeevening mealpool and saunatrouser pressbar pricesbuffet breakfastquiet locationmodern hotelwaiting staffnight breakpublic areashash browns
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
785 - 790 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Visited the Alexandra House conference centre for a BSI training course on 30 April 2014. Travelled by train to Swindon for the 4.5 hour journey from my home town and then caught a taxi to the centre which was approximately 20 minutes away from the station. The conference centre is set in its own grounds that are well maintained and picturesque. Rooms are clean and have very good amenities such as tea/coffee making facilities, desk and reading lamp, trouser press, hairdryer, good size shower (within a bath), sofa and chair, walled plasma tv and good sized bed (very comfortable). The course was held in individual rooms of varying size based upon the number of attendees. Tea and coffee facilities are available for every training room and have a varied selection of drinks and snacks to choose from. Rooms are air conditioned and comfortable with drinks and sweets regularly replenished in breaks. The restaurant is spacious and supplies a varied range of good quality food self served from stainless recepticals. Tables are well presented and set out to enable group engagement and conversation. Staff are very friendly and accommodationg no matter what the request. An excellent venue for work related courses, personal visits or access to the fabulous local countryside. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Does not matter which room you choose as the setting is quiet and away from traffic noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEENOLeeds_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments about Alexandra House, I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us.

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a 3 day business event and experienced a really fantastic stay. Every one of the staff I met were super friendly and polite and said hello with a smile when I passed them. The room and hotel cleanliness was perfect. the restaurant was very good and all food served was excellent and even the buffet was of a high class. I'll definitely stay again and have also given feedback to my business so they will hopefully make this a preferred hotel for the area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for you wonderful comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House, we are glad that you experienced the great customer service that we aim to achieve,

We hope you can stay again soon,

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Haven't stayed, but tried to call them to book a room recently and after going through their automated options and then waiting on hold for over 10 minutes they hung up on me. This was at 5pm in the evening so hardly unsociable hours, so their booking system clearly needs work!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Anon_mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

I can only apologise for the delay that you had with regards to booking a room here at Alexandra House,

We had technical problems that evening, but if you had tried 10 minutes later you would've been able to get through.

I hope you stay here in the future,

Many Thanks

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Arranged business meeting for work. facilities and room all good. Service excellent. Room well set up well and temperature good. No complaints. Tea and coffee all readily on tap and biscuits.

Good selection of food for lunch.

Will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattyA32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your comments about your recent business meeting here at Alexandra House, we differ from other conference venues with our Buffet Stations, as you were aware, you can break out at any point and enjoy refreshements, tea and coffee as many times as you wish.

Thanks again

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great accommodation, helpful and friendly staff. Lovely breakfast. Only disappointment is the extremely limited availability of the swimming pool (1-3pm only) for use by children, a very awkward time if visiting the area for a holiday. This caused a great deal of disappointment and I think this should be made very clear on booking. The pool was one of the main reasons this particular accommodation was booked.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allie11413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor,

We are currently reviewing the Child Swim times and may revise them, thank you for making your valid comments.

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews