We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointing-has potential but needs to improve service.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craigellachie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Craigellachie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigellachie
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dissapointing-has potential but needs to improve service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Service and food were disappointing. Arrived down for pre-dinner drinks both nights but no room in the very small bar and generally felt neglected. Staff at reception and bar often absent. Room at front was quite small and noisy from articulated lorries on nearby road. Food was well presented but fairly bland. The hotel has character and potential but is not secluded and the staff need to take an interest in their customers and ensure their needs are attended to.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L8rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    148
    68
    36
    19
See reviews for
68
246
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We went to the craigellechie hotel this weekend with my parents to celebrate my dad's birthday. The staff could not be more helpful or friendly. The rooms we had were amazing as was the fantastic 6 course meal we had. We were also treated to a private whiskey tasting which I would highly recommend. I will definately be going back.

Room Tip: Room 230 has a lovely view and just an amazing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariesha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Great service in a lovely location, would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jambo2012ller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We scraped together the money to spend New Year 2011/2012 here and it was entirely worth it. Our room at the front of the house was lovely, modern, clean and comfy. The bed was giant and great new year viewing to be had on the flat screen TV. We had incredible food every night across so many different beautiful rooms (the staff were constantly moving the furniture!), we were taken care of every minute of the day. Our favourite spot was sitting by the fire (they were all on, giving the hotel a wonderful cosy atmosphere), reading a book in the library. The bar was the most exciting, with over 700 whisky choices. They have a brilliant, knowledgeable and friendly resident whisky expert - the whisky tasting sessions are highly recommended! If you don't want to pay top dollar for the restaurant food (although it is definitely worth it), the bar/restaurant downstairs does really great food at a good price - best burgers ever!
The only downside was that some of the activities that were planned were cancelled and some of the entertainment was a bit questionable (the much anticipated new years eve 'ceilidh' was actually a woman with disco lights singing cringey pop-songs), but the staff made every effort to make up for it and we were just happy to be staying in such a beautiful place.
There is a motorway in front of the hotel but you can't hear it and it didn't bother us at all. There are some nice walks to be had down by the river.
If you are keen to do a tour of whisky country, like we were, then this is the place for you. Definitely come with a car (and designated driver!); in a 15 minute drive around the gorgeous countryside you will come across tens of distilleries. Glenfarclas is a must.
Craigellachie Hotel exceeded all our expectations and we will definitely be coming back in the future :)

Room Tip: After reading other reviews on tripadvisor we requested a room at the front of the hotel. I can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timrousbeastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was out second visit the last being in January 2011 - really happy with the hotel and our stay. On B & B rate but ate in the downstairs bar on the last night - food was excellent, cosy dining area, fast service, excellent food - could not fault it. We stayed 3 nights (16th-19th) this time and had room 206 at the front of the hotel overlooking the speyside walk which passes the hotel. Comfy bed, very clean, shower was so powerful - no faults. Spent a very pleasant afternoon in the drawing room in front of the coal (gas) fire reading and watching the snow falling outside. A great hotel if you want a peaceful relaxing holiday. Will defintely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieGlenrothes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I do try to give the benefit of the doubt, but I just cannot agree with the description of the rooms and the standards of accommodation given on the website. I am a realistic customer - I'm not looking for 5* luxury, or modern finishing in an old Victorian building. But I expect cleanliness and for fixtures and furniture not to be broken. But my room was not acceptable, especially at the rates being charged - and I was on a Laterooms deal, so paying well under the rack rate.

Staff were lovely, food was good, the whisky (one of my main reasons for staying here) selection was incomparable. But faded grandeur cannot be an excuse for disrepair. My room experience indicated a desperate need for some TLC. The impression I get from other reviews is that the top end rooms may be very good. All this does is make your more budget traveller feel second class - I still paid good money to stay! It all felt just a little self-satisfied: disappointing.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mordrydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spey Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I got married at the hotel just before Christmas 2011 and we could not have been more delighted with the service.
We booked three of the public rooms for the wedding and were also given a complimentary room which had breathtaking views.
All of our guests were gushing with praise at the accomodation, the meal and the very attentive staff. On the strength of this excellence service, my own parents have since booked an anniversary family 'do' there for March and I am sure there will be many more bookings from ourselves and our families in the coming months and years.
I particularly want to mention the staff Lucas, Kara and Matthew who made our wedding so very memorable and special. I cannot thank them enough for the attention to detail, profressionalism and friendliness. I wish them all well in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the Spey to get the full benefit of the amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marxrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craigellachie
2.2 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
20.5 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
17.3 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigellachie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigellachie Hotel

Property: Craigellachie Hotel
Address: Craigellachie Hotel Victoria Street, Craigellachie AB38 9SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Craigellachie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigellachie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigellachie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heartland of the malt whiskey industry, the idyll enjoyed of the Craigellachie Hotel is almost unrivalled anywhere in Scotland. Combining the style and elegance of a bygone era with the most modern of hotel facilities, guests can enjoy marvellous accommodation in any of the 26 en-suite rooms. Choose one of the Master Rooms or Mini-Suites which overlook the River Spey and the famous Craigellachie Bridge built in 1814. Dining experiences will only but delight, with the Ben Aigen Restaurant offering a range of traditional dishes. After a meal, relax in the Quaich Bar and select one of the 700 single malt whiskies that adorn its walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Craigellachie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigellachie Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing