We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 00:00 - 23:59
Nakasendo self-guided walking tour 2 days
1

Book in advance
from
£417.19
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Nakasendo Magome-juku
from £417.19
More Info
from £210.50
More Info
from £137.57
More Info
from £111.11
More Info
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
345
247
77
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
345
247
77
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day trip route bus postal track yen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2014 via mobile

We were in Magome as starting point for the hike to Tsumago. It looks like a nice old village, but the amount of souvenir shops gave it a touristy and commercial feel. Must say that the people are great. We couldn't make it there before the deadline of the luggage transfer service, but after a call with the tourist office there were willing to wait for us to arrive!

Thank Martijn710
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We loved this walk. Did it on an incredibly hot day but once we got through the first quarter of it, it was a downhill run through beautiful country. Was just so nice to go through quaint little villages. Have great memories .

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We took a train at 10 am from Nagoya and reached Nakatsugawa at 10.50 am. We visited the tourist office to get very good map of the trail. The bus to Magome is at 11.15 am and cost 560 Yen per person, taking about 25 mins. On arrival, we walked through Magome, eating some delicious snacks along the way. There is a rest stop with free wifi. At the end of the uphill path is the old notice board which marks the start of the Nakasendo trail to Tsumago. The view here is scenic. We also ate our lunch at the soba cafe here. As we were short of time, we decided to take the 1.25 pm bus to Magome Pass (300yen) and start our walk there.
This stretch of the walk is easy as the earlier part is more uphill. We took about one and a half hour to reach Tsumago, with detour to see the two waterfalls and tea break. We had matcha at a cafe in Tsumago. We took a cab(1300 yen) to Nagiso (10 mins) to catch the 3.55pm. train back to Nagoya, followed by the Shinkansen to Kyoto. We left our three luggages in a big coin locker (700 yen) in Nagoya. Arriving at 5.01 in Nagoya, we managed to take the 5.19 pm train to Kyoto and reached there at about 6.10 pm.

Date of experience: June 2014
31  Thank kim buay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have just finished a 10 day walk of the Nakasendo Trail with Fusao Ariga of Japan Travelogue and have had a marvellous time.
Fusao has selected the most interesting sections of the trail, skipping over other sections by train & taxi.
We walked along beautiful forest paths, through hamlets plus a bit of bitumen on some days.
Fusao has been a fabulous tour guide and much more. For instance, when my wife became ill and couldn't complete the walk, he was wonderfully helpful in liaising with a doctor and then tweaked the trip to allow us both to still enjoy the adventure.
Fusao's knowledge of Japan and it's history, his choice of inns & hotels and his friendly style have all contributed to making this a great holiday.
If you're looking to see some "real" Japan then the Nakasendo is thoroughly recommended but I suggest you get your legs in shape beforehand as the walk on some days is reasonably challenging.

Date of experience: June 2014
6  Thank colinb691
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A nice old town which has been restored and adapted to a touristic spot. This means you will find many snack bars, candy stores, souvenir stores and such.
Tsumago felt more authentic.

Date of experience: May 2014
3  Thank IvanL313
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews