We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Alexandra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Vere Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
206 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“2 night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a two night stay here and were very pleasantly surprised with the accommodation as it was extremely good value. The rooms were a lovely size and nice and clean. The breakfast was varied although the quality of the actual food itself was a little let down but this wasnt anything to complain about. I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollyncharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thanks for your comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House.

Our Breakfast buffet has lots of choice as we aim to cater for all tastes and we only use the highest quality products.

I hope you return to Alexandra House soon.

Kind Regards

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    329
    173
    60
    32
See reviews for
78
425
21
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here over the August bank holiday weekend, We arrived late (7pm) on saturday and the hotel was fully booked so we did not expect to get the best room, there was an issue with the blind no working meaning no natural light but once the hotel had emptied a little the next day we were immediately moved without a hitch. although the TV in room 139 is a little odd with the screen being back to front! not something I had ever seen before!

Our evening meal on Saturday was inclusive and was a choice of 3 course buffet or 3 course a la carte, we opted for the a la carte and were not disappointed at all, I had fish of the day and my partner went for the vegetarian options, service was a little slow but the hotel was extremely busy so we expected that. Wine was overpriced but nice none the less.
Breakfast on sunday morning was disappointing but this was rectified by Monday morning and the breakfast the second morning was a lot better than the first, good range of food but presentation was somewhat lacking on that first morning. We were pleased none the less. The restaurant manager at breakfast was friendly and entertaining both mornings which was nice, we felt welcomed and were looked after.

On sunday we had a long country walk and went to a local pub (careful if walking as it isn't a walk for the faint hearted, its 25 mins walk along side of a busy road, or 5 mins by car) to the Calley Arms where we enjoyed their tapas evening which was fantastic and their bank holiday beer festival, we then got a taxi back to the hotel for just £5.60!

We took great advantage of the leisure facilities at Alexandra House and again although the Jacuzzi wasn't working on sunday it was working by Monday. Good steam room, pool, sauna could be hotter though.

Reception and bar area were okay although we were astounded that two Russian gentleman were a)allowed too and b) had the cheek to watch television at high very high volume on an ipad on the table in the middle of a lounge area! my complaint soon put a stop to this!!

Drinks are overpriced £7.65 for 1.5 pints of Peroni - this cost less than £5 at the local pub! but they are hotel prices and we got a great deal on the weekend so we cannot complain.

A few room issues probably do need to be sorted, I would imagine that blind in room 135 has not worked for a while now and when room lighting isn't great and theres no natural light coming in, its not great, the TV although funny in room 139 probably needs a service too.
The TVs are a little dated and there is no logical order for the channels so that was a little frustrating but we were not there to watch TV so that was fine for us.

Overall we had a wonderful weekend and I am surprised at reading other recent reviews, we had a lovely time and it was exactly what we were expecting for what we paid! It is obviously a hotel designed for weddings and conferences, we felt that for what we got, we got a bargain and a great weekend rolled into one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deltasierra29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House.

We aim to provide a great service for all guests and I have ensured that your comments have been addressed and rectified, ( with the blinds and the TV).

We offer a great variety of food items both on our daily specials, Tempus Menu and Breakfast Buffet as we aim to cater for all tastes.

Our bar price are comparable to other hotels within the local area.

I'm happy you had a good weekend, and I hope you will return to Alexandra House.

Kind Regards
Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Last night of our Shaftesbury, Stroud and Swindon tour. Alexandra House is situated at the edge of a modern housing estate but within minutes of Swindon. Hotel seems to cater for conferences with varied client group actually staying. Nice room, excellent breakfast choices - staff were attentive and very polite. Would recommend as different place to stay away from major chains.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayMckibben, General Manager at De Vere Alexandra House, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay here at Alexandra House,

We work hard to ensure the cleanliness of the hotel is maintained.

Although we are located in the countryside, the town centre is easily accessible from here.

Thanks again for your comments

Ray Mckibben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over a weekend period, we booked through Superbreaks on a two night breakfast and first night dinner package.
On arrival, which was after 2pm the check in time, our room wasn't ready so we sat in reception whilst the check in staff sorted this out for us.
When we entered our room we were surprised at how dark it was inside, the lighting is very poor and needs looking into really. It was obvious the room had been rushed as the bed wasn't made properly. The room was adequate size with double bed, desk, armchair and tv. The wardrobe had minimal hanging space but also contained a safe and tea making facilities, there was also an iron, trouser press and hair dryer in the room. The bathroom had an over bath shower which was very temperamental, it went from freezing cold to scalding hot in a matter of seconds. The bed was very soft which we found to be uncomfortable and the pillows were small with very soft fillings that flattened when you lay on them,
Cleaners came in daily although on the second day they didn't even make the bed.
On the first evening we had a two course dinner included in our stay so booked into the restaurant for 7pm which was opening time. We were sat at a table for two and I pointed out to the waitress that the table was dirty but she just placed a salt and pepper pot over the mess and walked away. Dining was a buffet service which we didn't want so after discussions with the waitress we were offered the al a carte option, the food was hot and well cooked, very tasty.
Next morning we went for breakfast for the first sitting and I pointed out to the waiter that my cup was dirty so he came back with a replacement but unfortunately this was cracked severely right through inside the cup with a dirty stain in the crack, my husband found a clean cup for me from another table. The breakfast selection was buffet style with hot and cold selection which I'd describe as average standard other than the scones which were rock hard inside and out.
On the second night we ate in the bar, pizza and chips which was very nice with excellent service.
Second mornings breakfast went well with clean cups and food ok. The restaurant cleanliness could do with some attention to detail there were crumbs on the carpet from the night before and cobwebs on the windows. Also in the corridor by the meeting rooms was quite a large dead spider on the floor which was there for the entire stay.
We did mention all the things we weren't happy with to reception and other staff and did get an apology but that was it. I'm very disappointed as after drinking out of a cracked stained cup I felt a bit sick to be honest. Usually when you bring complaints to the attention of staff they make an effort to put things right with you, other than an apology there was nothing. I heard other guests make complaints to staff and they too got the apology and nothing else.
I believe that the young staff that work here are trying their best to look after customers but lack motivation.
I wouldn't stay here again, I feel the hotel is trying to be something it's not and it needs to be looked at it with a fresh pair of eyes.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

we had a wonderful stay here ,even though there was a wedding going on we couldn't hear a sound. Brian the manager was the greatest host ever and young matt at the bar was attentive friendly and helpful ,he was shocked when we tipped him!! know you have paid for you're stay but do recommend tipping the deserve it. Reception staff helpful and friendly

Room Tip: pool not as big as it looks in the photo we thought we could spend hours there but after 45 minutes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Sadly I had occasion to stay here in order to go to a family funeral. The hotel is a bit out of it but strategically it's a good location for the M4 with no real traffic to deal with.

The hotel was very well organised and my room was very pleasant with a sitting area and a comfortable bed. The room was spacious but the bathroom less so. It's strange to find no glasses in the bathroom only plastic cups and none at all in the bedroom. How is one to drink a glass of wine? Plastic glasses? I don't think so. The toiletries were very basic and NO soap! (Apparently they had run out!) Couldn't they have sent a flunky somewhere to get some? Tut tut.

The rooms were well serviced and nicely tidied each day. But no soap!

The restaurant food was a pleasant surprise. Breakfast was excellent, a wide range of lovely things and GASP the coffee tasted like coffee. Dinner was also good with a menu that although not extensive was adequate. A specials board would have been nice.

What was a nice surprise was the spa area. A lovely pool and sauna/steam room, a jacuzzi albeit small and a lovely gym. The staff were helpful and EVERYTHING worked. Now that was a shock. I have stayed in many places where one or two things don't work and nobody is that bothered. So full marks for that.

I booked via the hotels own website where it was the best deal and breakfast was included. It just goes to show these so called last minute sites are a lot of overpriced hot air and they should look again at their ludicrous claims to be the best/cheapest. They're not.

Well done the Alexandra house hotel. It was nearly full marks! Good for you. It can be done.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LadyWilmaWithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel looks very impressive as you drive in and the receptionist was very friendly. We were given a room about as far away from reception as you could get, which is annoying. The room itself was very nice, very spacious and well equipped - clearly furnished with the intention of conference guests rather than leisure guests. One packet of biscuits for a room for 2 people is the height of stinginess. The bed was quite hard - not good for me personally - and the pillow was a bit strange. They clearly have a problem with security - the info in the room states that they have no security problems but we advise you to use the safe in your room. My partner went flying in the bath on the stupid bath mat and his head quite hard on the wall. We turned the radiator on and it was incredibly noisy. The swimming pool was very nice - although we weren't impressed with the hand towels we were given by reception. The Jacuzzi was lovely and I'm told the steam room was good - you wouldn't catch me dead in one. The bar area was fine but the drinks were outrageously priced - £4 for three quarters of a glass of coke! We didn't order another one. Rumours from a local about the chef buying £1 frozen pizzas for the restaurant (at £11 each) and buying the cheapest tinned tomatoes available because the customers won't notice put us off trying the food, as did the prices when we saw them - £14 for Quorn sausages and mash. The pool table had an out of service notice on it, so that option was out. The next morning we asked for towels for swimming again and the receptionist again said she'd "run out". At 11 am in the morning??! I stood my ground so she rang housekeeping to ask for some towels - they were "too busy" so someone in the spa area kindly went and get us some proper sized ones. While I was waiting in reception two people checked out and both had been improperly charged - one for £44 for a meal they hadn't had and one for a drinks bill he hadn't run up. Despite the room info saying there's wifi throughout the hotel, it's only in 'common areas'. All in all, the place is lovely but the little details let them down, so 3 stars instead of the 4 they should be getting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
13.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Alexandra House

Property: De Vere Alexandra House
Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Superbreak UK and Hotels.com so you can book your De Vere Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
De Vere Alexandra House Wroughton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing