We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Alexandra House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
De Vere Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Stunning Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

This venue is set in some of the most stunning countryside in Wroughton, just outside of Swindon.

Easy to find.

Smart rooms, similar in some ways to Premier Inn but with superior quality items and furnishings. Spacious, tea and coffee provided.

Struck by the sheer size of the venue and it's cleanliness. Very quiet.

I have to agree with a previous reviewer regarding the food. It was overly expensive, and not amazing. My friend ordered a dessert which was rock solid and it wasn't ice cream! Service was a bit naff too, waited a long time, had to ask several times for water. They had no ice buckets for the wine.

Breakfast was substantial with plenty of fresh fruits though.

I would return, quite probably wouldn't dine there though.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quinonostante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    329
    173
    60
    32
See reviews for
78
425
21
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

we had a very great value deal staying over the weekend with breakfast included. The room was spacious and clean with a queen size bed and a sofa. The hotel was virtually empty and quiet due to most of its customers using the venue for business within the week. We therefore had two mornings of quiet tasty breakfasts and we had the spa to ourselves. Regarding the spa - the heated pool and whirlpool were absolutely delightful. The staff were extremeley pleasant and professional. The grounds were peaceful and vast. Only drawback was we had to drive everywhere but we knew this before we travelled. Swindon town centre was surprisingly large and plentiful. Overall - loved it!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelchick066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

Our room was clean, spatious and well equipped. There was plenty of parking and nice grounds for walking the dog. Modern and purpose built, which meant it was smart and very comfortable.
The food was great too and the staff were very helpful.
We stayed here to visit Avebury - amazing village with ancient standing stones - much better than stonehenge!
The Great Western Shopping centre is worth a visit too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennySwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burry Port
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

The hotel is not too far from the M4 and Swindon but you need another person to navigate or at least a photographic memory to remember the route.

The hotel itself is nice to look at, clean, good amentities, lots of space, friendly and helpful staff.

The food and drinks are very expensive. The meal we had was plentiful and eatable BUT way too expensive: we both had fish and chips @ over £10 each, the battered fish looked supermarket bought - there was no way that the batter was prepared in the kitchen - with frozen chips, tons of peas were added to cover the plate perhaps and there was a homemade addition - something that should have been tartar sauce but wasn't! Given that the hotel is away from any competition, they see fit to rip you off with the food and drink which is a shame.

However, the breakfast was excellent. Serve yourself, lots of choice, excellent service with the tea and coffee.

The room was smaller than I'd have expected but was comfortable and clean. Unfortunately there were teenage girls in the next room who between 11.30 and 1.30 made a considerable amount of intermittent noise - the odd shout, laugh, door banging - just when I was on the point of getting up to complain it would stop, then I'd snooze then get woken by another noise. If you like peace and quiet, ask for a quiet room!

We left full because of the ample breakfast, tired from a broken night's sleep and a definite feeling of being ripped off by a restaurant/bar that had ideas and prices far far above its station.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prince_turhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devonian england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

just spent 2 nights at alexandra house. first impressions after struggling to find it ( even though we have sat nav) were strange looking hotel in the middle of a housing estate! check in was friendly and effecient. nice spacious modern room but with a view of wall and car park ! we used the pool etc twice when there was supposed to be no kids allowed, both times there were at least 4 kids in there which was a bit annoying. the shower in our room was very erratic every minute or so it would turn boiling for a few seconds which could be dangerous. got back to our room at 3.30 and it still hadnt been cleaned which we thought was a bit off. food was nice but nothing special.
all in all an ok hotel stuck in the middle of nowhere which i wouldnt be in a rush to go back to

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaz1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

This new(ish) conference centre is a little distance away from Swindon (south of the M4 in a quiet housing estate) but is still easy to reach if you have a car. I got a good rate for the room and paid just £25 to upgrade to an Executive Room which was lovely - quiet, beautifully kept, free wine and wifi. I didn't use any of the conference facilities, but saw nothing on my visit to convince me that the other reviews on this site about good service/facilities are misplaced.

The only downside is the limited menu choice in the restaurant in the evening, although there is a little more choice with the bar menu. If I stayed here again (which I would) then I'd probably go out for dinner rather than try the restaurant again. The breakfast was, however, delicious.

Overall, a great conference venue which works well for short stays if you can find something you like in the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H0nestB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of January. Despite being nominally a "Swindon" hotel it is fact nearer to Wroughton and is located near an upmarket housing development and in very quiet contryside. I had booked in advance and paid £158 for 2 nights room, breakfast and dinner. The room was excellent with a large comfortable bed, efficient heating, wi-fi and a work desk with an ethernet connection. This reflects the fact that it is used as a conference and seminar facility a lot of the time.

The food was very good, served hot on hot plates. The breakfast was a self-service buffet and dinner was waiter service at the table. The choice at dinner was good, with vegetarian options. I found the breakfast cereal selection slightly limited but that is a small point. The dining room lighting was very odd - scores of flush fitting spotlights (some not working) which meant that one was either in a pool of bright light or in very dim lighting. The same in the bedroom, the only conventional lights were bedside ones, the lamp at the workstation and in the bathroom.

The staff were very helpful and polite, both reception and in the dining room. I found the problem reported by others that the wi-fi seemed to fail at the weekend and couldn't be fixed but the staff let me use a computer in reception but it might be an issue if one was there on business wanting to use the internet a lot.

Overall a good restful break, at a very keen price, good rooms and food, helpful staff and a pleasant very quiet location.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
13.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Alexandra House

Property: De Vere Alexandra House
Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your De Vere Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
De Vere Alexandra House Wroughton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing