We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable basic B&B in a very uninteresting town”
Review of Arniston Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arniston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arniston Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Arniston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We spent one night here and this B&B served the purpose. The person at the desk was helpful, the breakfast was quite acceptable, I just .can not see why anyone would visit this town. A much better choice would be the very close towns of Struisbaai or Cape Agulhas...wish I had known this ahead of time

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TopsideMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

Just spent 4 wonderful days in Arniston, a hidden gem on the coastline of the garden route. Very quite and relaxed atmosphere in mid-season. Crystal clear water and friendly local people. Arniston Lodge was for sure the best B&B and our host Erwin spoiled us. The rooms are lovely, very clean and comfortable, especially the ones on the top floor with a beautiful view over Kassiesbay and the dunes. We spent long hours at the cosy little bar, chatting with Erwin and learning so many interesting facts about the history of the area.

Room Tip: Nr. 1 is spacious and has a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2011Happy_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Arniston is an amazing place. Beautiful and peaceful. We stayed at the Lodge for two nights and were struck by the hospitality. Erwin is a great host, very relaxed, funny and a fantastic storyteller. A man who understands how to live and it quickly rubs off on you. Breakfast, bar, fireplace, everything was right. If I were to name one downside: the bathroom was extremely cold (it was wintertime when we visited) and took some courage to enter.
Highly recommended, we will surely return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yodisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We spent one night at Arniston Lodge. We were in the two rooms downstairs next to the pool. The other guests and the owner spent the evening in the lounge/bar just above the rooms, which meant that we got no sleep until well after midnight when I finally went and pleaded for some quiet so we could get some sleep. Within half an hour the guests went to bed. Needless to say we felt sleep deprived the next day. The rooms however are pleasant and neat, the staff friendly and the breakfast tasty. If noise doesn't bother you then The Lodge is a pleasant comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the bottom rooms near the pool area. I can't comment on how noise affect the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillipa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I went for 4 days and stayed for a week! Arniston is the most fabulous find, quite a special place, so tranquil, far from the hussle and bussle of life, just what I needed and what's more I would not hesitate to return. The Arniston Lodge is a lovely friendly place in which to stay, nothing is too much trouble. The staff were second to none and the owner was always on hand. Breakfast is a true african laid back affair, I was accomodated on my very late rising! always just in time but I was never made to feel a nuisance. There is a beautiful landscaped garden, a pool and a bar which has all kinds of drinks but just the most wonderful SA Sauvingon and Cabernet which I could not seem to have enough of, I spent many an evening chatting with other guests and locals that came in to see Erwin, over a glass or two, and when I paid the bill, so reasonable! Erwin, the owner, is extremly helpful on advice of where to go, knowledgeable about the region and SA in general. Althea and Joceline are absolutely lovely, nothing is too much trouble. All in all the add on benefits were so much more than just a B&B! Don't dither just book! kind regards Ruth, UK

Room Tip: I stayed in the smallest room which was just perfect for a chilled holiday for a single person, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Arniston is a charming little place with blue ocean and white sands. Our stay was complemented by the experience of our night in Arniston Lodge. The beds were comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, but it was the lodge itself that now sticks in the memory: the thatched roof of our bedroom; the view across the fishing village to the the white dunes; the friendly welcome from Erwin our host. For our evening meal we dined very reasonably at the Arniston Hotel which offers the more standard hotel accommodation in town, but we were more than pleased with the modest and characterful Arniston Lodge. If in the future we revisit Arniston we shall certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We were quite disappointed by our recent stay at the Arniston Lodge. Our room had a nice view but was quite noisy (it gave on the swimming pool and barbecue area: the first night we were there, a barbecue was organized and we hardly could sleep). The owner was not exactly friendly or helpful. The staff was kind.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guillaume_berard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arniston
0.2 mi away
Arniston Spa Hotel
Arniston Spa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arniston
876 reviews
15.6 mi away
Agulhas Country Lodge
Agulhas Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in L'Agulhas
337 reviews
14.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Blue Sky Guest House Arniston
0.1 mi away
16 on Main
16 on Main
#5 of 5 in Arniston
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arniston Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arniston Lodge

Address: 23 Main Road, Arniston 7280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Arniston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Arniston
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing