We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, peaceful place - closest thing to Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas Coloso Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, North Carolina
1 review
“Beautiful, peaceful place - closest thing to Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

This was my second trip staying at Coloso del Mar. I took my partner along this trip. This place has it all - sunshine, blue skies, cooling breezes from the ocean and delicious food at the only screened enclosed restaurant on the strip - Coloso del Mar. John Charles - the owner - could not have made us feel more comfortable.. He puts his customers first - nice touch. We will return - see you again John Charles.

Elaine and Dick

Room Tip: Cabina 1 & 2 have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naniehillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
31
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Wow, how great is this place. Simple, laid-back, right on the beach, relax and surf, then go to the restaurant for some great food. Perfect! Would we go there again? We've already booked our trip for next year, plus we are bringing more people with us. Juan Carlos and his staff are just incredible. Food, fun, and even the occasional fireworks! Good times. Can't wait to get back. Hopefully they will still be serving the passion fruit dessert!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddybobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Our second time at Coloso Del Mar confirmed this place is perfect. It is simple and relaxed with access to everything you need. Everyone who works there is so nice and friendly. Juan Carlos is also a wonderful host. My husband and I ate at the restaurant breakfast and dinner, practically the entire time of our stay. I can't wait to go back and take other friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emerald7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

When arriving at Coloso del Mar after a slightly rough 8 hours drive from San Jose, my boyfriend and I sat at the bar, ordered the first beer, and knew right away that our stay in Zancudo would be different from what we experienced before in Costa Rica. In fact, the time spent at Coloso meant, flirting with wild life, eating like we were in a fancy european restaurant, fun conversations with John-Charles and all the staff, looking at experienced surfers enjoy the perfect conditions and wait for the sunset with almost no other lucky tourists...
Simply our top spot. Costa Rica at it's very very best. Quiet, green and wild.
Thanks to all Coloso's team, we sure will be back!
Marie & Fred

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marielnleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

My husband and I were looking for an "end of the world" getaway that did not include an overabundance of tourists or commericalized resorts.....Coloso exceeded our expectations. Although the journey to Zancudo can be quite overhwhelming, it is well worth the trip. We spent our days visiting with locals of all sorts, laying in hammocks, catching up on reading and playing in the waves. The Coloso staff were a tremendous help in all of our planning, including activities to do while in Zancudo. This is a laid back kind of place where you remember what it's like to slow down and just relax. We don't have a bad thing to say about any part of our trip. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu at Coloso, nor can you beat the beauty out your front door. All in all, the perfect getaway. We plan on visiting again very soon....and who knows, maybe someday we'll be locals, too!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

The food, service, location, locals... wonderful! We've been here twice now and look out John Charles we're coming back! The whole area is relaxed, happy and as much fun as you want. New Year's Eve yeaa!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notosnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

My husband and I stayed 10 days at Coloso del Mar and it was wonderful! We spent lazy days in the palapa hammocks, swam in the warm Gulfo Dulce waters and walked on the pristine beach. Our host and the staff at Coloso were accommodating, funny, great cooks, bartenders and translators. It was a fabulous time and we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs5s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Zancudo
0.5 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#4 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#8 of 12 in Golfito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel y Restaurant Samoa del Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
12.1 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
4.4 mi away
Hostal del Mar
Hostal del Mar
#2 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Coloso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Coloso Del Mar

Property: Cabinas Coloso Del Mar
Address: Playa Zancudo, Playa Zancudo 8201, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Zancudo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Zancudo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabinas Coloso Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the wanted and the unwanted! Or so goes a popular saying in these parts. Zancudo sometimes has the feeling of being at the end of the earth, Central Americas version of the South Seas. Hot, sultry and resplendent. I don't think there are any other colours of green possible. COLOSO DEL MAR sits in the midst of a tropical garden directly on one of the most outstanding black sand beachs in the world. We are located about forty minutes by boat from Golfito and fifty minutes by air from San Jose. We are a little more than one hour north of the border with Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cabinas Coloso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing