We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Vere Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice surprise. ”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Driving along the rural roads and we found ourselves at Alexandra house. The reception are is large and bright and the staff are friendly.

The room was great. Spacious clean, the bed was very comfortable, the TV was a decent size. The bathroom is nice both shower and bath.

I did like the position of the desk in the room, it was not pushed up against the wall, it was used as a divider which makes the room feel as if you have separate living spaces within the room. It is perfect if your on a working trip.

My only critique would be the limited yet expensive dining options.

Had a good stay, room was perfect,staff friendly. Would recommend to others.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, about your recent stay here at Alexandra House.

We do offer a variety of dining options, from Room Service, to the main Restaurant and a Bar Menu offering a more casual dining experience.

Thanks again for your comments and I hope that you return to Alexandra House,

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    334
    178
    63
    34
See reviews for
81
437
21
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Hotel for our wedding anniversary for one night and we enjoyed our stay there.

Most of the reviews on this website are a very accurate reflection of Alexandra House. There are some people that have rated this hotel as bad/terrible. Simply not true.

If you read the actual reasons some people have rated this hotel as poor is due to their own incompetence.

Some people put that the location is "in the back of beyond" - you should have checked the location before you booked!!, not exactly difficult. If you want a hotel right next to a motorway then do your research. A simple look on Google maps to see where exactly the hotel is takes less than 60 seconds.

Someone else put "no mobile signal" - that's not exactly the hotels fault is it.

Some people love to have a good moan. You can't please everyone and sometimes things do just go wrong, but the above comments are a joke.

I can thoroughly recommend this hotel, good food, quiet location, friendly & helpful staff, clean pool/gym, very accessible to the motorway, reasonably priced.

Try this hotel. Take the bad reviews with a pinch of salt. The best way to view things on Trip Advisor reviews is that if the majority of the review are good or better then it is probably ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Andy,

Thank you for your wonderful and honest comments about Alexandra House, positive feedback gives all the team here a great lift and it's very welcome.

I do hope that you will come and stay at Alexandra House again very soon.

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a 2 night break over the weekend and from the moment we walked in to when we checked out the staff were brilliant. Always greeted with a smile whether it be the cleaner or a maid and couldn't do enough for us.
We have rated this as average due to the bed and also the breakfast. After staying at a marriott hotel for a similar price last year we were expecting a similar type of bed, something that you could just sink into and not want to get out of. Unfortunately this was not the case, a very cheap feeling mattress that I would expect on sale at Argos not at a hotel like this. We chose a superior room which was nice enough but not as nice as we were expecting, maybe we have been spolied!! Breakfast was ok, good choice but have had better at a £30 per night b&b.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachaelNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Rachael,

Thanks for your wonderful comments about the staff here following your recent stay here at Alexandra House,.

Unfortunately, Matresses are of a personal opinion, but I can confirm all our mattresses are of a high standard and from reputable suppliers.

The breakfast buffet is varied and has food of a high quality and is aimed at all tastes.

I hope that you return to Alexandra House very shortly,

Thanks for your comments

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is our third time staying here. It's pleasant, helpful staff and calm but unfortunately we will not be returning as there is now a time limit for taking my baby in the pool. The main reason we liked it and kept returning was the pool and that I could take my baby in the pool when we wanted. Just went to get in and was told told he would only be allowed in 1-3pm and that she had only just extended it for another couple and we couldn't. We wouldn't have booked if we had known this... She said that this was nothing new... We had never been told any different or stopped! Really gutted our break away has now been ruined!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_bear_anderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks for your comments on your stay here at Alexandra House,

Unfortunately we do have strict child swim times, this is due to the Leisure Club having a strict over 18 policy, all Swim Times are published on our website and I apologise for any inconvinence this has occured,

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

After booking something titled "House" we imagined a roomy country house, but this is in fact a huge conference complex - we needed to take a packed lunch to reach our room from reception. After check-in, we carted our suitcases from carpark to reception then trekked to our rooms - receptionist didn't bother to advise us that the stairwell adjacent to our rooms was accessible from the carpark. (She later grudgingly gave us the stairwell door combination, but only after we requested it.)
The room was beautifully presented and immaculately clean. The bed was very comfortable and a small writing desk was very handy. Ensuite bathroom was a good size and included a bath.
The bar area was convivial, but drinks and food were pricey. The restaurant was too expensive to even consider an evening meal there. We did indulge in the buffet breakfast and the food was great but again over-priced.
Though disappointed with reception staff, who were stingy with their time and information regarding the hotel and offered no tourist information despite proximity to Avebury (conference guests seemed to be their main interest), by contrast, the bar and restaurant were exceptional.
Overall the room was great and well-priced, but next time, I would plan to eat dinner before driving to the hotel, and would head to a nearby town for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleAgedHippies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay here at Alexandra House,

All our bedrooms are easily accessible from both car parks and within the hotel. I'm disappointed that you felt the Reception team didn't provide much information, but within our Business Centre we have lots of local information and key places to visit in the area.

Our Restaurant and Bar prices are comparable with other hotels locally, thank you for your comments on the cleanliness of the bedrooms and I hope you would like to return to Alexandra House soon.

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights we had a fab time, we chose a superior room which I'm pleased we did, nice size room. Must say we booked direct with hotel as a better deal was on offer, if you book using comparison sites breakfast is extra but direct it's included, which gives you a better deal. We used the leisure facilities and they are fantastic. I would recommend this hotel and are planning to go back soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for you wonderful comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House, always look at the websites and contact us direct for our latest offers,

We hope you return to Alexandra House very soon,

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stay here every second week for business. The positives - hotel is very clean, quiet and the young staff are well trained and charming. Pool and little spa are nice. Negatives - I hate the decor especially the black polyester bedspreads (personal taste I know) and the gloomy bar area on a lovely spring day but what does rankle is the value of the food and wine. A pedestrian Pinot is £8.55 for a large glass - almost twice as much as I would pay a bottle of this standard. The kitchen must be run by accountants rather than cooks because the food is only just passable at the prices. It's not bad but it's just very overpriced for what it is. It's a triumph of those reality shows where you have to make a dish as cheaply as possible. One gets the feeling every pomegranate seed is counted out. I have just paid £12 for a chicken & cous cous salad really no better (or worse) than Waitrose ready to go lunch pot. I had a perfectly acceptable pasta with cheese sauce the other week but again - the feeling of a bit if a rip-off - the ingredients must have cost less than £1. My advice to management - relax the kitchen financial targets - the Alexandra House would be a better hotel for it.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same. Some face in towards the courtyard and some face out - but all a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House, and for your positive comments on how well trained the staff are, and the cleanliness of the building,

Our Bar Prices are competitive with other local hotels, and I'm disappointed that you felt the quality of food wasn't up to standard, we aim to offer a large variety of food of high quality, I apologise if you didn't receive this on during your stay,

Many Thanks,

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
1,701 reviews
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
13.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
635 reviews
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Alexandra House

Property: De Vere Alexandra House
Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
De Vere Alexandra House Wroughton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing