We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views from light, airy rooms”
Review of Arniston Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arniston Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arniston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Arniston is a spectacular location and this hotel takes full advantage of its location to provide stunning views from its light, airy rooms which are really well appointed.

Hospitality was great and, although they seem to have a lot of small business conventions, staff made a point of ensuring it didn't affect the tourists. It was a very enjoyable stay in a fantastic location.

Spa was an added bonus!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel really deserves to best rated on tripadvisor. A must if you are in this area. Very friendly and professional service, very good food and the rooms are sublime. ask for seafacing. The bar could have more atmosphere, but nobody is perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a Saga tour in September. We were given a lovely welcome by the Manageress with a glass of wine or fruit juice. Our room was massive with a king size bed with underfloor heating and a settee. The coffee table had a small carafe of sherry on it and the patio door opened onto a balcony overlooking the Indian Ocean. The bathroom had a separate shower and jacuzzi bath complete with bath salts and bath robes. The restaurant overloaded the bay and the food was plentiful and very well presented. The only rouble we had is that when we came to leave we were charged for a bottle of white wine we didn't have so take a tip and make sure you check your bill before paying.

Room Tip: When we went in September we didn't get the sun on our balcony but the rooms round the swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and loved the spacious light and airy rooms. We had a sea facing room with great views over the ocean with whales in the bay. Delicious champagne breakfasts and wonderful evening dining. Lovely pool area. Would recomend

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynK6012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We spent two blissful nights here as part of our recent Saga tour of the Garden Route. This hotel was absolutely amazing in every way and we really cannot fault it at all. We had the warmest of welcomes from Barbara, the manager who gave some delicious Arniston Bay wine to drink. The rooms are absolutely stunning. We had a huge room at the front of the hotel overlooking the sea. It was a suite really, with a separate TV watching area with sofa, tea and coffee making facilities and there was even a carafe of dry sherry which was topped up the next day.

The staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spotlessly clean with nice toiletries and of course amazing views. We also had a double balcony which would have been wonderful to sit out on had the weather been better. There is also a nice pool, but it was too cold for that also.

There are not enough superlatives to describe the breakfast, cooked to order and a huge selection to be had. Our evening meal in the restaurant was also excellent. Wi-Fi works in the bedrooms and the bed was so comfortable, I slept really well for the first time on the trip.
None of our group wanted to leave, it was so peaceful and perfect in every way.

Just one thing worth saying there are no shops in the immediate vicinity, so if you need supermarket goods, stock up before you come. Walking around the little (original) fishing village is a delight and sometimes you can have a local fish supper in one of the houses which is really special - ask at hotel for details.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms at the front overlooking the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellamanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Situated as it is opposite rolling surf, with a view of beached fishing boats at the small harbour nearby, the Arniston Hotel and Spa boasts a setting of rare loveliness for a holiday hotel; an advantage to which are added tastefully refurbished rooms, a choice of restaurants (formal and casual), and above-average cuisine. In addition, the staff - from the receptionists to the waiters and housekeepers - are unflaggingly courteous and helpful, adding charm to comfort.
Few sights can equal the sunrises and sunsets over the ocean as one stands, coffee in hand, on the compact but adequate private balcony that is a standard feature of the sea-facing rooms. Each morning the boats are serially launched in front of the hotel, disappearing out to the horizon, to return with the catch of the day which finds its way onto the dinner table. Special offers advertised from time to time should be taken up to make this destination even more attractive.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing suite as the view is this hotel's strongest point
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I stayed arrived to the little town of Arniston in late afternoon with no accommodation booked. We check a couple of the B&B's in the area but they were fully booked and as a last resort we decided to look at the Arniston Hotel. Barbara at the front desk showed us a room and we decided to stay for two days to explore the area. The room had everything we needed with a wood burning fireplace, queen sized bed, bath and a stunning view of the ocean from the balcony. The staff were very attentive and helpful and the meals were tasty and very well prepared. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arniston
15.6 mi away
Agulhas Country Lodge
Agulhas Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in L'Agulhas
329 reviews
14.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Sky Guest House Arniston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Agulhas Ocean House
Agulhas Ocean House
#1 of 7 in L'Agulhas
149 reviews
14.5 mi away
Bredasdorp Country Manor
Bredasdorp Country Manor
#1 of 14 in Bredasdorp
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
16 on Main
16 on Main
#5 of 5 in Arniston
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arniston Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arniston Spa Hotel

Address: 1 Beach Road, Arniston 7280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Arniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arniston
Price Range: £74 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arniston Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Arniston Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing