We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly front when you could find them.”
Review of Silk Hotel

Silk Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silk Hotel
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I chose this business hotel because it was just across from the train station and bus terminal and it was a lot cheaper than a minshuku in Magome or Tsumago, which were the towns I wanted to see. No one was at the front when I checked in, but a sign in Japanese said to dial a number so I did and someone came down and checked me in. I had reserved the cheapest room for Y3600, but was placed in a Y3800 yen room. On the website, it stated that some of the rooms had refrigerators; the one that I got didn't, which was a bit inconvenient.

The room was clean except for the curtains which were a bit old. I thought the AC was just a central fan for a while until the next day when the maid told me that they had to throw a switch to get the compressor to work. I had AC for the second evening, but only a fan for the first.

I was a bit worried about finding a C-Store when I looked at mapion.com, but it turns out there was one in the station that had obento and drinks. There was also a Lawson up the hill (out of sight) to the north, and a Family Mart quite a ways east past a mall. There were plenty of small restaurants in the area.

For Y300, you could have breakfast at 7 AM in the adjacent coffee shop. I saw no one there except at breakfast. It was eggs and ham and coffee, which was decent for Y300.

When I returned after hiking in the rain from Magome to Nagiso, the maid let me use the dryer on the 5th floor to dry out my clothes.

It's an older hotel, but if you're concerned about budget, and have already stayed at umteen ryokan and other meal in the room places, it might work out for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a refrigerator and AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kitsuko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kumazo1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
Thank 山口 浩
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank しゅわしゅわパウダー入り
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015
Thank inamellowtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank バツベイ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank いぐっさん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nakatsugawa
0 mi away
Hotel Route Inn Nakatsugawa Inter
0 mi away
Hotel Route Inn Ena
0 mi away
Enakyo Grand Hotel
Enakyo Grand Hotel
#1 of 11 in Ena
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Hanasarasa
Hotel Hanasarasa
#1 of 16 in Nakatsugawa
49 reviews
0 mi away
Iwasu-so
Iwasu-so
#2 of 16 in Nakatsugawa
25 reviews
0 mi away
Nagataki
Nagataki
#8 of 16 in Nakatsugawa
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silk Hotel

Address: 2-7 Sakaemachi, Nakatsugawa 508-0032, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Nakatsugawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels / Ryokan in Nakatsugawa
Price Range: £28 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten and Agoda so you can book your Silk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing