We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Causeway Bay Hotel Sparwood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sparwood
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Causeway with my daughters hockey team. All the staff was very friendly and helpful right from the check in to the restaurant to the check out. With quite a large group they planned ahead to set up a buffet for the kids and families. The meal was excellent with a large variety of foods that satisfied everyone. We also ate at the restaurant for other meals, the food was good, the staff very friendly and polite. Prices for the rooms were reasonable and fair. They managed to put up with 16 hyper hockey kids and their families for the weekend! Good on all the staff!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrevorStalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Causeway Bay Hotel Sparwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

The major patrons of this hotel are contractors for the local mines so the carpets have received hard wear from work boots and the parking lot surface has broken up from truck traffic. The place has seen better days but it was generally clean and quiet. The restaurant serves good food for a reasonable price and servers were friendly. We returned for a second meal as we were passing through town and enjoyed their hearty portions of the excellent daily special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HatzicMission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for one night during a business trip. Friendly staff and fairly clean rooms, but the hotel is rundown and in need of updates and repairs. The door to my room wouldn't close properly. I turned on the bathroom lights in the morning and all the power in my room went out. The maintenance man tried to flip the breakers to fix it, but I ended up showering with just the light from the bathroom fan. Filthy carpets throughout the hallways probably because the majority of guests are mine workers from the surrounding area. It was also very noisy due to a full hotel and very thin walls.

It worked for the few hours I needed a room, but I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Enjoyed the couple of nights I stayed at the Causeway Bay hotel. The staff was helpful (filled me in on the bears in the area) and were very accommodating. Enjoyed dinner in the restaurant, a varied menu and my choice was excellent.

The room was quiet, at the back of the hotel - I didn't notice any noise from the highway. Would stay again - even if there was more of a choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cwill4573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotel was clean, and all staff was friendly! Coming from out of town and never being in this area it was easy to find and in the perfect location for admenities! HOWEVER, I will NEVER eat in this establishments restaurant again! The food and portions are great... If you require no changes to your meal! My daughter ordered a burger and decided she wanted it plain, which was no issue. My husband however ordered an extra patty added to the burger whatever the cost.. Apparently the head chef says he makes the food the way he likes it and therefore he refuses to change it! He made his career in a business of hopsitality, no restaurant I have ever been to has ever refused to make an order to an individual's taste. The fast food place across the road does?! Sheer laziness or ignorance?! I couldn't believe it. I over heard another lady trying to change her order and heard the chef in the back being absolutely rude about it and in shorter terms implied she can eat it his way or leave! Never again! To bad because the hotel is great!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1,035,055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stopped here on our way to the U.S. It is dated and tired, but it was very clean.
I tried unsuccessfully to book on line, and when I mentioned it to the front desk, the on line price was cheaper, they honoured that price. I was quite surprised.
The room was large, yes the bed was a bit tired but not horrible.
The food in the restaurant was excellent. We had supper and breakfast there, wide variety of food, good sized portions of home cooking.
All staff is very friendly.
Yes you can stay in Fernie, and pay a lot more, but the Causeway is definitely a good place to stop if you're looking for excellent, friendly service in a clean hotel with great food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jogar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We were very surprised by the diverse menu at the hotel restaurant. In addition to a large selection of traditional dishes (omelettes, pancakes etc. for breakfast; burgers and pasta for lunch and dinner), the menu included unexpected items like smoothies and quinoa porridge, duck confit, veal, bouillabaisse, mandarin chicken and many others. All the dishes that we tried were well prepared and delicious, though servings are huge.

The hotel itself is about what you'd expect for an economy hotel in the coal belt. Staff are friendly.

Room Tip: Our rooms at the back of the hotel were quiet, despite the hotel being on close to the highway.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bogndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparwood
16.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge
17.3 mi away
Powder Mountain Lodge
Powder Mountain Lodge
#6 of 22 in Fernie
147 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Kanata by BCMInns Blairmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Red Tree Lodge
Red Tree Lodge
#2 of 22 in Fernie
357 reviews
20.4 mi away
Lizard Creek Lodge
Lizard Creek Lodge
#3 of 22 in Fernie
662 reviews
18.9 mi away
BCMInns - Coleman
BCMInns - Coleman
#2 of 2 in Coleman
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Bay Hotel Sparwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Bay Hotel Sparwood

Address: 102 Red Cedar Drive, Sparwood, British Columbia V0B 2G0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Sparwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sparwood
Price Range: £56 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Causeway Bay Hotel Sparwood 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Causeway Bay Hotel Sparwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing