We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Alexandra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexandra House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Chippenham
Level Contributor
218 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I stayed at Alexandra House for one night on a training course. I was extremely impressed with the quality and size of the public areas. The hotel is newly finished to a high standard. Despite the fact that this is primarily a conference hotel, you feel as if you are at a luxury venue. The staff were really helpful ,even if check in and out was a little slow.

The rooms, restaurant and conference facilities meet the same high standards. I honestly have no complaints whatsoever - very rare for me! The location is ideal for getting away from it all, a few miles from the town of Wroughton near Swindon. Because of that, I had a very peaceful night's sleep!

I only regret that I did not get to use the leisure facilities, free of charge. I'm looking forward to my next visit when I hope to see what's on offer.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowWhite78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    341
    188
    71
    46
See reviews for
89
453
21
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
103 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

The hotel is set in lovely grounds in a quiet location. The staff we found were very helpful and friendly, the food was excellent, we have stayed here twice, the first occasion it was buffet dinner and the second time a la carte, both were superb. The rooms are very comfortable with all furnishings in excellent order. Nice bar with outside terrace and a very good pool and spa area with a gym. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docajenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archie_XX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Booked through Superbreak £52.50 for two people with breakfast. Rooms very comfortable but could do with some better pillows. Eat in the restaurant in the evening. 4 course Hot or cold Buffet £16.95 per head. Food was excellent, because it was a buffet you could eat as much or as many dishes as you want ( I could only eat two desserts). Breakfast was excellent. again buffet style. The service in the restaurant is excellent with personal attention from the maitre d. Maybe sometimes a little swift ( I went up to get my main course and when I came back my half eaten bread roll had been cleared away, same happened with my toast at breakfast) Doesnt matter though as its buffet you can just go and get another one. All the staff throughout the hotel were very pleasant. Swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room were deserted ( open from 6.30am to 10pm) so it was like having our own leisure centre. There was a wedding going on in the main areas but it only made the place seem livelier. I can imagine at weekends it would seem quiet if something wasnt going on. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archie_XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cannock
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Just returned from a lovely weekend at the Alexandra (shame about the weather).
Have to say the food was excellent and the maitre d (Bilal ?) is excellent at his job as are the reception staff.
If you want something at breakfast that's not there ie poached egg, just ask the breakfast MD (sorry don't know his name) and they will sort if.
The rooms are very comfortable,except for the pillows and have enough clothes storage room. Tall people will find the bath a bit "short" though. WIFI is a bit hit & miss in the rooms but no problem in the public areas which are also lovely and very comfortable.
The gym is well equipped if a bit small & the pool area is very clean and for most of our weekend an official child-free zone (a blessing for us)
The big screen in the lounge bar gets sky sports and so do the tv's in the rooms (but only the one at a time) so if you're lucky and that way inclined they'll put the footy or the cricket on for you, just ask

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CannockFrodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

This venue is set in some of the most stunning countryside in Wroughton, just outside of Swindon.

Easy to find.

Smart rooms, similar in some ways to Premier Inn but with superior quality items and furnishings. Spacious, tea and coffee provided.

Struck by the sheer size of the venue and it's cleanliness. Very quiet.

I have to agree with a previous reviewer regarding the food. It was overly expensive, and not amazing. My friend ordered a dessert which was rock solid and it wasn't ice cream! Service was a bit naff too, waited a long time, had to ask several times for water. They had no ice buckets for the wine.

Breakfast was substantial with plenty of fresh fruits though.

I would return, quite probably wouldn't dine there though.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quinonostante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

we had a very great value deal staying over the weekend with breakfast included. The room was spacious and clean with a queen size bed and a sofa. The hotel was virtually empty and quiet due to most of its customers using the venue for business within the week. We therefore had two mornings of quiet tasty breakfasts and we had the spa to ourselves. Regarding the spa - the heated pool and whirlpool were absolutely delightful. The staff were extremeley pleasant and professional. The grounds were peaceful and vast. Only drawback was we had to drive everywhere but we knew this before we travelled. Swindon town centre was surprisingly large and plentiful. Overall - loved it!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelchick066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Our room was clean, spatious and well equipped. There was plenty of parking and nice grounds for walking the dog. Modern and purpose built, which meant it was smart and very comfortable.
The food was great too and the staff were very helpful.
We stayed here to visit Avebury - amazing village with ancient standing stones - much better than stonehenge!
The Great Western Shopping centre is worth a visit too.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennySwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wroughton
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 24 in Swindon
1,835 reviews
2.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
652 reviews
7.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
1,437 reviews
13.5 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra House

Property: Alexandra House
Address: Alexandra House Whittingham Drive, Wroughton, Swindon SN4 0QJ, England (Formerly Alexandra House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Wroughton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wroughton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra House 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra House is a modern contemporary hotel, boasting 152 en-suite bedrooms and banqueting, wedding and meeting space for up to 250 people across 22 bespoke spaces, ideally located just 5 minutes from junction 15, M4 motorway. For business guests we are perfectly situated in Wroughton, overlooking Swindon within easy reach (5 mins. drive) to Nationwide - Pipers Way head office, Windmill Hill and Blagrove business parks, home to companies such as Openwork, RWE, BP Castrol, Nokia Siemens, MAN truck and Catalent. Set in 20 acres of landscaped grounds within the beautiful Cotswold countryside, this Wiltshire hotel is a fantastic choice for the discerning leisure visitor, close to an array of world-class locations including Avebury & Stonehenge World Heritage Site, Longleat Safari Park, the Roman Spa city of Bath, Lacock village, home to Lacock Abbey where Harry Potter was filmed, McArthur Glen outlet shopping village and the start of the ‘Ridgeway’, an ancient Iron-Age track, which is possibly the oldest road in Europe. Stone Age man once walked along its route - not only long before the likes of Stonehenge came into being, but even before Britain was an island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Priceline, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra House Hotel Swindon
Alexandra Hotel Wroughton
Alexandra House Wroughton, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing