We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but Noisy”

The Riding Fool Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Riding Fool Hostel
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming but Noisy”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This heritage building is in downtown Cumberland. The two hotels in town are nearby and play loud live music until late on Saturday nights. The common area is right next to the sleeping area so if your fellow hostel visitors like to stay up late and socialize and you are a light sleeper then you're out of luck. I didn't see any Quiet Hours posted.

Bathrooms were clean, each one having basin, toilet and combo bath/shower. The kitchen is large and good.

You need to arrive before 10pm when the front door is locked.

Room Tip: Private rooms are next to common area and are noisy. Take good ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
14
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed in the riding fool in off season, at the end of September 2011 for 4 nights. we turned out to be the only ones there, but that didn't make too much difference as the staff were lovely, the couple who own the shop downstairs great to chat to and the place itself comfortable and cosy. The bike trails from Cumberland are good for moderate to advanced mountain bikers (like most of BC!). It was raining almost the whole time we were there, but still found plenty to do, checking out the local museum even was an unexpected treasure. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borntotramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I was looking for a place to sit and chill for a while, and I found it in the Riding Fool Hostel in Cumberland. Great kitchen and common area, comfy beds, and nice folks. What more could you ask for? Oh, there's the nearby mountain biking trails, rivers, lakes, not to mention the big mountain just a short distance away. And while the town of Cumberland is small, it's cute and cozy, and there's a surprising amount of stuff to do.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trailrat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed for one night here as a stop off between Tofino and the Sunshine Coast and hence hadn't really researched what was available to do in Cumberland. When we arrived Ian explained to us that there were tons of mountain biking tracks and I guess he would have really helped us with what to do had we actually had time to go mountain biking! However we arrived late (about 4.30 pm ish) and were checked in and then asked if we would join them there (staff/ friends/ guests) for Thanksgiving dinner! How lovely! We are extremely glad that we were invited because a) the meal was lovely b) the company was lovely c) i have no clue where else we would have found to eat in Cumberland because it is tiny! Basically the people who run this hostel are extremely kind and lovely people and really care about the hostel and its guests. The hostel itself is immaculate- all of the rooms and bathrooms appear to be. I must admit this was my first time ever in a hostel (i'm more of a hotel kinda gal) but couldn't believe how good it was. We had a private room and a shared bathroom (that we didn't have to share because there were hardly any other guests) so it was pretty hotel-like! But miles cheaper! If I was going back to Cumberland, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooeyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed here as a stop off on our way to North Island from Victoria and had a great time, free games and pool table along with great mountain biking trails behind the hostel - well worth the stop.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights to ride mountain bikes - this place was amazingly clean, we had a private room that was better than a lot of chain hotels and the place just had great character. Pool table, full kitchen and located on the main street of a sleepy town with great outdoor access. * Highly recommened, and bring you mountain bikes too!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank benjaminf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2008

I stayed at the Riding Fool Hostel whilst I was snowboarding at Mount Washington Alpine Resort. It was recommended to me by a friend who had stayed there previously. The hostel is located in a quaint little town called Cumberland, which is about 10 minute drive from Courtenay on Vancouver Island. There is a bunch of info about the actual hostel on the web site if you want more information about the actual amenities etc so I won't duplicate that info here.

The hostel is run by Jeremy and is above Dodge City Cycles which is a bicycle shop located in the main street. The first thing that really struck me is the host Jeremy, he's a fantastic person who takes an interest in the guests and really seems to care about them and goes out of his way to ensure that they have an enjoyable stay. He's also very knowledgeable and is able to provide lots of tips about the area and suggest things you can do. He's a mad keen mountain biker as well for all you MTB'ers out there :-)

The other thing that you'll notice about the hostel is that it is very well maintained and clean and there are enough bathrooms available for the number of guests that can stay in the hostel.

The wireless internet access is free and is very reliable and fast and there is a common computer that you can use if you don't have a laptop. There are also cruiser bicycles available which you can take for a ride, although I didn't do that given that it was winter! The common kitchen is well equipped and there is a good system for everyone to keep their food clearly identified. The common room has a pool table and Jeremy ran a Pizza and Video night whilst I was there which went down extremely well with everyone :-)

I was staying there during the winter and so a good number of the people staying at the hostel were long term guests who were working up at Mount Washington Alpine Resort for the season. I found the long term residents to be great and really friendly. Unlike some of the hostels I have stayed at, there was very little of the late night antics or noise that you typically associate with hostels.

In terms of the actual town of Cumberland, it's a quiet place but the local Waverley Hotel is pretty good and has a half price burger night on Tuesdays which is great value for money and the hotel also gets some live bands in. The Indian restaurant nearby is also very good. There are places in the town to buy basic groceries, but if you want a good selection you'll need to go shopping in Courtenay.

It was a great place to stay and everyone was very welcoming. I would highly recommend that you check it out!!!

  • Liked — Great host and friendly guests
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieSnowboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumberland
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
388 reviews
Downtown
Ocean Island Inn / Backpackers / Suites
Mt H'Kusam View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Sayward
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riding Fool Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riding Fool Hostel

Property: The Riding Fool Hostel
Address: 2705 Dunsmuir, Cumberland, British Columbia V0R 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Cumberland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Cumberland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Riding Fool Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown Cumberland, this Tourism BC Approved Accommodation occupies an 1895 heritage building which served as the village hardware store prior to being tastefully restored & converted into a 30 bed hostel. Cumberland has become home to those seeking a slower pace, the arts and unparalleled access to recreation resulting in a vibrant, youthful mountain valley culture. The Riding Fool is at the trail head of world class mountain bike trails and a quick drive to Mt. Washington Alpine Resort, Forbidden Plateau Recreation Area, Strathcona Provincial Park, Comox Lake, kayaking, scuba, rock climbing, hiking & more! If you enjoy a more relaxed travel experience rich with recreational opportunities and steeped in history you will most certainly enjoy the Village of Cumberland and the Riding Fool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Riding Fool Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing