We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel for a short stay on your way to/from the Simien mountains”
Review of Simien Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simien Park Hotel
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This is a good option if you need to stay in Debark on your way to/from the Simien mountains. The rooms are rather spacious, a bit run down, but simple and clean enough. Debark is nothing exciting as a town which means you'll be staying only a night or two in Debark.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amsterdamned74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2012

Crikey, this was the most appallingly inappropriate choice of hotel by Ace Cultural Tours. A group of relatively elderly travellers were here imprisoned in a run-down concrete block which faced a building site. Our inviting room had handprints on the walls, and the furniture and fittings were falling apart. It was cold, dank, depressing and reminiscent of one of those Grim Up North 1950s documentaries about deprived children living with incurable diseases and domestic abuse. The bar was scary, the dining annex like an unfurnished parish hall in the Gorbals, and you were about 30 minutes drive from the entrance to the Simien Mountains Park. Our Ethiopian buffet dinner was, in the circumstances, really rather tasty and cheered us all up as we contemplated the dark and cold climb up the concrete steps towards our grim cells on the mental health ward for the criminally insane. What on earth was our tour operator thinking of in housing us here?

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weltravelledofSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This was yet another extraordinarily poor choice of hotels selected by our tour operator, Ace Cultural Tours. Fine if you are backpacking, but not what you want from a reputable operator. The place looks more like part of a council estate in Peckham than a hotel, but has fewer amenities. The rooms are sparse, cold and cheerless and you'll be lucky to get adequate supplies of hot water. It's noisy and outside the gates you will find the usual cohort of people who want your money, or who want tosell you tissues, chewing gum, etc.
There is a bar of sorts located near the front gate in a kind of unheated shed where you can get spirits and beer from very friendly and accommodating staff. The dining area is nearby, and equally unattractive, though to be fair it serves really rather good local food. Overall, though, it's the sort of place that makes you want to go home immediately, so I'd suggest you fork out and stay at the Simien Lodge located in the heart of the Park. This hotel is called the Simien Park, but is nowhere near the reserve you might be intending to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimmyShelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

There isn't much to say about this place - it is very basic, not as clean as some others report (and I've traveled in many third world countries). The sheets are disintegrating as are the towels, so you may fell more comfortable bringing some of your own.
However, if you are visiting Simien Mountains and are not planning to trek for several days you don't have much of a choice. The showers are hot, the water pressure is fine and the food at the restaurant is pretty good.
All in all, it's OK for a night or two.

Room Tip: If you get a room with on suite - try to get the rooms that are on the top floor. Sleeping on lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ornoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This review is for the Simien Park Hotel in Debark. I see that there are reviews and photos here for the Simien Park Lodge. Don't confuse the two as they are two radically different hotels. The Hotel is in the town of Debark while the Lodge is in the Simien Mountains. We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group, so can’t comment on price/value. There are older rooms that the guidebook says have shared bathrooms, but we stayed in the newer tower. Our room was basic—twin beds, a table, two chairs, a set of shelves and a bathroom with a sink (cold water only), a commode and a shower. The shower had its own hot water tank, so a hot shower is available as long as there is electricity to heat the water (it does take a while to heat a new tank of water). Lighting was poor—only a dim overhead light in the main room and a small light over the sink in the bathroom. The room was clean. The door didn’t work very well but locked/unlocked with some effort. This is what we were told to expect and this is what we got. There is a bar on the premises and a restaurant that serves pretty good food,. OK for a 1-night stay in a town with little else to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I am writing this review to help anyone who is planning a trip to the Simien National Park in order to avoid confusion and subsequent disappointment in connection with their stay at the Simien Park Lodge. This will help both travellers and travel agents to organise their trips properly.
What happened to us was this: we had planned long ago a stay at the Lodge, but when we got there, we were told that there was no booking made for us. The reason for this was that there is a budget hotel, called Simien Park Hotel down in the town of Debark, i.e. 22 km away from the marvellous view at the Lodge, on a dusty and noisy road, so a completely different environment from what we expected. Hence we went back to Gonder, losing our life dream. All this because of TripAdviser´s misleading title (see above). Under the title of Simien Park Hotel, the beautiful pictures taken at the Lodge appear, and most reviews under that title refer to the Lodge (unfortunately, we did not read the February one). Our situation was only saved by our excellent guide, Mr. Negash from Amazing Ethiopia. The Amazing Ethiopia´s owner (Mr. Simeneh) fully compensated us and covered all our extra costs, even if it was not his fault.
My reviews of the Lodge reflect only my impression from our short stay up there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solofanua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Reading through previous reviews for the Simien PARK Hotel before I travelled to Ethiopia and having stayed there I now realise that some reviewers ( e.g. Ahmod ) are confusing this hotel with the Simien LODGE Hotel. The Simien PARK Hotel is NOT in the Simien Mountains National Park but on the main Gonder to Axum road which runs through Debark town. The Simien LODGE Hotel is in the SMNP at an altitude of 3,260 metres and claims to be the highest hotel in all of Africa ( we had a beer there and paid the highest price in all of Ethiopia!!! ).

We stayed in the top ( 3rd ) floor of the "New" block. The bedroom was adequate and there was a nice view of the sunset from a shared balcony/corridor. The bathroom had the usual problems typical of almost every hotel we stayed in during a two-week tour of the Highlands....poor plumbing and broken fittings.

There is a lively "Sports" bar where locals drop in to watch TV. Our visit coincided with the opening of the African Cup ( a pan-African football competition ) so the place was packed. Food is available here. The restaurant is in a separate block and here good and varied buffet food and breakfast was served. Roast lamb was particularly good. Service was excellent and the Manager and staff did there best to sort out problems.

The hotel is on the main street so there is traffic noise.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room in the "New" block....I can't imagine what the bathroom is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peartree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Simien Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simien Park Hotel

Address: Simien Mountains National Park, Debark, Ethiopia
Region: Ethiopia > Amhara Region > Debark
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Debark
Price Range: £167 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Simien Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simien Park Hotel Ethiopia/Debark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing