We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sweet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nakuru
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lake Nakuru Flamingo Lodge
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“sweet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Very close to see Buffaro from hotel guard

Many mosquito flies in the room but it doesn't do any harm.

During game safari, we could find rhino, lions and giraffe. it was fantastic indeed.

Restaurant was also great!

Room Tip: it was a spacious accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hiroshi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    11
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
6
9
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I made the mistake of booking my tour group into this Hotel.
The reception staff appeared to be in an emergency mode all the time and were always discussing something or the other with other staff who seems to always crowd the reception area.
We were overcharged in this Hotel and the manager who doesn't seem to be around could not help over the phone.
The food was so basic and almost unpalatable .
The rooms are small and quite basic,no slippers provided and showers did not work properly.
The rooms are also quite noisy and you can clearly hear your neighbours flushing their toilets.
For the high price they charge, this Hotel could do better in their service provision.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maasaielder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake nakuru f, Public Relations Manager at The Lake Nakuru Flamingo Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2015
Dear Guest,

We regret your bad experience in a hotel in Nakuru County.

We kindly request you to visit our website and see the photo gallery just to confirm to us whether this is the facility you visited then.

Kindly give us your feedback through our email:info@lakenakuruflamingolodge.com.

Kind Regards,
Public Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nakuru hotels

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I had booked for a seminar of 20 people. Had also booked a room in the third floor then at around 2 the receptionist came to my room claiming tht i had nt paid when i opened the door was attacked by 4 men n the lady receptionist.took away with my phone laptops n money which upto nw it has nvr bn recovered n am very sure it was an inside job

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kipro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake nakuru f, Public Relations Manager at The Lake Nakuru Flamingo Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2015
Dear Guest,

Kindly visit the gallery of our website:https://www.lakenakuruflamingolodge.com and confirm if this is the facility you visited and had that nasty experience.

Kindly use our email:info@lakenakuruflamingolodge.com to give us your feedback.

Thankyou.

Kind Regards,
Public Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Asante sana for a great service from the staff and the lodge is beautiful....safe and comfortable for non- camping people like me with outdoor and camping people like my husband! My kids loved the warm bags under the bed covers at night, it does get cold, specially at morning...bring a jacket, oants, socks, etc.....during the day you can enjoy the pool, nice food at the restaurant and a small souvenir store...the lake is fantastic! So breathtaking....lots of animals during game drive..we really enjoyed the baboons on the roads in the afternoon...so much fun and a perfect lodge! Stay here!!

Room Tip: We had lodge 7 and 8 and were perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabs g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

The hotel is quite basic, no amenities apart from a bar that has a large TV screen. Mind you, people aren't here to be entertained, more for its close proximity to Lake Nakuru. Staff are helpful, but rooms are very basic. It's also incredibly noisy - it reminds me of a youth hostel. If your room is directly above the reception, you're in for a noisy stay. Some of the rooms on the inside do not have access to natural light, instead your windows look into the corridors. My room was directly by the stairs where all the guests and staff walk up and down. Luckily I have my ear plugs.... I'm writing this report at 10:10pm and some kind of rubbish music is blaring downstairs...not the greatest thing for those who have an early start the next day.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hongky_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake nakuru f, Public Relations Manager at The Lake Nakuru Flamingo Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2015
Dear Guest,

We are certain that the description you have given does not match our hotel.

Kindly visit the gallery of our website:https://www.lakenakuruflamingolodge.com to establish the truth of the matter.

Kind Regards,
Public Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We had a one day stay at the Lake Nakuru Flamingo Lodge during our eight days safari tour in august.The hotel is conveniently located just outside, one of the gates of the Lake Nakuru National park and the staff s are very polite and friendly.However the hotel itself is very basic in terms of accommodation. We were given a room on a newly constructing building at the right side of the main building.The room was very basic with only two soap pieces in the bathroom along with couple of towels.The water heater wasn't working properly and my friend got a few shocks attempting to use it.The bathroom didn't had proper drainage as water spilled to our room while my friend was having shower and we had to lay the used towels to stop it from flooding the room.Few of the lights in our room wasn't working and didn't had the cover to it, exposing the bare bulb.The food was average in taste as well as in options.But i found the bar very cheap.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank expeditioustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights, we were not impressed by the surroundings, it looked like we were entering an industrial estate. We thought the hotel had ambitions to be something more than it was. We'd have like a bit less showy reception and nicer rooms. Also, with the staff a bit less saluting and a bit more making sure things were working. The toilet was not flushing in one of our rooms and the TV was missing in the other, also a bedside light had no bulb in. We found it very noisy at night, with music and laughter from other guests. All this was forgiven though when we found how close it was to the National Park as it meant we were at the gate when it opened at 6:30 am.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Endsleigh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nakuru
4.4 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
#2 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lake Nakuru Lodge
Lake Nakuru Lodge
#3 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Ziwa Bush Lodge
Ziwa Bush Lodge
#1 of 32 in Nakuru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
8.8 mi away
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
Lake Nakuru Sopa Lodge
#1 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chester Hotel
Chester Hotel
#6 of 32 in Nakuru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Nakuru Flamingo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Nakuru Flamingo Lodge

Property: The Lake Nakuru Flamingo Lodge
Address: Lion Hills, Nakuru 20100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Nakuru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Nakuru
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What make us unique: Geographical location (adjacent to Lake Nakuru National Park Home for the Flamingoes and The Big Four). Accessibility (Air: Naish Air strip; Road: regular day and night shuttles). Serene and quiet environment away from town Rooms for persons with disabilities Wireless Internet connections DSTV Personalized service. Professional staff. Local and International cuisines. Adequate space for parking and for team building activities, wedding receptions, parties and camping ground. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing