We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value.”

Bicester Avenue Garden Centre
Ranked #73 of 108 Restaurants in Bicester
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Another garden centre restaurants that we've visited a few times.The portions are really good, so finish your main before you buy one...we often can't fit one in.Always good quality & really tasty.Bonus is there are some great shops around you to have a stroll after.Highly recommend.Carole :)
Oxford
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent value.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I was surprised to read the other reviews as I eat here quite frequently and the food is always fine and we are quite demanding! We have had very nice salmon en croute, excellent mushroom risotto and delicious fish and chips, all with no after effects! In addition they do some excellent offers, especially for Garden Club members. (Free to join!) It 's often actually cheaper to eat here than at home. My only complaint is that they are seriously understaffed so you sometimes have wait 10 minutes to be served.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhoebeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    54
    44
    45
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice stop off!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

went on sunday morning after checking out of hotel more there than just a garden centre so worth a visit

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eliazabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fish & Peas Swimming in oil - then the next day - diarrhea”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Had fish and chips, we had to wait so it should have been fresh but the fish was very oily, the batter underneath was soggy and the peas were served on a bed of oil. I used six napkins to soak up the oil. The fish tasted fine and I think the quality was not in question - the cooking was.
It laid heavily overnight and the next day I had diarrhea so something was amiss.

Perhaps the piece of fish which was on the counter had been re-cooked? I cannot say, but I had an apple for breakfast and nothing for supper. We ate there several months ago and the fish was very oily then too. We will never return to this restaurant. The devil is in the cooking method and not the quality of the food. My husbands fish was not oily and he did not suffer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morgan091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Overpriced, mass produced average food”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The garden centre is not as nice as it used to be, more of a gift shop but a god place to meet for coffee with friends. The food is average, overpriced and the coffee mediocre. The decor is nice and the staff friendly. A useful meeting place with good parking and nearby shops, nightmare t get to when Bicester Village shoppers are in full swing though!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bisoubelle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston on the Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hmmmm”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The store has been revamped - about half of it is now given over to a set of 'pop-up' shops. Some of the area allocated to them is still standing empty. The whole place now has an air of being a little shabby and down-market. The Christmas decoration selection is particularly disappointing - all a little cheap and poor quality really. In past years they used to stock a much better range of higher quality decorations.

All-in-all, the changes that have happened this year have made what was always a pleasant place to visit, turn a little shabby and dowdy.....a great shame.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bicester Avenue Garden Centre also viewed

Bicester, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Bicester Avenue Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing