We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cabinas Coloso Del Mar
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

For a real quiet time, go to this beach. Nice cabins (two with direct oceanview) with coffeemaker and fresh ground coffee. Hammocks.
Basically, there is almost nothing to do, certainly in these quiet times, because there are less tourists.
If you are driving there, it is best to take the dirt road coming from the Panama border (also cheap gas at the border too 400 instead of 640 C/ltr), as the road from El Bambei is really bad.

Room Tip: Wifi does not work well in cabins that are nearest to the sea. Also due to bandwidth, at night bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xonoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
31
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We loved this place-it will always be a special retreat in our memories. The cabinas are simple, clean, insect free (as much as you can be in CR). Every room has a coffee maker, and the only thing we would have wanted was a mini fridge in the rooms--apparently they rust and weather so easily there, being so close to the ocean that its impossible to keep them in the rooms.

John Charles owns the place and is a young, helpful guy who holds the highest standards of food in his restaurant, cleanliness on his property and making your stay whatever you'd like it to be. His helpers, Edwin, Eduardo, Marta and Nina are all such pleasant people and truly make the place feel like home.

We often have reminisced about our time there hanging out on the hammocks, playing cards and drinking coffee on our porch, swimming in the ocean 100 meters away and feeling like the place is ours! We hope to be back some day soon and can see going to Coloso Del
Mar for many getaways to come.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcpickle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I can't say enough great things about this little piece of paradise! We stayed in the house on the beach and enjoyed our beautiful accomadations. The house was equiped with anything we needed, including but not limited to the gorgeous view, the lazy times spent reading in the hammocks and the long and peaceful walks on the beach in the early morings. The staff were more than attentive, hilarious, friendly and provided us with amazing meals! We were there over the holidays and were able to enjoy some festive touches both in our rental home and at the restaurant. This was particularly noticed by myself since this was the first vacation I have taken over Christmas and away from family. It truly provided me with a little piece of home. I would highly recommend this place and hope to stay here again one day!! Thank you John Charles....you outdid yourself!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traemery1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Coloso is always our first stop after that first night in San Jose. We've got to get our beach fix! We love staying/sleeping so close to the ocean, the sound of the waves lulling you to sleep. The cabinas are simple and comfortable, with many an evening spent sitting on the porch just relaxing. The beach is a beautiful dark hot sand, and you can walk for miles and only see a few people. Surfing right out front, gorgeous sunsets over the Osa, bikes, boggie boards, tours and massages, make for a wonderful laid back vacation spot.The restaurant and bar have incredible food, and the staff Eduardo and Edwin treat you like family. Tres Amigos Mini Super across the road makes for easy ice runs. John Charles, we're coming back!

and the rest of the staff are incredible. You are treated like family!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriLRio_Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedras Blancas, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I stayed here with 3 girlfriends in March 2012 and it was beyond my expectations. This is the perfect, beachfront/surfront place to relax, unwind, and enjoy Playa Zancudo. The staff was very attentive and fun, the on-site restaurant serves amazing food, and the whole place has a 'down-home' vibe that is so laid-back and relaxed. I love how there are bikes and surfboards to use right on site - it makes planning easy. I will go back!

Room Tip: One of the two cabinas in the front is great, close to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treehousegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Wonderful vacation at Coloso again this year. This was our fifth time visiting. We walked the beach every day, took a river cruise, fished and just relaxed. Spent many lazy afternoons in the hammock. The weather was phenomenal! Accomondations were very comfortable and the food wonderful. It was nice to have a restaurant on the property and not have to go out if you didn't want to. Had some friends join us for a week and they were thrilled with their stay as well. The staff goes out of there way to make you welcome. Best place to stay on the beach!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieeeNewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue Hill, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

If you go to Zancudo in Costa Rica this is easily the best place to stay. Nice cabinas with all the facilities and the best restaurant/bar on the beach. Plus there is really good waves to surf right out the front door. Or Pavones is not far up the road, only Zancudo is much nicer than Pavones.

Room Tip: There are only a few to choose from so you wont go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Zancudo
0.5 mi away
The Zancudo Lodge
The Zancudo Lodge
#3 of 11 in Golfito
132 reviews
10.8 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
538 reviews
10.6 mi away
La Chosa del Manglar
La Chosa del Manglar
#7 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
114 reviews
12.1 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
10.0 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Coloso Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Coloso Del Mar

Property: Cabinas Coloso Del Mar
Address: | 100 meters North of Soda Tranquilo, Playa Zancudo 8201, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Playa Zancudo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Zancudo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabinas Coloso Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home of the wanted and the unwanted! Or so goes a popular saying in these parts. Zancudo sometimes has the feeling of being at the end of the earth, Central Americas version of the South Seas. Hot, sultry and resplendent. I don't think there are any other colours of green possible. COLOSO DEL MAR sits in the midst of a tropical garden directly on one of the most outstanding black sand beachs in the world. We are located about forty minutes by boat from Golfito and fifty minutes by air from San Jose. We are a little more than one hour north of the border with Panama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Cabinas Coloso Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing