We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Arniston Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arniston Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arniston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We only stayed for 1 night as we were travelling the Garden Route and decided to go to Cape Agulhas before getting to the hotel as that was the main reason for stopping here. We found the rooms were of an excellent size. We had one superior sea facing room and a smaller pool facing room for our son. Both my husband and son availed themselves of the spa treatments which were very reasonable. We ate in the bar area that night and the food was of good quality, the bar staff were excellent and the cocktails very good. Altogether it was a very good stay. The hotel seemed very child friendly as well.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms were excellent, ours was on a corner so really light and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have visited this hotel a number of times and really enjoy the atmosphere which caters for family holidays. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The food is excellent and staff eager to please. We will certainly continue to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Royle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

On arrival we were warmly greeted by Barbara, the Manager, who made us feel very welcome and assisted her staff in serving complimentary glasses of South African wine. The Arniston is located in a picturesque fishing village of lime washed and thatched houses. Our room was on the first floor and was extremely comfortable. The view from our balcony of the Indian Ocean was incredible. All meals were excellent and service from the staff was friendly and efficient. In beautiful sunny weather we walked around the village and then along the beach to the cave. The location is so peaceful and tranquil and it was my favourite hotel on our Garden Route Tour, a great place to stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveTravelling49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Beautiful venue with well-fitted rooms. Food at both main dining and bistro generally good quality and average value (twice roasted duck good flavor but tends to be dry). Service from reception and dining efficient but may be seen as impersonal. Rooms contain all necessary figments for a comfy stay with filter coffee, tea, rusks and fresh milk in the mini bar fridge. Recommended for a return stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DaveW07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

What a pleasant surprise to find this hotel with an excellent location on the beach in Arniston. Sea-facing rooms are in huge demand, so I suggest that you reserve this early. The in-house restaurant surpassed our expectations - we were treated to superb quality food, with great attention to presentation detail.

A morning walk to the amazing Waenhuiskraai cave is a must-do. Remember that the cave can only be accessed at low tide.

The only disappointment at the hotel was that hotel guests were not allowed to access the spa facilities such as the sauna, jaccuzi, etc. This was reserved for spa patrons only.

Otherwise a great relaxing weekend at a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IqramBux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have visited Arniston Spa Hotel many times and each time, receive excellent service. The rooms vary. Unless you have children, a seafacing room is a good choice unless it is very hot in summer, then I suggest a pool facing room. The sun sets over the waters on the seafacing side of hotel.

I would not stay longer than 2 nights as the town is limited for activity and more of a place of recharging your batteries. Ariston is a very small fishing village where the locals know eachother well and the staff of the hotel are mostly members of the town or nearby.

We had a traumatic experience in winter of 2013 when the roads near Arniston were flooded. I suggest to the Arniston Hotel Management that application is made to the municipality to have upgrades made to the road leading to their hotel. Nevertheless, the management of Arniston Hotel offered me a weekend for two in order to compensate me for the bad experience we had. I found this to be handled extremely professional by their manager, Barbara, who goes the extra mile to make sure all her guests are happy.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for two nights away. It accommodates children very well and the hotel itself offers a lovely Spa boutique for being pampered. The accommodation itself is 5 star accommodation as far as I have seen and experienced. One definitely feels spoiled in the lovely rooms the hotel offers and it is a wonderful place for a romantic holiday as well. Hope this review helps you decide and gives you a better insight.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClariceWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I and our 16 year old daughter spent 1 night here on our Garden route journey. We had sea facing adjoining rooms (201/202) which are very spacious with king size beds, good quality bedding. The rooms are beautiful with a nice lounge area with selection of current magazines and complimentary sherry. I appreciated the tea & coffee making facilities (proper filter not the sachets) and home made rusks. Also fridge with fresh milk. The restaurant food was delicious and service was excellent. The views from our balcony to the sea and towards the harbour is great. Unfortunately we were unable to avail ourselves of the Ginko spa as it was fully booked up and I do recall reading something about the necessity to pre book this. It is worthwhile dealing with the hotel directly when booking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaDawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arniston
15.6 mi away
Agulhas Country Lodge
Agulhas Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in L'Agulhas
325 reviews
14.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Sky Guest House Arniston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Bredasdorp Country Manor
Bredasdorp Country Manor
#1 of 14 in Bredasdorp
83 reviews
15.4 mi away
Agulhas Ocean House
Agulhas Ocean House
#1 of 7 in L'Agulhas
137 reviews
13.9 mi away
Cape Agulhas Backpackers
Cape Agulhas Backpackers
#1 of 4 in Struisbaai
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arniston Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arniston Spa Hotel

Address: 1 Beach Road, Arniston 7280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Arniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arniston
Price Range: £75 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arniston Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Arniston Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing