We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun times”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabinas Coloso Del Mar
Reviewed 25 May 2012

damn this place is rad! can i go back now? i really do wish i was sitting in their hammock over looking the ocean. but good news, we are going back! can't wait. the food, service and location are just awesome. what a value also! juan bobo and the eds, you rock!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddybobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

My wife and I stayed in an ocean view cabina from March 22 till April 2nd. The second week we were joined by friends and we had a BLAST. The sun,beach, ocean and the food is out of this world. We did inshore fishing, went on a river cruse, walked the beach and saw beautiful sun sets.The staff is the best. The food is like no other. I can't say enoughtabout the Coloso. To Juan Carlos and the boys thanks. You made our stay very,very enjoyable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Annie,AJ,Rock and Tracy :)

Room Tip: The ocean view cabinas are GREAT, but all the cabinas are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDUPSTATENY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This was our 2nd or 3rd time here and we had more fun than last year. Service was great. Room was clean. Food was great. Zancudo is a little off the beaten path but well worth the effort to get there. You are right on the water!!!!!!!!!! If you just want to sit back and relax for a week this is the place. John-Charles will take care of all the details for boat taxi and knows the area well. Staff was helpful , friendly, and honest. We feel safe both day and night in Zancudo .
Charlie McConologue

Room Tip: They are all good. We stayed in the unit right on beach and the noise from the waves at night might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

For the past 8 years we have gone to Zancudo,C.R. for our winter vacation. Never had a bad time. This past year we stayed at Coloso Del Mar. It is small and that is what makes it run so well. The place was spotless. We had had meals at Coloso Del Mar in past years and injoyed the faire. This year it was as good as in past years. That to me is the sign of a good thing. They are right on the water!!!!!!!!!! The rooms are simple , clean and prices are low. Zancudo is off the beaten path and if you just want to get away from everything it is a great place to go. John-Charles is there when you need him as are all of the staff.. There is WiFi but no TV in the rooms. You don't come to Zancudo to watch TV. You come to recharge you batteries.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We have been here before and it is wounderful. Relaxing, fun and warm. The service that the staff provides is top shelf...............and they're fun. The food is outstanding. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDUPSTATENY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

This was my second trip staying at Coloso del Mar. I took my partner along this trip. This place has it all - sunshine, blue skies, cooling breezes from the ocean and delicious food at the only screened enclosed restaurant on the strip - Coloso del Mar. John Charles - the owner - could not have made us feel more comfortable.. He puts his customers first - nice touch. We will return - see you again John Charles.

Elaine and Dick

Room Tip: Cabina 1 & 2 have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naniehillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Wow, how great is this place. Simple, laid-back, right on the beach, relax and surf, then go to the restaurant for some great food. Perfect! Would we go there again? We've already booked our trip for next year, plus we are bringing more people with us. Juan Carlos and his staff are just incredible. Food, fun, and even the occasional fireworks! Good times. Can't wait to get back. Hopefully they will still be serving the passion fruit dessert!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddybobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Zancudo
0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
354 reviews
0 mi away
La Purruja Lodge
La Purruja Lodge
#9 of 12 in Golfito
29 reviews
0 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Centro Turistico Neily
0 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Golfito
147 reviews
0 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Resort
La Chosa del Manglar Nature Reso...
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Coloso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Coloso Del Mar

Address: | 100 meters North of Soda Tranquilo, Playa Zancudo 8201, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Zancudo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Zancudo
Price Range: £26 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabinas Coloso Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the wanted and the unwanted! Or so goes a popular saying in these parts. Zancudo sometimes has the feeling of being at the end of the earth, Central Americas version of the South Seas. Hot, sultry and resplendent. I don't think there are any other colours of green possible. COLOSO DEL MAR sits in the midst of a tropical garden directly on one of the most outstanding black sand beachs in the world. We are located about forty minutes by boat from Golfito and fifty minutes by air from San Jose. We are a little more than one hour north of the border with Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Cabinas Coloso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing