We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise by the Sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cabinas Coloso Del Mar
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Wonderful vacation at Coloso again this year. This was our fifth time visiting. We walked the beach every day, took a river cruise, fished and just relaxed. Spent many lazy afternoons in the hammock. The weather was phenomenal! Accomondations were very comfortable and the food wonderful. It was nice to have a restaurant on the property and not have to go out if you didn't want to. Had some friends join us for a week and they were thrilled with their stay as well. The staff goes out of there way to make you welcome. Best place to stay on the beach!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieeeNewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

If you go to Zancudo in Costa Rica this is easily the best place to stay. Nice cabinas with all the facilities and the best restaurant/bar on the beach. Plus there is really good waves to surf right out the front door. Or Pavones is not far up the road, only Zancudo is much nicer than Pavones.

Room Tip: There are only a few to choose from so you wont go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Simply the most relaxing place I have ever been! We stayed on a beachfront cabins with views of the ocean. I lazed hours away in the hammock. Strolled to the beach for a surf. The quality of the food in the restaurant was great. The manager happily organized tours and activities for us. I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

damn this place is rad! can i go back now? i really do wish i was sitting in their hammock over looking the ocean. but good news, we are going back! can't wait. the food, service and location are just awesome. what a value also! juan bobo and the eds, you rock!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddybobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My wife and I stayed in an ocean view cabina from March 22 till April 2nd. The second week we were joined by friends and we had a BLAST. The sun,beach, ocean and the food is out of this world. We did inshore fishing, went on a river cruse, walked the beach and saw beautiful sun sets.The staff is the best. The food is like no other. I can't say enoughtabout the Coloso. To Juan Carlos and the boys thanks. You made our stay very,very enjoyable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Annie,AJ,Rock and Tracy :)

Room Tip: The ocean view cabinas are GREAT, but all the cabinas are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDUPSTATENY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This was our 2nd or 3rd time here and we had more fun than last year. Service was great. Room was clean. Food was great. Zancudo is a little off the beaten path but well worth the effort to get there. You are right on the water!!!!!!!!!! If you just want to sit back and relax for a week this is the place. John-Charles will take care of all the details for boat taxi and knows the area well. Staff was helpful , friendly, and honest. We feel safe both day and night in Zancudo .
Charlie McConologue

Room Tip: They are all good. We stayed in the unit right on beach and the noise from the waves at night might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

For the past 8 years we have gone to Zancudo,C.R. for our winter vacation. Never had a bad time. This past year we stayed at Coloso Del Mar. It is small and that is what makes it run so well. The place was spotless. We had had meals at Coloso Del Mar in past years and injoyed the faire. This year it was as good as in past years. That to me is the sign of a good thing. They are right on the water!!!!!!!!!! The rooms are simple , clean and prices are low. Zancudo is off the beaten path and if you just want to get away from everything it is a great place to go. John-Charles is there when you need him as are all of the staff.. There is WiFi but no TV in the rooms. You don't come to Zancudo to watch TV. You come to recharge you batteries.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Zancudo
0.5 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Golfito
135 reviews
10.6 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
73 reviews
10.8 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
341 reviews
11.5 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
545 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Coloso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Coloso Del Mar

Address: | 100 meters North of Soda Tranquilo, Playa Zancudo 8201, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Zancudo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Zancudo
Price Range: £20 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabinas Coloso Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the wanted and the unwanted! Or so goes a popular saying in these parts. Zancudo sometimes has the feeling of being at the end of the earth, Central Americas version of the South Seas. Hot, sultry and resplendent. I don't think there are any other colours of green possible. COLOSO DEL MAR sits in the midst of a tropical garden directly on one of the most outstanding black sand beachs in the world. We are located about forty minutes by boat from Golfito and fifty minutes by air from San Jose. We are a little more than one hour north of the border with Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cabinas Coloso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing