We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planter's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Planter's Lodge
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sekondi-Takoradi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Very cosy and well run place.The staff was very attentive and the food was great.Would recommend the grouper and the calamari was very nicely spiced too. I only stayed for a night but will definitely return on future trips.No complaints whatsoever.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Abena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    35
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
6
6
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The previous review from Mukwera sums it up perfectly!! It's a stunning hotel that I would recommend anytime to anyone!!

Only gripe is that the rooms are very small and one of the receptionists - Lindy(?) - nees to be taught how to treat customers.

Well done Planters!! I will not stay anywhere else should I visit Takoradi again in future!

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the rooms adjacent to reception and close to the parking bays but had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob312613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sekondi-Takoradi, Ghana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

For Takoradi, Planters Lodge is almost synonymous with Captain Hooks; they have been a part of Takoradi for many years, akin to Jacks Cafe in Cassablanca.
Staying at Planters Lodge is expensive, as is everywhere and everything in Takoradi. To put things in perspective, it is situated in an area where a house requiring extensive renovation, an intermittent power supply and invariably no water or garbage collection, will cost you US$1M.
Everything is relative however; the standards upheld at Planters Lodge set the bench mark for others to follow; the effort, investment and energy injected into the Lodge over the years is clear to see and it is a true credit to all those involved since it originally became a hotel. (Back in the day I believe it was an Officers Club – and careful scrutiny of the main building with evidence of a colonial style would seem to support this.)
What I believe it does however is target a specific clientele, (if you are wanting a wild afternoon with a group of friends around the swimming pool or standing at a bar, then chose an alternative, (there are many in Takoradi), as Planter lodge would not support this.
Attention to detail, overall standards, service and the general ambiance of the place make it very easy to forget that you are in Takoradi – management is “sharp” and focussed – refer to the negative comments on Trip Adviser and you will immediately see a courteous and objective response from management.
Do I stay there regularly? “No” - I cannot afford it - but I do eat there. (Note: I can’t afford a V8 Range Rover either – but that doesn’t mean they’re overpriced and not value for money…..)
One last observation, if Hotels are full in Takoradi – Planters Lodge will be the first one.

Room Tip: For abject decadence – choose a room upstairs in the original building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mukwera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
725 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 734 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was my second stay at this hotel, whilst on business trips to the. Western Region of Ghana, staying this time in a cottage rather than the main building. The cottage is essentially a suite with sitting room separate from the bedroom, a welcome change in a business hotel. The location is quiet and the surroundings attractive.

These rooms are clearly getting on and whilst good TVs are standard, thee is room for some upgrade work especially in the bath rooms which are no longer up to the standard of the rest of the establishment.

The renovation of the restaurant has been completed and there it is roomy and over looks the pool and the temporary location is now a coffee shop a much better arrangement. Service is generally very good and the staff at breakfast were exceptionally good, nothing too much trouble and efficient in meeting requests for omelettes etc.

The Wifi worked quite well given the spread out nature of the property and a good WiFI is essential when staying on business.

As I travelled extensively during my stay it would have been nice of the spa stayed open later than the 7pm, as most evenings we were just getting back as it closed so I was never able to unwind and get the kinks out from being driven over some of the more difficult Ghanaian Roads

All in all a nice stay some tweaks would have made it very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Having been a regular for two years, I put up with the lacklustre service due to the quality of the fillet steaks. It is not unusual to wait one and a half hours for the food to be served. I was shocked today when I looked at the menu and seen that the cost of all food has increased by 50%. Absolutely ridiculous, we paid for our first drink then left and will not return nor will our company colleagues or clients. Temporary tape was used in the menus to adjust the price increase which is not fitting to a high class hotel. They have achieved the highest prices in Takoradi but do not have the service or quality of food to merit the prices. Avoid unless you are on company expenses and not in a rush.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joncampbell83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edwardbutt, MD at Planter's Lodge, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Sir,

I am sorry to hear that you have decided not come back to Planters Lodge & Spa. We pride ourselves with delivering 'high’ standards in all aspects of the hotels operation. I can understand your concern with some of the new increased prices on our menu, however if you look closely, the imported items (beef, lamb etc) are items which have gone up considerably.

This is all due to the new foreign exchange policy and heightened importation and VAT charges that have been recently implemented by the Government. Unfortunately these are issues which are completely out of our control.

We hope you reconsider coming back to us and we would be happy to discuss any ideas or thoughts on how we can improve our service to satisfy all your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
232 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have been stopping in here for food once or twice a year going back over 14 years and it has never let me down and I always enjoyed the experience, the food and the service. Keep it up guys as the track record is now set.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SforSani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Tried booking a one bedroom bungalow with living room. Was told two females or two males cannot share the same bed. I had thought living room sofa would make a bed. They said after considerable pressure that they could put a fold up bed in living room and charge us usd 50 extra per night. So although bungalow is for 2 people they wanted charge us extra. Obviously such rules are not pc and although I would not have shared a bed with my sister, it does make one think their rules are strange. Despite this we had lunch there on Saturday and food was terrific , served well and everyone from our party of 7 were very pleased. It is expensive but worth it. Hotel is not for those physically challenged as steps going down to pool and restaurant does not have any handrails.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahELondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sekondi-Takoradi
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Atlantic Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plus Atlantic Hotel
#1 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Takoradi Select
Protea Hotel by Marriott Takorad...
#2 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stellar Lodge
Stellar Lodge
#5 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Takoradi Standard Hotel
Takoradi Standard Hotel
#7 of 14 in Sekondi-Takoradi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Loreto
Hotel Loreto
#2 of 8 in Cape Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
3.0 mi away
Veivaag Lodge
Veivaag Lodge
#7 of 24 in Sekondi-Takoradi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planter's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planter's Lodge

Property: Planter's Lodge
Address: Dixcove Hill | Beach Road, Sekondi-Takoradi, Ghana
Region: Ghana > Western Region > Sekondi-Takoradi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sekondi-Takoradi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Planter's Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Planter's Lodge is Ghana's Only Luxury Heritage Hotel offering excellent dining and first class accommodation in an exotic tropical environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Planter's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planter`s Hotel Sekondi-Takoradi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing