We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel with great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with great facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights we had a fab time, we chose a superior room which I'm pleased we did, nice size room. Must say we booked direct with hotel as a better deal was on offer, if you book using comparison sites breakfast is extra but direct it's included, which gives you a better deal. We used the leisure facilities and they are fantastic. I would recommend this hotel and are planning to go back soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for you wonderful comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House, always look at the websites and contact us direct for our latest offers,

We hope you return to Alexandra House very soon,

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    334
    180
    63
    34
See reviews for
81
438
21
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stay here every second week for business. The positives - hotel is very clean, quiet and the young staff are well trained and charming. Pool and little spa are nice. Negatives - I hate the decor especially the black polyester bedspreads (personal taste I know) and the gloomy bar area on a lovely spring day but what does rankle is the value of the food and wine. A pedestrian Pinot is £8.55 for a large glass - almost twice as much as I would pay a bottle of this standard. The kitchen must be run by accountants rather than cooks because the food is only just passable at the prices. It's not bad but it's just very overpriced for what it is. It's a triumph of those reality shows where you have to make a dish as cheaply as possible. One gets the feeling every pomegranate seed is counted out. I have just paid £12 for a chicken & cous cous salad really no better (or worse) than Waitrose ready to go lunch pot. I had a perfectly acceptable pasta with cheese sauce the other week but again - the feeling of a bit if a rip-off - the ingredients must have cost less than £1. My advice to management - relax the kitchen financial targets - the Alexandra House would be a better hotel for it.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same. Some face in towards the courtyard and some face out - but all a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House, and for your positive comments on how well trained the staff are, and the cleanliness of the building,

Our Bar Prices are competitive with other local hotels, and I'm disappointed that you felt the quality of food wasn't up to standard, we aim to offer a large variety of food of high quality, I apologise if you didn't receive this on during your stay,

Many Thanks,

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights (didn't eat there) and upgraded to a double deluxe room. This was pretty good value in my opinion; everything we needed was there, the room extremely clean, large enough to sit in (and with chairs for the purpose - I've had to sit on the bed in more hotel rooms than I would like to count !), quiet and comfortable. Absolutely no complaints whatsoever. This hotel does what it says on the tin, and does it very efficiently. It is a typical conference hotel but manages to raise the bar in comparison with others I have stayed in. Very slick operation, 5 stars well deserved. PS if you're looking for character, this definitely makes no pretences on that score!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straysheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay here at Alexandra House,

All our bedrooms are spacious, clean and quiet and I'm glad you received the experience we aim to deliver.

Kind Regards,

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked this hotel for a two night break through Trivago. We picked it for a relaxing time and because it had a swimming pool and sauna. It is in a lovely quiet country location and looked very promising when we drove up. However when we arrived they had no record of the booking which was probably not their fault. The reception staff handled it politely and professionally and found us a room. Unfortunately they told us that the pool and sauna were closed for maintenance for several days which was a disappointment as this was the main reason we chose this hotel above others in the area.
The room was very pleasant and modern with tea and coffee making facilities. We went down for breakfast the next day at 9.10 am as service ended at 9.30am. We were disappointed to find the restaurant empty and all the hot food buffet had been cleared away. I can only assume that the conference guests had been fed earlier and they weren't expecting anyone else. We did manage to order some hot food from the kitchen but the scrambled eggs were tepid. I had asked for eggs on toast but the waitress asked if she could put some toast through the machine toaster which meant the food going colder.
In the evening I ordered a lamb tagine expecting lovely herby flavours only to be disappointed by a poor spicy tomato sauce that tasted pre-prepared. The similarity to a motorway café fast food could not be ignored along with the soggy cous cous.
The young staff were all excellent. All in all it was a good hotel that just needs a bit more attention to detail to make it excellent. It probably is better suited to conferencing than the individual guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARTIN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Martin,

Thanks for your comments about your stay here at Alexandra House, I'm sorry that you were disapointed in the Spa being out of use, this was due to some essiential maintenance work that was taking place, we had posted this information on all websites.

I also apologise for the quality of food you received, we always offer a plated cooked breakfast if the food from the buffet as been removed. We always aim to offer a variety of choice with the highest quality of food, and I am disappointed that we didn't deliver this at this time.

Kind Regards,

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North east. England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

A warm and welcoming spa hotel set in its own grounds. A peaceful haven. Good food and wine.
Spacious double bedroom with small seating area and work desk.
Clean bathroom. nice toiletries.... Big fluffy towels (yesssss).
Great bargain break. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoylel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about your trip to Alexandra House,

Please check the websites as we regularly update them with new offers and discounts,

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited during the May back holiday. It was amazing- spacious rooms, delicious food and pleasant staff. The facilities are in top conditions. Only thing is that cellular signal is poor, hopefully the networks would extend to the area. Would recommend anytime.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Omokehinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thanks for your comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House, I'm happy that you found the staff helpful and pleasant as we always aim to give excellent customer service to all our guests,

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEEDS, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Visited the Alexandra House conference centre for a BSI training course on 30 April 2014. Travelled by train to Swindon for the 4.5 hour journey from my home town and then caught a taxi to the centre which was approximately 20 minutes away from the station. The conference centre is set in its own grounds that are well maintained and picturesque. Rooms are clean and have very good amenities such as tea/coffee making facilities, desk and reading lamp, trouser press, hairdryer, good size shower (within a bath), sofa and chair, walled plasma tv and good sized bed (very comfortable). The course was held in individual rooms of varying size based upon the number of attendees. Tea and coffee facilities are available for every training room and have a varied selection of drinks and snacks to choose from. Rooms are air conditioned and comfortable with drinks and sweets regularly replenished in breaks. The restaurant is spacious and supplies a varied range of good quality food self served from stainless recepticals. Tables are well presented and set out to enable group engagement and conversation. Staff are very friendly and accommodationg no matter what the request. An excellent venue for work related courses, personal visits or access to the fabulous local countryside. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Does not matter which room you choose as the setting is quiet and away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEENOLeeds_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about Alexandra House, I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us.

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
13.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
18.0 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Alexandra House

Property: De Vere Alexandra House
Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
De Vere Alexandra House Wroughton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing