We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sierra y Cal--a pleasure!”
Review of Hotel Sierra y Cal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sierra y Cal
Ranked #2 of 3 Olvera B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Olvera is one of the Pueblos Blancos that dot southern Spain. The highest points of Olvera are occupied by an incredible church, the Parish of Our Lady of the Incarnation. and the remains of an Arabic fortress. This is what one sees when entering the town and it is also the view from Sierra y Cal. Our rooms were well-tended with private bathrooms. The hotel also boasts a swimming pool, a bar, and a restaurant that serves delicious food. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi is available on the main floor. Walking to the church and fortress from the hotel is both interesting and invigorating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRichards_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Sierra y Cal was a nice enough place to stop for the night on our bike tour, before heading out to the Via Verde the next day. The rooms were clean and had a nice balcony with chairs, though not much of a view. The location was close to a number of different restaurants,and about a 20-minute walk to the big church on the hill. Breakfast was standard but not bad. Definitely no frills, but an average, solid choice - especially given the low price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I have stayed here a few times, it is never a disappointment. The staff have hardly changed in 10 years, proof they are happy in the job and proof the job is happy with them.
It is part of the Tugusa Group who sell themselves as Rural Hotels and are simple and effective with rustic charm. The Sierra Y Cal in Olvera is on the route of the cultural Pueblos Blanco (White Villages)Tour which are several Old Arab Villages across Andalusia.
Always clean, pleasant and comforable with good food and drink that will come as a relief to the pocket if you are use to paying costa prices.
Ideal for Cyclist, Walkers and people wanting to see the real Spain

Room Tip: Some ground floor rooms have walk in showers instead of a bath with a shower over it as they all are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ericeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We quite often go to Sierra y Cal and have always enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The rooms at the hotel are very nice and it deserves to be more than a 2*!!! The swimming pool and deck area - just lovely, a perfect spot to get some rays and a swim.
The food is simple and honest. Very, very good value for money. The staff are friendly
and helpful. My favourite is Pollo con pasas y Sherry. (Chicken in sherry with raisins).
The house wine is very cheap but tasty! We will definitely be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barmymarny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Sierra y Cal was on our cycle tour of Andalucia in September 2012. We arrived on the Via Verde cycle way - converted from an old railway line with 30 tunnels - and just about made it up the 15% ratio hill from the station to the new town centre. The staff were excellent - helping to wash down our bikes and storing them in the hotel. Rooms meet all basic needs - with views from some over the old town of Olvera. Air conditioning couldn't be controlled from room which was a little disappointing. Good pool area and bar. Quiet town on route from Jerez to Antequera that's worth a stop. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfBobUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for one night on a recent trip while bicycling through Southern Andalucia. We chose the place based primarily on cost and amenities, primarily A/C, Internet and a swimming pool.

The hotel strongly reminded us of typical American-based chain budget hotels like Days Inn. It's a fairly large establishment. The room, etc. were all of acceptable quality. However, there is nothing particularly charming or memorable about the place and certainly nothing about it that signified that we were residing in Olvera versus just about any other destination in a small to mid-sized Spanish city. Like its American hotel counterparts, this place is as much utilitarian as anything. We will say that the staff were great and very accommodating, including allowing us to store our bicycles in a secure room off the main lobby.

One last side note. The hotel is well located for getting into and out of the city. However, there is nothing particular in its immediate vicinity of any interest for sightseeing. It's, say, a 20 minute walk instead.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Last May we arrived in Olvera to travel on the famous Via Verde on bikes. We assumed we could rent bikes from the Via Verde starting point in Olvera but that turned out to be not so. No bikes to be seen and not rental desk either. We called the number given on an information poster at the site but the guy hwo answered said he didn’t speak any English.

So, what to do? We had driven 400 km to get there and were not going to give up! We walked through town and asked people if they knew of another bike rent but no, this was the only one. We finally came across the Hotel Sierra y Cal and decided to ask there.

The guy at the front desk helped us in any way he could. He phoned the bike rental company and got the information that unfortunately a very large group had rented all the bikes just hours before. He explained the situation to us and felt really sorry that he couldn’t help more. He gave us his card just in case we needed any more help later on. Later in the day, when reading the card, we realised the guy was the director of the hotel.

Unfortunately we cannot review the hotel itself, since we were didn’t stay there, but if the staff is all as helpful and nice as Luis, we are sure guests are in good hands at the Hotel Sierra y Cal.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveling_Viking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olvera
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson Fuente del Pino
0.6 mi away
No 31 Bed & Breakfast
No 31 Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Olvera
28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Medina
Hostal Medina
#3 of 3 in Olvera
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Camping Pueblo Blanco
Camping Pueblo Blanco
#1 of 3 in Olvera
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Vagon Via Verde de la Sierra
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sierra y Cal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sierra y Cal

Address: Avenida Nuestra Senora de los Remedios 2, 11690 Olvera, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Olvera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Olvera
Price Range: £42 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sierra y Cal 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sierra y Cal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing