We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough good things”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ratagan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grants at Craigellachie
Ranked #1 of 2 Ratagan B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things”
Reviewed 30 July 2007

I am reluctant to give away the secret of Grant's, as I would like to keep this gem for myself. But as others have said - go there!

From a warm welcome on arrival to a beautiful card thanking me for staying there, everything was ideal. The rooms are lovely, with swell amenities that made it special, such as Fairtrade coffee and tea and proper glasses from which to drink my Highland Spring water.

The setting is lovely, and the peace and quiet add much to the charm of the place. When the tide is out (Loch Duich is a marine loch) you can walk along the pebble beach and consier the Five Sisters of Kintail or look west towards Skye. In the mornings you can watch the creel fisherman, knowing that Tony will likely have something from those creels on the dinner menu that night.

The food was exquisite. Porridge-dislikers will change their minds after a bowl of Tony's best, with local honey and local fruit, depending on what's in season. Breakfast bread rolls - mmmm.

Peace and quiet, a beautiful location, and the option to drive to Glenelg for the wee ferry to Skye made my stay there more than I'd imagined it would be. I cannot wait to return!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2007

We stayed at Grants this year on 29th and 30th June. The double room was a little small but with the addition of all the luxuries one usually expects in a 4 star hotel the stay was wonderful.
The dining room is cool and contemporary, the food exceptional. Breakfast was a masterpiece and dinner was an marvellous experience to be savoured. The whole hotel was a reflection of the owners Tony and Liz taylor, attention to detail, spotlessly clean, and a warm ambience. They deserve success after success and it will remain on our visit again list. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Noreen and Tony Watson, Tongue, Sutherland

  • Liked — Excellent standard of food and cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noreen_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2007

Our two-day stay at Grants was simply the highlight of our trip around the Western highlands and we wished we had stayed longer. The little hotel is beautifully situated in a quiet hamlet right next to the loch, surrounded by some of the most picturesque scenery in Britain. It is also well situated for day trips to many sights in the area, including those on Skye and is right in the middle of the Kintail region which is a hillwalkers' paradise.

It did not matter that the room was a little small because the attention to detail far surpassed many 5-star hotels. The breakfasts included in the price were outstanding - it felt like a 5 course meal itself. The dinner in the restaurant was simply the best food we have eaten for a long time in Britain - generous helpings of original, delicious courses cooked to perfection. Even the packed lunch prepared for us for a day in the hills was home cooked and quite delicious (local smoked salmon in home baked rolls being the highlight) but cheaper than buying sarnies from a garage.

To make the stay even more memorable, the standard of service offered by the owners was flawless- extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The owner even went out of his way to give us a lift to the start of a long hill walk so we did not have to wait for the bus.

The owners Tony and Liz clearly take great pride in ensuring all their guests enjoy a perfect stay in a delightful little B&B with a restaurant that serves outstanding cuisine.

  • Liked — Situation,service and cuisine
  • Disliked — Size of room
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_and_Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2007

Pulling up to the small house situated in front of a picturesque loch, the small house hides a lot. The rooms are fully kitted out, and immaculately clean. The food, however, is exceptional. I would think it is the main draw to this fantastic retreat; a truly special place.

  • Liked — The exquisite food
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RogeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2007

This place was one of the highlights of my 3 weeks and 10 lodgings in Scotland. The quality of everything, from the linens to Tony's AMAZING food was absolutely the highest. I can't say enough.

I didn't get the oportunity to have dinner, but the breakfasts that Tony cooked especially for me just from talking about food with him a bit were heavenly. If you can have dinner, please do, Tony's fisherman delivers live catch to him daily and it looked beautiful.

Other small things... I missed my pets and playing with Morgan and Maddie was really nice. The best TV I got the whole trip (more than 5 channels!)

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank datagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2006

We stayed in a very nice room in this great little B&B. Surrounded by beautiful mountain and loch scenery its a great escape. The service was very friendly. The highlight was the food, both our dinner and the breakfast were simply stunning with every course dominated by superb, fresh, local ingredients expertly prepared. Scottish cuisine at its very best.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank mikewynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2006

Outstanding Scottish cuisine served in a cosy conservatory restaurant using the best local produce to create fantastic dishes, complimented by an extensive wine list. Both dinner and breakfast were superb. Rooms furnished to a high standard with a blend of traditional and contemporary styles offering spectacular views over Loch Duich. The attention to detail throughout is clear with excellent service and hospitality from the husband (chef) and wife team. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Liked — The food!
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay more than 1 night!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mac100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ratagan
10.9 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
7.9 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
10.8 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ratagan Youth Hostel
Ratagan Youth Hostel
#1 of 1 in Ratagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grants at Craigellachie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grants at Craigellachie

Property: Grants at Craigellachie
Address: Craigellachie Craigellachie, Ratagan IV40 8HP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ratagan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ratagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Grants At Craigellachie Ratagan, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing