We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant!! You will feel at home :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watts Lodge

Watts Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bicester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watts Lodge
Ranked #3 of 19 Bicester B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant!! You will feel at home :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

I stayed there for a bout 3 month ( back in 2006) sorry for the late review!. I though I have to share my experience there. It is absolutely brilliant, the owner Rooney and his Mrs along their daughter ( Jane if i am not wrong) were too friendly. The level of cleanleness was outstanding. The room was done nicely on daily basis. The toom size was big enough with very nice ensuite. The location is perfect , close to all what you might need. 120% RECOMMENDED! Rafik

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RafTheDentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Inspector2011, Owner at Watts Lodge, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for your review we welcome your excellent feedback, we try very hard to make all our guests welcome and we are so glad that you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Kind Regards The Watts Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    10
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
19
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
san diego
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

I was expecting a traditional B & B however I was surprised to find our room were en - suite . I shared one with my brother , it was clean and had all the basic comforts we needed . It was cleaned daily and our coffee / tea was supplied daily . The beds looked a little small but were amazingly comfortable . The bathroom was big , the shower awesome....lots of water and hot . Ron was lovely , cooked with military precision and provided the perfect breakfast everyday in a family setting . He made us all feel very welcome and always remembered our names......this was the best B & B I have ever used , normally you feel like an intruder but Ron made us very welcome and we loved the location and everything about this place . I would definetly love to stay here again .

Room Tip: Our room was facing the road , but no worries traffic doesn't start until at least 7.30 and even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derbycountyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We had a one night stay for a retirement party in the town.
The rooms are clean and bright and the breakfasts are terrific, plenty of hot toast that was replenshied as soon as you eaten it.
Would highly recommend this place as it is family run and they are very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just got home from a 2 night stay in Bicester.We chose the Watts Lodge as our accomodation and were not disappointed.Great location,only a 10 minute stroll to the centre of town.The owners are really friendly and the room we stayed in was spotlessly clean with everything we could have needed,even a fridge.How often do you see that in a B&B these days.Breakfast was freshly cooked when you wanted it and was very tasty!
Would recommend to anyone staying in the area.
Many thanks for a lovely stay.
Lee and Jen,Swansea.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Inspector2011, Owner at Watts Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Lee & Jen thank you for the excellent review you have provided, I have passed your comments onto all my family and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oostende
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We are just back from the Watts Lodge where we stayed for 4 nights. We booked by phone where we had a very friendly and helpfull lady at the other side. Also when we phoned 5 days before arriving asking if it were possible to come at 9am because we had to take the train so early it was never an issue. She said we could go to the room or leave our suitcases if the room wasn't cleaned yet.
When we arrived at 9:30 the landlord was waiting for us and greeted us very friendly. He guided us to the room, explained everything and asked when we would like breakfast. It was a very nice reception.
Rooms are very good and clean. They are also spacious compared to other B&B's we stayed in.
The only downside to Watts Lodge is the breakfast. We do like our sausage when having an English breakfast but all the rest was good. What was a nice suprise is that on the first morning he asked what we liked to drink : tea or coffee. My wife asked for hot chocolate milk and he said they didn't have any. But the next morning without us asking he served a hot chocolate milk to my wife who was delighted by the gesture.

All in all it's a place we can recommend and we will be visiting it again next time we are staying in Bicester.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Inspector2011, Owner at Watts Lodge, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Steven b thank you for your review and your feedback is gratefully received. We do try and provide our guests with that home from home experience. Your feedback regarding the breakfast is valuable as we source our meat products from a local farm we have struggled to find a sausage that is of good quality and have also had many guests who prefer not to eat them anymore, however we are currently reviewing our suppliers with a view to finding the perfect sausage!

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and loved our rooms and their facilities, we look forward to welcoming you again if you are visiting the U.K in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Book a triple room for my family to stay over for 1 week. when we arrived we noticed that they put a camp bed for an adult because they thought it was a child. The room had wet patches of damp on the wall, no lights in the bathroom, broken tiles and cobwebs everywhere.
We decided to check out the following day as everyone had a very bad night to sleep. The lady was extremely rude and start acusing us of liars because she could not admit she made a mistake when we specified it was for 3 adults and not 2 adults and a child.
Very rude people, they should not be in business as they have no concept of how to run properly a B&B and no sense of customer service. I would not recommend Watts Lodge. TO AVOID.

Room Tip: visit the B&B before booking if you can or look for more pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LG795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Inspector2011, Owner at Watts Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
I was disappointed to read this review which I feel may just be down to a break in communication. On booking you stated that the 3rd person in the party was an 8yr old child therefore the room was made up with an additional lower guest bed. On arrival you had an elderly relative with you in place of the child, had you informed us of this at the time of booking we would have been happy to oblige and offered an alternative room. On the day in question we were at full capacity and therefore unable to change your room. We are a quality Bed and Breakfast not a hotel and have been established for a number of years with many happy guests, as you were moving to alternative accommodation the next day we did ask you the time you would be checking out (11am is standard) as we had re-let the room, you were unsure so we kept your luggage for you. I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the area and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed at Watts Lodge this past weekend for a family function - what a find. I cannot believe someone has said it was cold and damp. I shared the downstairs room with my aunt and had to sleep with the patio doors open as the room was SO warm !! My fault - didn't think to turn down the radiator until the following day.
Wonderful bathrooms, so large and brilliant power shower - having been in Shropshire for 3 nights before with a dribbling shower in a B&B his was AMAZING ....
The breakfast options were fantastic - all made at your request, with a choice of cereals, toast and jams and full english.
Thanks for a lovely stay, will definately be returning - a warm welcome from all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicester
0.7 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
2.7 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watts Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watts Lodge

Property: Watts Lodge
Address: 100 Buckingham Road, Bicester OX26 4EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Bicester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Watts Lodge Bicester, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing