We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would of enjoyed sleeping in the street more”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bicester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swan Inn
Ranked #17 of 19 Bicester B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would of enjoyed sleeping in the street more”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Ok let's start from beginning as soon as we got there there was no where to park and because its on a one way street had to go around again fun. I lucky know the area well otherwise I would have had no idea where to park But about the hotel as soon as u walk in its a really nice pub and looks like a gd place to drink. We got our key which was not a problem then started to make our way to our room then found the hotel is old so the stairs go in ever direction which "up the stairs to the lefts" was not much help also if u taller then 6 foot ur going to bang ur head. We got to our room which as soon as u walk in is not even flat so u end up rolling off the bed u also don't have a toilet or shower in ur room u share but that said this told to us when we booked so that's fine. We left the room in the afternoon as we only came up for a wedding
As we came back to the hotel we went to the the bed room where the music is so high u can't sleep then to top it off the people next door to us was drunk and couldn't get into the room so they was standing outside their room which is outside our room laughing and shouting at 3 am for about a hour as I am guessing there was no hotel staff about. We also tried calling the hotel but no one answered. My girlfriend was also scared as they was falling on our door and trying to open it but It did stop, then we went to sleep as we woke up thinking this was the worst night sleep I have ever had.we both thought we will get ready and go back home but to found the toilet was horrible and stunk of sick and wee then we had a shower which is a bit of a problem if u are tall also it is narrow so if ur broad or over weight u can't shower. Luckily we was only stopping 1 night. I made a mistake and left my charger in the hotel room which was probably from lack of sleep and call up the hotel about 1 hour after I called to say could u just grab my charger and I will pay postage if they send it back up to me. They said ye we will call u back after we have gone up and searched for it. A day later they call me back saying it not their.

So in all we paid £50 for 1 night lost a £30 phone charger had a rubbish night sleep
Just to let u know I have never done one of these reviews before but it was that bad I thought I would warn people. the own should just turn that place into a bar also it not a B and B don't do breakfast

Hope this helps people

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiddy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Absolute joke!£45 a night for a room smaller than most toilets,rock hard bed,and no breakfast.I can honestly say it has to be one of the worst value for money 'hotels' i have ever had the misfortune to stay in.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank T0ne63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bicester hotels

Clifton Hampden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

This lovely old town pub has been a wonderful find, what a great selection of Wines and Beers with fantastic wholesome food and a great atmosphere. A group of us went out for a work's outing and what a wonderful night. Steak was cooked to perfection and presented beautifully. Having had a few too many to drive a spare room was available offered by the bubbly and friendly owner Tony. It was basic although clean and comfortable and done the job perfectly. Thanks Tony for a brilliant night we will be back and book this time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy02Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

Me and my girlfriend went in last night, the atmosphere was good, however we are somewhat sceptical about the glasses of "Pinot Grigio" that we were served with. We paid nearly £14 for two big glasses of said plonk, but we both felt it was probably Chardonnay, can't be entirely sure so we'll do another review sometime soon (watch out!!!) but not impressed - and we know our Pinot from our Sauvignon Blanc (snotty as that sounds...)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnynobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2010

I booked this room via laterooms. Please do not fall for discounts offered (£45.00per night). Upon arrival we were shown a double room and it was disgusting!!!!! The carpets were stained and it all seemed grimy. The bathroom is shared with the room next door and it did not work and everything in the bathroom was falling apart. We walked straight out and was promised that money would not be taken from our card. A few days later we was charged £90.00 and we did not even stay there. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL I WOULD NEVER GO BACK

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lollee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, Norfolk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2009

I visit Bicester quite frequently, and until the beginning of 2009 always stayed at the Swan. It's a quaint old pub - said to be the oldest pub in the town - with a real 'village inn' atmosphere, but its only a short walk from the 'Bicester Village' outlet shopping centre and the pedestrianised town centre. True, the rooms don't have en-suite facilities but as comfortable, clean and excellent value accomodation was my main priority then it was always the Swan for me. And the food and beer were great too!. Sadly it lost its way early in 2009 when the landlord left and a succesion of temporary managers didn't do it any favours, but now... WHAT A TRANSFORMATION. The Swan has a new landlord - a guy called Tony Viney - and the pub's gone back to it's glory days. If you don't like being ripped off for accomodation and you do like to stay somewhere out of the ordinary I can't
recomend the Swann highly enough. You just gotta try it for yourself.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tightwad09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicester
0.2 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
2.5 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Brava Tapas Bar and Rooms
#7 of 19 in Bicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Property: The Swan Inn
Address: 13 Church Street, Bicester OX26 6AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Bicester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bicester
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Bicester
The Swan Inn Bicester, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing