We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serenity by the lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elementaita Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elementaita Country Lodge
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Serenity by the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Although this was a working retreat, I did my best to indulge in the serenity of the lake. It was great swimming by moonlight in the pool. Rooms are great and the staff are quite endearing - often going the extra mile. Delicious food but one is not spoiled for choice. Good lawns ! Barbecue by the pool bar !

Will definitely be coming back, this time for leisure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MugambiEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
6
1
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

The place was just incredible... good food, pool and warmly welcome from the staff! The space in the tent was huge! I don't know the price for a night because my Safari compagny paid the bill however we had really good time in this camp!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean_Philippe2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Room not up to the mark at all specially for what you pay . After a lovely stay at Keekrook Lodge , Masai Mara and Sopa Lodge at Amboseli this place was a let down. We had to ask for shampoo , water , towel etc. the WC seat hinges were loose and came into my hands while trying to put it down. Mosquitoes in room fortunately we were carrying repellants. to be fair the mosquito nets were provided. Definitely not recommended .

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Atjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nakuru hotels

Nairobi
Level Contributor
103 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I really loved the rooms. I was in the cottages, and they were excellent! I hear the rooms in the blocks are not bad as well. Only thing is that it gets pretty cold at night, you can ask for an extra blanket/ duvet. The view of the lake at sunset is stunning!
The food is ok, they could improve on this.
For a relaxed weekend, I would recommend this place.
For conference facilities, the rooms are great, only that they can get quite hot.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottages. Really great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Right from the booking with John Kahama to the staff in the hotel- Sam, Eugene Saitoti, Victor etc, we enjoyed our wedding anniversary there. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They made our stay there great and we look forward to visiting there with the children. Its a great place to visit with children and its also next to the lake. The grounds are well kept and safe for walks.

However, carry some shower jel and body lotion since they only provide soap.

Room Tip: The hotel has spacious rooms in all classes. The cottages are great though even the standard and del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Excellent service - Staff very friendly. They actually cooked and served the food to our request
Even though due to climate and locations, in he evening there are lots of insects. we did not have any problems. they put nets around the area

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rangilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Now I know that "tacky" is culturally defined -- so what I find tacky, others may find elegant, beautiful, apropos, or even tasteful.

Pictures on the walls, not only signed by the artists, but with their mobile numbers as well -- tacky. As someone else said, way too much concrete - tacky. Walls covered in half cut tree branches covered in a high gloss finish - very tacky. Trim-paint used on walls - tacky. Cape Buffalo head at reception with electric lights fitted in the eye sockets - extremely tacky.

The food was boring and insipid at best (veggies and meat both overcooked and tasteless). The breakfast chef had no real idea of what an omelette was all about. I asked for mushrooms in mine, and was told that they did not have any mushrooms in the kitchen. He recommended stewed cauliflower instead! It seems that no one had any idea how to use the simple drip coffeemaker in the restaurant. Every time I tried to get some coffee from it, the carafe’s lid was covered with wet coffee grounds and the coffee itself was full of the same – quite nasty. Fish heads one evening as a main course. The lady behind the buffet kept saying that the tray did not ONLY have heads, but that was all I could find. The various grilled meats available at lunchtimes (different internal chicken organs, beef, and pork [although the one cooking it called it “pig meat’) all seems to have come from animals that must have been veterans of the Mau Mau war of independence in the 50s and 60s. Very tough indeed.

The rooms were large and fairly well equipped. No Wi-Fi, but had Ethernet cables that could not reach to the room’s desk (one has to sit on one’s bed to use it). And of course, such cables are of no use anyway for most tablets, smartphones, and eReaders. Someone is not thinking this through. Beds were very comfortable and rooms were very clean. Most rooms share a water heater, so realise that whether or not you have hot water may be dependent on the person in the room next to you – where the heater for your bathroom is may be located.

When the power went off, I’ll have to say that they did have a huge diesel generator that kicked in right away. Unfortunately, it was located immediately outside the conference room that our organisation was given for its meetings. The noise made continuing the meeting nearly impossible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water heater. Then be sure to leave it on long enough for the folks in the nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nakuru
1.3 mi away
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
Jacaranda Lake Elementaita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
22.3 mi away
Lake Naivasha Country Club-Sun Africa Hotels
13.4 mi away
Great Rift Valley Lodge & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Midland Hotel Nakuru
Midland Hotel Nakuru
#1 of 16 in Nakuru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
22.0 mi away
Ziwa Bush Lodge
Ziwa Bush Lodge
#1 of 31 in Nakuru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
Sentrim Elementaita Lodge
#3 of 8 in Lake Elementaita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elementaita Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elementaita Country Lodge

Property: Elementaita Country Lodge
Address: Nakuru-Nairobi Highway | Lake Elementaita, Nakuru 20100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Nakuru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Nakuru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elementaita country lodge is 4 star lodge situated 120 kilometer from Nairobi and only 45 minutes to Lake Nakuru. The lodge is situated less than 500metres from Lake Elementaita on the shores of flamingos /pelican. It is a perfect place to experience one of the world’s largest ornithological spectacles. More than 430 different species of birds have been Identified in naivaisha-Elementaita-nakuru belt.Lake elementaita is the only known breeding grounds for pelicans in East and central Africa.the lodge is set in 50 acres of freshly manicured lush lawn, with benth frontage and suitable for team building and camping. The atmosphere is great for holidaymakers, family, honeymooners and business people. Our lodge is able to host up to;• 26 people on single occupancy• 56 people and more on a shared occupancyWe specialize in conference, workshops, seminars, team building and even group retreats.Our rates are very pocket friendly matched with vibrant hospitality to all our guests.ACCOMMODATIONSerenely elegant, essentially African design, all rooms are well appointed with their own balconies overlooking the lake.RESTAURANT, LOUNGE CUM BAROur restaurant has the ambiance of African architecture coupled with well trained staff, serving the very best of Kenya and international cuisine.CONFERENCE FACILITIESTwo tastefully design conference hall which can accommodated up to 300 at ago depending with the style arrangement, with all relevant conference equipmentSWIMMING POOL The pool is of a standard size with a panoramic view of the lake and its environs.ACTIVITIES• Bird watching• Game viewing• Ballooning/ horse riding• Safari walks• Maasai live performance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Jovago.com so you can book your Elementaita Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elementaita Country Hotel Nakuru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing