We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Midland Hotel Nakuru
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Nakuru
Nairobi
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Cosy rooms”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed in the rooms in the new block. The bed is comfortable, room is clean and worth the price. Hotel staff were helpful, I was on a special diet and they were very helpful. Has wifi which is helpful. Would recommend staying at Midland Hotel in Nakuru.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    31
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
6
3
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed in the rooms in the new block. The bed is comfortable, room is clean and worth the price. Hotel staff were helpful, I was on a special diet and they were very helpful. Has wifi which is helpful. Would recommend staying at Midland Hotel in Nakuru.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckiangu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Basic accommodation but perfectly adequate for a night or two .A lively bar and terrace restaurant with WiFi .Friendly and competent staff. Fairly priced with the best breakfast I found in my time in Kenya .SK. Milton Keynes. UK

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This friendly hotel had a bar a restaurant wifi fi and good food . We chose the budget room round the back and paid 6500 ks for the three of us . The wine was 200 glass and beer the same . Five spice chicken chips and vegetables 700 . Ask for Josephine on the desk and if you are working for a charity you can negotiate resident rates . Plenty of hot water and the most glorious hot bath instead of Luke warm or cold showers of the last week made it a joy .

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank compostmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I spent two nights last week and had carried two jackets (jean jacket and long coat) in case of the cold weather which I placed on an the headrest of an armchair next to the bed. Being that the weather was warm, I did not use the jackets during my stay.
On checking out, I left the rom key with the cleaning lady and hurriedly headed home. Unfortunately, as I unpacked my luggage I realized that I had left my jean jacket and proceeded on to call the hotel. That is when the drama began. The hotel could not find my jean jacket!
This is day 3 and they are still investigating the matter.
I'm quite frustrated and disgusted that someone was busy going through my stuff while I was in meetings.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank MM N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We checked in here for 3 nights. The room we were given was of below average standard for price paid, compared to other hotels in Kenya of same room rate.

The main door to the room didn't close properly, one window didn't close properly, the telephone in the room didn't work, the shower didn't work properly. This was reported but never fixed. No hot water after 10am in the morning, which is hotel policy, however they don't mention this on their website, on check-in or I'm the room.

The customer service of the staff from Management downwards was terrible, apart from two staff members. It's like they didn't care and just want your money.

The food was average and nothing to get excited about.

There are better hotels in Nakuru who give better value for money and I would certainly not recommend this hotel to anyone at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJSUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Mid land Hotel the place to be. welcoming, couteous staff, very understanding. in the centre of the town close to many shoping malls. not far from the Lake nakuru park. the Rooms well kept clean adequate and very relaxing

Room Tip: old wing of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibutus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nakuru
0.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel & Suites
Legacy Hotel & Suites
#3 of 17 in Nakuru
6 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Lake Nakuru National Park
841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cathay Nakuru
Hotel Cathay Nakuru
#10 of 17 in Nakuru
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hillcourt Resort & Spa
Hillcourt Resort & Spa
#2 of 17 in Nakuru
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eagle Palace Hotel
Eagle Palace Hotel
#1 of 49 in Nakuru
88 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chester Hotel
Chester Hotel
#6 of 34 in Nakuru
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midland Hotel Nakuru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midland Hotel Nakuru

Property: Midland Hotel Nakuru
Address: Geoffrey Kamau Way, Nakuru 20100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Nakuru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Nakuru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midland Hotel is an integral part of Nakuru whose history goes all the way back to the 1900s. In the early days only 1st class railway passengers were taken in. Famous personalities like the Queen Mother have been guests here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Midland Hotel Nakuru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing