We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apart from a few niggles”
Review of Alexandra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Reviewed 11 July 2014

On the face of it, a super impressive place in a lovely setting on the downs south of Wroughton on the site of the former RAF hospital. If it were not for a few niggles, I would have given it top marks. The niggles were: on trying to book, the telephone was not answered for hours; the carpet in our room had not been properly vacuumed; although it was a double room, there was only one armchair, and there were soiling stains on the seat from a previous occupant; the illumination level from the lighting in the room was very low even when everything was switched on full; the controls for the bath and shower were very difficult to operate; we ignored the signs saying park at reception to book in before driving to the car park, which was just as well because it appeared that those vehicles already parked there remained there all night. Breakfast was truly excellent, although I had to brush debris off the chair before sitting at the table to enjoy it. A romantic hotel: not sure what to say really, because anywhere is romantic if you make it so! What is it known for? Well, I guess it is a conference centre much of the time, and probably a really good one too.

Room Tip: I only saw the one room, but in an establishment of this type, I would imagine all the rooms are pre...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TolskithyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay here at Alexandra House,

Your comments about the cleanliness of your room have been reported back to our Housekeeping Department, I am sorry that your bedroom hadn't reached our usual high standards.

We aim to give all our guests great value and we work hard to ensure are standards are met and I am disappointed on this occasion it hasn't been met.

I do hope that you return to Alexandra House and we can show that this was a one off.

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
There are newer reviews for Alexandra House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We use Alexandra House a lot for meetings. It does feel more like a conference centre than a hotel.
Most of the staff try hard but the last few times we've been the service in the restaurant has been poor.
Today, there we meant to be six items on the hot buffet at lunch time. Of those six, three had run out completely when we went to the buffet and we had to tell the waiting staff, who had no idea. They then came back and told us we'd have to wait 15 minutes for it to be replenished. So our choice of six or seven items became a choice of four. Looking around, every table had empty water jugs and the staff had to be asked to replenish them. So in short, they are willing but seem sadly lacking in training, with very little ability to anticipate needs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilinmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Neil,

Thanks for your comments regarding your stay at Alexandra House, Although we are a conference centre we do also have large amount of leisure guests to stay,

Your comments have passed onto our Restaurant Team, we aim to offer a large variety of food at lunchtimes, and I apologise that on this occasion it didn't reach the standard,

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Excellent Hotel, friendly & helpful staff, rooms spacious, comfortable beds, only draw back, rooms had no air conditioning, therefore had to open the window to vent the room. Breakfast at £10.00 worth every penny. Twin Bed Room Special Offer £68.00

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Alan S,

Thanks for your compliments on your recent stay here at Alexandra House,

Please review the website frequently as we often have offers and discounts available.

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed for two days on business. Paid slightly more for a upgrade. Room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Staff on reception lovely. Gym nice and clean. Breakfast ok. Would stay again as the price I paid even with the upgrade was reasonable. Lovely young woman on reception very helpful over two days, sorry didnot take a net of your name.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redharvey64_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thanks for your positive comments, about your recent stay here at Alexandra House.

Your feedback has been passed to the Reception team, and we would like to welcome you back to Alexandra House.

Please check our website for various offers and discounts that we offer to guests.

Kind Regards,

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Although modern and without much ambiance this was a very good hotel for a stopover on our Devon-Cambridge journey. Quiet and clean with excellent facilities incl free spa and sauna. We had a 2 night b&b including one night dinner package via Superbreak, most excellent value compared to same package direct via the hotel. There was some confusion as to whether the dinner was 2 or 3 courses.
The room was spacious, clean and quiet. The surrounding area is of little interest with few pubs or restaurants close by but within 15km there is plenty to see and do, Avebury, Marlborough etc and Salisbury about 30km. It is a big hotel and some rooms are very far from the reception, not as the crow flies but as the guest has to walk, see comment below.

Room Tip: One wing of the square block is about 300m walk with suitcases from reception, they did't say y...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitorsnederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thanks for your comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House.

We are lucky that there we are based to so many local attractions, so there is lots to do within the surrounding areas.

Our Housekeeping team work hard to ensure high standards of cleanliness are kept too, with regards to the location of your bedrooms, we have two different car parks which we offer to guests so you can be closer to your room, than walking from Reception.

I do you hope you return to Alexandra House,

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Spent two nights here as part of a wedding package. Staff friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Rooms clean. Lounge comfortable and free wi-fi. Breakfast contained a good and varied variety of breakfast items both hot and cold.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your great comments about your stay at Alexandra House.

We have free WIFI for all guests, and work hard to provide a high standard of customer service to all guests.

KInd Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous 4 night break at the Alexandra House.

Upon arrival we were welcomed by the receptionist who was very friendly yet highly professional. The service throughout our stay was faultless from every staff member. We had all our meals in the restaurant, the food was excellent. Leisure facilities including steam room, Jacuzzi and pool were very nice. The hotel location is perfect, far enough away from the town to be give a peaceful break and set in lovely grounds which gave us the opportunity to have good evening walks before dinner. Our room was comfortable and spotless, also managed to get internet access throughout our stay (I've stayed at numerous hotels where I cant get a network connection in the room).

We were a little surprised when we met another hotel guest in the hallway with two dogs pulling on leads; cant say I like the idea of dogs being allowed in hotels, I am a dog lover but I leave my dog at home with a sitter.

We look forward to returning to returning in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank medebe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at Alexandra House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House.

We aim to give a professional but friendly service to all guests and you have clearly experienced this.

All your positive comments have been fed back to the team and thanks again,

We all hope you will return to Alexandra House very soon,

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
681 reviews
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
2,036 reviews
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,538 reviews
6.8 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra House

Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range: £47 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
Alexandra House Wroughton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing