We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melaque
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Puesta del Sol
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Melaque
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed at this charming hotel for 3 nights following the Easter holidays. The room was very nice, the beds comfortable, the ocean view and hotel location was superb. The entire property was immaculate and well-maintained. I was especially impressed that Lupita (management) went the extra mile to make sure she could accomodate a special need I had. I will definitely choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: See the room before selecting. There are many options and you'll want the best one for your part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were in Melaque last Thursday and Friday looking for a hotel with air conditioning. This hotel looks quite nice; however, their service use some improvement. I asked for rooms with A/C and when I finally checked in, in the evening, it turned out that one of the rooms didn't have t.v. or a/c.It was late and they had no more rooms. When your check in, the morning receptionist is quite slow. She tookher sweet time to write up the receipt and because she miscalculated the total, she had to cancel it start a new receipt.After our first night, they entered our room and made our beds and tidied up. We were not given clean towels and there was sand on our beds. Check out was a drag...again, the receptionist took her sweet time... I gave her the key and the remote for the room and she wouldn't let us leave until they finished inspecting the room. She then told me that theyhad a strict rule that theydidn't allow temorary tattoos and they charged me dor one of the sheets that had spots becuse they saw myson had a henna tattoo on his arm...so much hassle to try to enjoy a stay at the beach...the rooms were nice, but the service sucked. I'v stayed at least expensive hotels there before and had a nice stay. Also, make sure you have cash as they don't accept cards.

Room Tip: Make sure they explain all their rules so there are no surprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jesenia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We've stayed at the Puesta 3 times now. The service is very good, the staff are friendly and each time we've been back there have been improvements to the property. This time they've added security cameras and more staff. The only thing I'd like to see is softer beds in ALL the rooms. Our beds were a little on the hard side this time. That being said, the cleanliness of the public areas and the pool can't be beat. We'll stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors have great views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alyne99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This place has a great location on the beach, steps from the bus station and just a few blocks from the town plaza. Both private and public areas are kept clean. Front desk staff were friendly and spoke English. We had a beach-front room for only $40/night. The only complaint we had was a newly installed security light on the beach bled light into our room. When we complained, the manager sent someone to tape black plastic over the little port-hole style windows closest to the light.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Cannot beat the loation, right on the main drag in Melaque across from the bus terminal. All rooms face or have view of the bay and the sound of the surf is very relaxing. If you're from BC you wil have lots of company:evidenced by the Canuck fans cheering at Rooster's Restaurant, across the street and north a block,
The drawbacks are the rock hard mattresses and cushions around the pool. The frnt staff, as had been mentioned before, is very anal...do not get the white towels dirty, lose a spoon, you will lose some or all of the 300 peso deposit. We had gone away for 2 days and when we returned, and met the same person who originally registered us, we had to show i d (??)
We liked the fact that there was a water coler outsise the room so we never were out of fresh water, an omgoing concern for most travelers here in M X.
Staff is slow to clean the rooms (small 2 burner stove in kitchenette on the small balcony), 2 doudle beds and a washroom...lots of hot water and reasonably good internet conection. But they will not give you the password as you have to take your device to the fro t for them to secretly enter it...welcome to anal city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mogulmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night but we were impressed enough to look towards a return stay next year for longer. Great service from a young staff. Morning coffee and service with a smile. We had trouble with our slider door and the air conditioning thermostat. Review and resolving of our questions happened very quickly. Hard working staff keeps the place up, decks with tables for evening drinks, big table at main courtyard for scrabble or meals together. Covered areas for shade. This place reminds me of an old hotel in Laguna Beach, CA. Nothing fancy but clean, great views of pelicans diving for fish and a small kitchenette and sink outside on the deck.
Pool and a few steps to the beach. Loved it!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We just returned from 3 weeks in Mexico, 2 of which were at the Puesta del Sol. This is my second visit to this hotel and it just gets better. Good news for those of you who think the beds in Mexico can hard and uncomfortably, they have put in pillow top mattresses at PDS. I've read all of the other reviews and I will say that the reason for the deposit is that the Mexicna families (I have been told this by others) tend to take dishes home with them We were there in January, last 2 weeks and it was not crowded. The Mexican families tend to come on the weekends but we love them. It is the reason we go here because it is not filled with CAnadians and Americans although we meant some some great new friends ( all Canandians) and all are planning on returning in 2014 same time, same place. There was some iisue with the WiFi but one of the guests had it up and running within the afternoon. I think that the value of the rooms are great, they cleaned everyday and changed the sheets almost daily. Loved waking up every morning to beach scene and watching the pelicans and fishermen catching their morning meal. We stayed in Barra and at the Hotel Melaque and this is by far the best place in town.My problem is that I don't want everyone to know how great this town is because we want it to stay the lovely small town atmosphere

Room Tip: It you can do the 54 steps to the 4th floor (2 trips up and down everyday=1 cervesa) the view is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gardener86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melaque
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Temazcal Hacienda de Melaque
2.1 mi away
Hotel La Alondra
Hotel La Alondra
#7 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
53 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Barra de Navidad
Hotel Barra de Navidad
#2 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Club Nautico El Dorado
Club Nautico El Dorado
#382 of 623 in Pacific Coast
19 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Coco Mango
Hotel Villas Coco Mango
#4 of 12 in Barra de Navidad
3 reviews
134.1 mi away
Posada Pablo De Tarso
Posada Pablo De Tarso
#2 of 8 in Melaque
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puesta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puesta del Sol

Address: 31 Gomez Farias Avenue, Melaque, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Melaque
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Melaque
Number of rooms: 36

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing