We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highlander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highlander Inn
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always a Pleasure”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just back from our 1st visit this year to The Highlander - and already looking forward to the next later this month. Staff of The Highlander couldn't be more friendly or efficient. The food is always of a reliably high standard. The rooms are clean and comfortable. And where else might guests be told that, since our bill wasn't ready as we were leaving, that we can just pay next time we're there? Highly recommended - but "book early to avoid disappointment" - accommodation is limited and whisky tourists love The Highlander!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllaE2834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    80
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
75
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

You will not believe what you see, when you get down to the Inn. A huge collection of Whiskies, nice waiters and everything you can wish for in a scottish Pub. Good Food, great beer and unbelievabel Whiskies. A real gem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Duncan and his staff were very welcoming. We found the HIghlander Inn just as described. It was clean and comfortable. We had two rooms for two nights. We did make reservations for dinner upon our arrival as the restaurant does fill up quickly and our table was ready as requested. The food was Great! It was so good we ate there the second night as well. Also the breakfast each morning was cooked as requested - very good start to the day. Great atmosphere and great location. Take time to relax for a bit. Take a walk along the river - the trail is right at the back of the hotel. Also spend some time in the bar - Duncan has an amazing collection of Whisky. The only reason I gave this a 4 rather than a 5 was because there is no way to reserve a room online. I understand that they want to keep it more personal and I like that but for people that live far away (several time zones) it is difficult to call to make a reservation. We had a great time there and would go there again if we could. Thank you Duncan and staff for a great time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanOly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here end of may with a friends group all mad about whisky,staff was very helpful and friendly and the range in the bar is great.
Breakfast was great and got you kickstarted for distillery visits.
The boys from Belgium will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingforbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had the good fortune to stay at this beautiful b&b at the tail end of our 3 week vacation. We were tired and a tad cranky when we arrived, but it all turned around upon meeting our hosts. They were exceptionally welcoming and the accommodations were fantastic! Easy access to sites/pubs/and CLEAN! We were treated like family (better actually) and invited to socialize and listen to the enthusiastic bagpipe skills of the owner. I cannot express how genuinely nice the whole experience was. I will forever remember this wonderful b&b as being one of the highlights of my Scottish vacation; and whoever says anything other than wonderful things about their experience here, are just plain wrong.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here 1 night whilst walking the Speyside Way. We were given a warm welcome by helpful and polite staff. Rooms comfortable and cosy, everything worked, great en-suite shower. Evening meal was very good as was breakfast the following morning. Whisky Bar is amazing. Happy to recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If you are ever in Graigellachie please give the Highlander Inn your custom. The food is great and the staff MAYU ROWAN CLAIRE are some of the nicest young girls you hope to serve you. There is also accommodation of two houses and rooms at the hotel give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craigellachie
0.1 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
542 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
211 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
53 reviews
11.5 mi away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
6.4 mi away
Cardhu Country House
Cardhu Country House
#1 of 8 in Aberlour
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Inn

Property: Highlander Inn
Address: 10 Victoria Street, Craigellachie AB38 9SR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Craigellachie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Craigellachie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Highlander Inn Hotel is in the centre of the village of Craigellachie, the heart of Scotland's Malt Whisky Trail. With 5 en-suite bedrooms in the main building and 2 additional houses 35 metres away, each with 3 rooms that share a lounge and bathroom, bar, "club room", outdoor patio, lounge, a la carte restaurant (tremendous food in both the bar and the restaurant), and private, off-street parking, it truly is a great little place to stay when visiting this wonderful part of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Highlander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlander Hotel Craigellachie
Highlander Inn Craigellachie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing