We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conference facilities”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Littlebury Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bicester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Littlebury Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Bicester B&B and Inns
Yateley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Conference facilities”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Spent a day at a conference. Arrive at about 08.30 and was greeted by a nice chap behind reception. He settled me in the lounge with a coffee and his newspaper, which he requested I give back to him. The conference room was OK. However, nothing was provided - no conference folder, pens or water. They did provide pens eventually, but we had to collect them up at the end and give them back to reception! Lunch was three plates of sandwiches - dumped unceremoniously on the table. "Those are fish, those are meat and them is vegetarian" announced the woman. No garnish, not enough for 12 people and some went without. There was no-one on reception to complain to although there was a woman who seemed to be checking in a coach load of Latvians or something. If she worked for the hotel, she didn't acknowledge me and neither did the woman behind the bar who could see I was waiting to speak to someone. I gave up. The conference was good but I was completely unimpressed by the hotel. I couldn't possibly recommend it and based on my experience, I wouldn't book a room there either. They really didn't showcase their hotel to me.

Room Tip: Sorry I didn't stay overnight so couldn't recommend any rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    40
    23
    9
    11
See reviews for
25
19
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I paid £95 to stay at this hotel with my wife, yet was treated to a room that hasn't seen a penny spent on it since 1970 (with the exception of a new TV). The remainder of the hotel is equally dated and in major need of updating, even just a lick of paint.

I'm honestly staggered at the number of reviews describing this place as "quaint". That's just like an estate agent calling a house "cosy", when in reality it's just tiny. I felt moved to write a review because I get so frustrated by places that don't reinvest their profits in their business. Either shut the place down or modify.

The room seemed clean, but as the furnishings are 30+ years old they don't really "feel" clean. The beds have sheets, blankets and eiderdown, which just isn't hygienic (not washed after every stay I'm sure). The mattress was uncomfortable and we both woke with sore backs on the morning.

Breakfast was fine, but would have been better without yesterday's potatoes strangely included on the plate. They were chewy and disgusting.

Had this been a £50 room, I wouldn't be writing this review.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmjones500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bicester hotels

Villanova Monteleone, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Recently I had a very good experience with my stay at the charming Littebury hotel. Rooms furnished with quality and taste, very comefortable beds, beautiful carpets and all spotlessley clean. Food first class. Staff very professional and well informed about local area.
The quality in all areas is evident and a pleasure to experience.
,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just returned from a 1 night stay at the lovely Littlebury Hotel. We booked as it was near a party we were attending. On arrival a young lady greeted us warmly and we found out she was part of the family who runs the establishment. The paperwork was very simple compared to the vast majority of hotels we've stayed at and didn't need chapter and verse just to book in!! She and her mum were so helpful organising a taxi to our party venue. Our room and bathroom were clean and it had a vast array of beautiful flowers outside the window. Yes, it was a bit dated but the shower was really powerful and certainly not the trickle you often find in a hotel. We came back late after the 'do' annd we had a key to get in. Unfortunately, there was no one available to get us a drink, however, on reflection it was probably a good thing, it was 2am!! Breakfast was really good, nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast was cooked to oder and was perfect. Checking out was easy and the gentleman in charge was very affable. We would definitely stay here again, it had a lovely feel to it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEPHO37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were struggling to get accommodation in the Bicester area. So it was a big surprise to find this little hotel had a vacancy for a double room
We enjoyed a nice bar meal for dinner, there were a lot of locals enjoying a beer at the bar.
Breakfast was adequate
Service was excellent, the owner introduced himself and asked if we were happy, and enjoying our dinner and breakfast.
The garden was lovely, and the colourful flower baskets at the front of the hotel were especially beautiful
Yes the rooms were old, but it was comfortable. Perhaps a bit expensive for what you got, but the ambience was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

After reading the negative rewievs me and my wife was à bit nervous about our stay. But after four nights stay we will book this hotel on our next visit. Sure the hotel is old, but not run down. Staff is really friendly, a nice garden, breakfast Ok, Cask Ale in Bar. The hotel has atmosphere. Sure it is not soundprofed, the rooms could use some renovating, the Continental breakfast could be bigger, but for us as tourists, this is the real England.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harald_Baerbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

From the outside this is a pretty hotel with a lovely large garden that is a sun trap, the staff were all lovely and the food was 1st class!

Unfortunately what let this down was the rooms and price. The rooms were very old and tired and you could hear ever single door slamming and person snoring the walls seem paper thin. With new Premier Inn opened just down the road - stay there but go to the Littlebury for dinner

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingerninj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicester
0.3 mi away
The King's Arms Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
1.4 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Brava Tapas Bar and Rooms
#7 of 19 in Bicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Littlebury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Littlebury Hotel

Property: Littlebury Hotel
Address: Kings End, Bicester OX26 6DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Bicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bicester
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Littlebury Hotel Bicester, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing