We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going downhill”
Review of Hotel Ibis Macapa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ibis Macapa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Macapa
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I've stayed here before & thought the hotel was reasonable & the restaurant pretty poor.

This time(two different nights, two different rooms) I thought the hotel had been allowed to deteriorate & the restaurant was outright terrible.

HOTEL - Simple things - air conditioning works only on one temperature(freezing!). That's great when you first walk in, but not for sleeping. Power points near the desk didn't work. The elevator call button for one of the elevators on Level 6 is broken.

RESTAURANT - After my last trip, I didn't expect much. But for an Ibis Hotel Restaurant to outright LIE on their menu is beyond belief! I ordered an Ibis Burger, which has a beef patty variously described as 'artesenal'(in Portuguese) or 'homemade' in English. After first being sent chicken, I was then served an absolutely terrible processed meat patty(if you've been to Brazil, you'll know the type I mean). WHY LIE on the menu? There were no other beef burgers on either the lunch or dinner menu, so the ONLY reason that these patties could have even been in the restaurant kitchen is for this burger. I have to tell you I am absolutely astounded that a company of the quality of Accor Hotels would allow this to occur in one of their hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
1  Thank Fair_Dinkum_Mate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank luizbartoleti
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 February 2013

It's not a bad hotel, but nothing great. Typical Ibis - small rooms, simple fitout. TV in the room is tiny (19" or so), no room safe & nothing in the minibar. That said, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable & air conditioning worked well(very important in Macapa in summer!).

The restaurant is very poor, but it's not like their are a lot of fantastic options around town either!
I live in Brazil so am certainly used to Brazilian breakfasts - loads of sliced fresh fruit, breads, ham & cheeses, fresh fruit juices, calabresa & scrambled eggs. This one had about half of that(which at R$16 is a bit rich!). No orange or pineapple juice(usually staples in Brazilian breakfasts), the only sliced fruit was papaya, which is terrible as most places have 5 - 10 sliced fruit options, limited cereals, no milk(just powder!).

Dinner was pretty poor as well. I ordered parmegiana(very popular in Brazilian restaurants) & received some overcooked beef with some melted cheese on it & then literally drowned in a packet tomato sauce!

My advice - stay here, but try & find somewhere else to eat!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fair_Dinkum_Mate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

it is a chain but the staff is very helpful and kind. I got stuck in macapa, brazil, on route to rio and was pleased to find a comfortable place. hotel is clean, has safes, is 10 min from the airport by taxi. The breakfast is good and the air conditioning is there, but could be improved. If you have to stay in macapa it is a safe choice. the price was higher than my budget but taxis know where it is and since I arrived at 11pm at night, it was the best place to go in a snap. the neighborhood is a bit dull and there are few places to eat other than greasy fastfood. the wifi is free and they let us hang out in the lobby and restauant for hours while we waited for our flight. I was pleased.

Room Tip: we were on the sixth floor and it was quiet. as a member of the ´A club´ we got a free extra late c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellemindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Regular Ibis hotel in a city where you can't find much urban infrastructure. So, a great hotel. Breakfast is good and the front desk staff very friendly. Definetely best choice in town, though without a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paulista1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Serious problem about not having food out of main meals time and the street is to dark but is glose to the AirPort and close to the shopps.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GustavoBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Macapa is a city with few options of hotels, so I was quite pleased to know that there was an Ibis available due to the reliabiiliy of services and structure offered by these hotels. The hotel is Ibis standard and the staff is extremely efficient, cordial and helpful. The restaurant offers a very interesting menu with health options, like grilled chicken and soup, and also a salad and dessert bar. Breakfast is also very good and the hotel has very easy access to the city. TV and internet wi fi available and I was able to connect the wifi during my stay. However, Macapa is a city with lots of problems regarding, energy and internet. Shower was very good, but there was some problem with the drain, so water went to the bathroom floor. In this sense, this a maintenance issue that I faced in other Brazilian hotels, due to basic structural maintenance. Also, the garbage bin was rusted and quite used. Small details that do not compromise at all the stay but that, in the long run, can turn in something bigger (in particular the shower drain).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristinaSPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Macapa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel do Forte
Hotel do Forte
#1 of 6 in Macapa
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mara Hotel
Mara Hotel
#6 of 6 in Macapa
42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atalanta Hotel
Atalanta Hotel
#5 of 6 in Macapa
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Ceta Ecotel
Ceta Ecotel
#3 of 6 in Macapa
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Frota Palace Hotel
Frota Palace Hotel
#7 of 15 in Macapa
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rio Mar
Hotel Rio Mar
#3 of 15 in Macapa
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Macapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Macapa

Address: Rua Tiradentes 303 | Amapa, Macapa, State of Amapa 68900-098, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Amapa > Macapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Macapa
Price Range: £41 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Macapa 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Macapá hotel is the perfect place for those traveling for business or pleasure. We offer the best price, quality and service ratio. Located in the city center, just 1.9 miles (3 km) from the international airport and close to many public organizations and retail establishments. Easy access to tourist hotspots such as the São José Fort, the banks of the Amazon river and the Zero Mark equator line monument. The hotel has free WIFI Internet access in communal areas, apartments and ibis corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, ACCOR and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ibis Macapa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibis Macapa Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing