We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for distillery touring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Craigellachie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigellachie
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot for distillery touring”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Just finished a three night stay here. The rooms are very clean and nicely furnished. Our main complaint is that ours was very small. We booked a deluxe room and did expect something larger.

In the end the room size didn't matter so much as we had so much fun at the bar and restaurant. The staff at this property are phenomenal. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. A special shout out to one of the bartenders, Mark. One of the best barmen I've ever had the pleasure of being served by!

Our last night, Friday, there was a singer/guitarist at the bar. Partied with the locals which made for a fun and special evening for us.

Only downsides are the internet in the rooms is basically non-existent and housekeeping could be a little more attentive (had to ask for more soap and shampoo).

Tip: Internet at the bar and restaurant works much better.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    148
    70
    36
    19
See reviews for
68
248
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Room was spacious and clean but old fashioned, Plenty of tea and ground coffee but nothing to make the coffee even after four requests. No trouser press although there was an iron in the wardrobe. Restaurant and bar staff very friendly but it was not worth the price paid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotlandsgreyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We were recommended the Craigellachie Hotel after being disappointed to find that our room had been given away at a local B&B. We opted for a double room, which had a large bathroom (excellent bath and toiletries), a comfortable (not huge) double and a good supply of tea and coffee (we particularly appreciated the 'proper' filter coffee and squares of tablet). The room was decorated in a warm, Scottish style. The breakfast was good and Scottish too - good fish options!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights and wished it could've been longer, everything in our room was lovely, gorgeous bathroom also, with lovely quality towels, bathrobe and toiletries. The only thing that niggled a little bit was lack of welcome pack in room, no fire safety instructions!!
The food was lovely, although not a lot of choice. The hotel is a beautiful building set in fantastic surroundings, will definately return.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road side as we found the traffic very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flo789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel did not meet our expectations. The room was small although clean. We were provided with a kettle but given filter coffee and no way of using it. There was no TV in hotel, wifi did not work and phone signal almost non existent. Not much use when on a business trip.

Breakfast was good and staff pleasant, but feel that we would have had a better night at a much cheaper hotel e.g. Travelodge or Premier Inn

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EaT2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We loved this hotel. What a surprise to find something cool in the middle of the country. We had a double room on the ground floor. It was very minimal in decor but everything was high quality and felt modern yet appropriate for the country. The room was much larger than I expected and bathroom was huge. The study and the library were great places to relax. These rooms were cosy with fantastic couches and coffee table books to read. It was almost like hanging out at someone's private country house. We ate and drank at the Copper Dog both nights. The food and service were top notch. I loved the ambiance of the Copper Dog, the old wood floors and exposed brick. It was a nice change from the sea of plaid carpet that was in most restaurants. The Speyside Way is just steps from the hotel and was perfect for my morning jogs. The staff at the hotel and the restaurant were young, very friendly and gave superb service. I am so happy we found this place. It was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz_S777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

An extremely enjoyable evening was had by all. A pleasant, welcoming atmosphere and unique decor in The Copper Dog. Good food, drink and attentive but not imposing staff. We will certainly return. A special mention to Kieran, Restaurant & Bar Manager, who looked after us so well, it was much appreciated.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JoBo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craigellachie
2.2 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
211 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
147 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
17.3 mi away
The Cluny Bank Hotel
The Cluny Bank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Forres
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highlander Inn
Highlander Inn
#1 of 5 in Craigellachie
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigellachie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigellachie Hotel

Property: Craigellachie Hotel
Address: Craigellachie Hotel Victoria Street, Craigellachie AB38 9SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Craigellachie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigellachie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigellachie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heartland of the malt whiskey industry, the idyll enjoyed of the Craigellachie Hotel is almost unrivalled anywhere in Scotland. Combining the style and elegance of a bygone era with the most modern of hotel facilities, guests can enjoy marvellous accommodation in any of the 26 en-suite rooms. Choose one of the Master Rooms or Mini-Suites which overlook the River Spey and the famous Craigellachie Bridge built in 1814. Dining experiences will only but delight, with the Ben Aigen Restaurant offering a range of traditional dishes. After a meal, relax in the Quaich Bar and select one of the 700 single malt whiskies that adorn its walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Craigellachie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigellachie Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing