We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent scottish experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highlander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highlander Inn
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“excellent scottish experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had the good fortune to stay at this beautiful b&b at the tail end of our 3 week vacation. We were tired and a tad cranky when we arrived, but it all turned around upon meeting our hosts. They were exceptionally welcoming and the accommodations were fantastic! Easy access to sites/pubs/and CLEAN! We were treated like family (better actually) and invited to socialize and listen to the enthusiastic bagpipe skills of the owner. I cannot express how genuinely nice the whole experience was. I will forever remember this wonderful b&b as being one of the highlights of my Scottish vacation; and whoever says anything other than wonderful things about their experience here, are just plain wrong.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    80
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
75
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Highlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here 1 night whilst walking the Speyside Way. We were given a warm welcome by helpful and polite staff. Rooms comfortable and cosy, everything worked, great en-suite shower. Evening meal was very good as was breakfast the following morning. Whisky Bar is amazing. Happy to recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you are ever in Graigellachie please give the Highlander Inn your custom. The food is great and the staff MAYU ROWAN CLAIRE are some of the nicest young girls you hope to serve you. There is also accommodation of two houses and rooms at the hotel give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here whilst walking the Speyside way. Our room was large with a good ensuite and a good tv. All staff were helpful and polite. Evening meal was good . breakfast good and we got jam butties included in the price for our packed lunch. We enjoyed our stay here and felt comfortable and warm

Room Tip: room at front with extra sofa bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gimamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

A group of us, all men, walking the Speyside Way, stayed here. 5 of us were put into room 6 adjacent to the hotel. This seemed to be a family unit. It only had one bathroom/toilet with a sloping roof so normal sized people had to contort themselves therein! The others in the group were in the main hotel which was fine - single en suite rooms.
The staff were brilliant, the food was excellent and the owner and son were whisky someliers par excellence. Do try Glenfarclas 15 year old if you fancy a tot.
Curious the blindness to customer needs ......

Room Tip: Ask NOT to be housed in the out houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rieverrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed one night while walking the Speyside Way.

A potentially enjoyable stay in a decent hotel with comfortable rooms, good food and a great selection of whiskies, but unfortunately coloured by something of an attitude problem when it came to customer service.

Had booked and paid for the night following a gruelling 26-mile section of the Speyside Way; rang up halfway through our walk, to check their restaurant times and that we would be able to refuel properly on arrival; was told that no problem - so long as we got there by 9PM the restaurant would be open.

In the event we arrived at 8PM, only to be told that sorry, they had no tables free, there was already a wait for any that became free before nine, and that we’d have to eat somewhere else. Explained politely but firmly that we were extremely tired, sore and hungry and had been told quite clearly that they would be able to accommodate us so long as we got there by nine. Further pointed out that we were not expecting to ‘jump the queue’ past any restaurant guests (whether residents or not) who had already arrived, were quite prepared to wait as long as needed in order to eat properly and, when the young lady in question continued to try to insist that this was out of the question, requested politely that she ask the chef.

Went to our rooms while she did so, and shortly afterwards a different young waitress knocked on our doors to try again to tell us – however politely – that too bad, there was no restaurant table at The Highlander Inn for us tonight. Just as one of us finally ‘lost it’ and started to tell her in no uncertain terms what we thought of this, an older lady employee appeared and started to berate her over the fact that as hotel guests we HAD to be accommodated for a meal regardless of how busy the restaurant was, and ordered her to bring menus to our rooms. Hurray – perhaps customer service lives at The Highlander Inn after all?

Lovely evening meal, in the end. Some of our chosen items were off, but fair enough, it was late and they were busy. After a considerable wait, had to ask if we could have dessert – a request which prompted the same ‘I’m afraid we stop taking orders at.... ‘ attitude from the same young lady and to which we responded with as much persuasion and humour as we could muster at the end of a very long and exhausting day, eventually managing to solicit some cheese & biscuits. Fair enough, by this time it was 10PM, but in our situation would a hospitality-minded establishment not have taken the trouble to find out in advance how many courses we wanted and tried to accommodate us?

To summarise: good accommodation, fair prices, good food, enviable selection of whiskies, and polite service. We just did not appreciate having to beg to get the last of these.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickenbacker_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this b & b for three nights at the beginning of April. It was an excellent location for all the Speyside distilleries however, I think there could be some better little 'touches' considering the amount of money that we spent there on our three day stay.

It would have been nice to have less frozen chips with evening meals or cheap bread for our toast in the morning, little changes like more fresh products would have made a difference. The soup of the day was also the same on two of the evenings, which doesn't instil confidence in the kitchen. Most of the meals we ate there (all 3 nights) were ok, the haggis being excellent, however, the fish and (frozen) chips were very mediocre and lacklustre, especially given the fact that the cost was not so inexpensive!

All the waiting staff and bar people were very friendly and this is a real asset to this establishment.

The b & b is good for the whiskey bar and location, however, the room could have been slightly cleaner (there was mud on the wall and radiator). It would have also been nice if the sink had drained correctly.

Don't get me wrong, the b & b is not terrible by any means, we enjoyed our stay, however, if the owner made a couple of changes, the experience would be a lot better for a small cost to the stakeholders.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank vicmuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craigellachie
0.1 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
11.5 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
6.4 mi away
Cardhu Country House
Cardhu Country House
#1 of 8 in Aberlour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Inn

Property: Highlander Inn
Address: 10 Victoria Street, Craigellachie AB38 9SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Craigellachie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Craigellachie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Inn Hotel is in the centre of the village of Craigellachie, the heart of Scotland's Malt Whisky Trail. With 5 en-suite bedrooms in the main building and 2 additional houses 35 metres away, each with 3 rooms that share a lounge and bathroom, bar, "club room", outdoor patio, lounge, a la carte restaurant (tremendous food in both the bar and the restaurant), and private, off-street parking, it truly is a great little place to stay when visiting this wonderful part of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Highlander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Craigellachie
Highlander Inn Craigellachie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing