We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Merica Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Merica Hotel
Ranked #28 of 57 Nakuru B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel is a good choice for business travellers. It is easy to access. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The rooms facing the main street can be very noisy at night (there is a night club right opposite the hotel). The WIFI connectivity is reasonably fast and free and available in all sections of the hotel. Due to its central location, accessibility to other attractions within Nakuru can be easily arranged. The fruits and vegetables offered are fresh (from their farm). The staff was very helpful and efficient. The only concern I had was the limited car parking space available at this hotel for those opting to drive.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the swimming pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murithi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPSMerica, Manager at Merica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Murithi M,

We appreciate that you have taken time to post a review. We are glad your experience was positive and that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We are currently working on an exciting renovation plan that will totally change the ambiance and comfort of the hotel facilities. We are soon launching valet parking. Hope to have you back soon.

Regards,

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great room, tasty food and excellent service!
Located close to lake Nakuru national park for fantastic game drive.
GreAt value for money hotel.
This hotel is suitable god couples, friends travelling as it had triple rooms but also for families.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPSMerica, Manager at Merica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Janeych,

Thank you for your delightful review. Our strategic location offers our guests the opportunity to access shopping, banking and other facilities in town. We are a hotel of choice for business as well as family getaways.

Regards,

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The food is fabulous! They serve an excellent selection of foods in their buffets and this is made better by the revelation that most of it is grown in their farms. Pop in, even if just passing through Nakuru, for a great meal.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPSMerica, Manager at Merica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Sam G,

Thank you for your review. Indeed we serve the best food in town and have the best service and accommodation to compliment.

Regards,

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This was my first trip to Kenya and I really didn't know what to expect as far as my hotel stay but I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the Merica Hotel. Our rooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable, the staff was kind and very efficient.

Our group stayed for seven nights and we had most of our meals at the restaurant in the Merica and those were very good too. Our mission team travels to Nakuru once a year and this is where the team always stays and we've never been disappointed. I would recommend the Merica to anyone!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the building do not get as much sun so they tend to be a more comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPSMerica, Manager at Merica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Kim,

We are glad that we made your first trip to Kenya memorable and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our comfortable accommodation, efficient staff and menu. We look forward to hosting your mission again.

Regards,

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We knew we were going to arrive late afternoon in Nakuru so it didn't seem sensible to go straight into the park which was our reason for coming. We stayed here overnight before heading in the next day.
It was a good choice. It is rather like a good business hotel anywhere I suppose but comfortable and efficient. The rooms are a generous size and smart. The bar and restaurant are both very pleasant places and the food we had was very nice indeed.
The only thing I felt could do with work are the bathrooms. This, at least, was true of ours and let the room down a bit. Everything worked and it wasn't dirty but it did look tired and a bit old fashioned. That said, it was no big thing and we did enjoy our night here. We were on the first floor and the room was easily reached by lift or stairs.
We made a good decision to stay overnight as we were able to have a leisurely breakfast and then head to our lodge in the park. Be careful if you plan to do something similar. They measure the 24 hours in the park to the minute so you don't want to enter too early or you'll be heading out again before breakfast the next day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeGOsterleyMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPSMerica, Manager at Merica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear MikeGOsterleyMiddx,

Thank you for your candid review. We appreciate your compliments to our comfort, efficiency, facilities and meals. Our rooms are about to undergo a major renovation this year. Do stay with us next time to experience our new accommodation facilities.

Regards,

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed two nights for business, and I cannot complaint. Is an old fashion hotel but with all comfort stuff: the room is spacious, the wi-fi worked very well, the food is good, varied (tried breakfast, lunch and dinner) and the service is excellent: quick check in and out, quick in serving dinner. It is a good place for meetings. On the down side, the hotel could change the mosquito nets or wash the existing ones.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the highest floors and facing the interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPSMerica, Manager at Merica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your review. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our food, service and accomodation and have taken note of the areas that that needs improvement. Hope to have you back soon.

Happy Holidays!

Regards,

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My stay was short at this place. The room is quite large and mine was besides a big park. Internet worked fine in my room. It has an elevator and thus no difficulty with baggage carrying upstairs. The breakfast had good choice and the staff were pleasant. One thing that did bother me was the noise from the parking area below that woke me up quite early. The hotel is in a central part of the town - not too busy but close to amenities. For a small town, it was much more than I had expected.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPSMerica, Manager at Merica Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. We are glad that we met and exceeded your expectations. Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year from Merica Hotel Nakuru!

Hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nakuru
1.3 mi away
Sarova Woodlands
Sarova Woodlands
#1 of 19 in Nakuru
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Midland Hotel Nakuru
Midland Hotel Nakuru
#2 of 19 in Nakuru
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
#2 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel & Suites
Legacy Hotel & Suites
#10 of 19 in Nakuru
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cathay Nakuru
Hotel Cathay Nakuru
#11 of 19 in Nakuru
41 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merica Hotel

Address: Kenyatta Avenue | P.O Box 560, Nakuru 20100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Nakuru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Nakuru
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com and Ebookers so you can book your Merica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing