We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In comparison, a nice hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kakamega
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golf Hotel Kakamega
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kakamega
Menlo Park
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“In comparison, a nice hotel”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was a work related trip and we first went to the Royal Guest House in Misumu. I write the review of it here b/c it does not exist in Trip Advisor:
Basic, clean accommodations with meals. Great staff and cooks, at every turn assured our comfort and safety. Beds were extremely comfortable with bed nets- use them! Rooms arranged around an outdoor veranda. Large meeting room. Meals were typical western Kenya fare: Fresh chapatis take about 1 hour to prepare but are worth the wait! Lunch and dinner are meat (double fried chicken or goat stew) plus ugali or rice, greens, eggs cooked to order in am with fresh fruit, white coffee or tea. There is a chicken coop at the back of some rooms. If you are a light sleeper you might as for rooms a bit further away as the rooster starts at 3 am followed at 5 am by the call to prayer. Bathroom is clean and mostly functional. Toilet stops up frequently. Hot shower works but ? cleanliness of water so we didn't use it.
After 3 nights there went to the Golf Hotel Kakamega
10 nights here. Big Hotel - nicest in town. Owned by a former president. Large playground and kiddy pool plus swimming pool open on weekends- clean water. Beautiful gardens where one can walk in a patrolled setting each day. "Palapas" (thatched roofed open meeting areas) in the garden by the restaurant. First floor rooms have been remodeled. Internet is fairly reliable all over hotel. Room had comfortable beds and bed nets. There were no mosquitoes during our stay. Large sliding glass doors open on to front lawn/garden. Very very conscientious housekeeping staff, laundry done daily, helpful administrative and security staff. Our safari agent was able to bring his charge machine to the hotel and plug it in and run our card with the staff's assistance.
Dining room is large and the wait staff and cooks are great. Be prepared to wait a good hour for meals (not atypical for western Kenya). Breakfast buffet was fresh fruit, juices, white or black coffee and tea, cereal, several breads and eggs cooked to order, sausages, roast potatoes, beans. Dinner was a bit lack luster. Menu is more limited that on the printed page. You won't starve but food is ordinary. We'd stay here again.
Another benefit to the Golf Hotel is the proximity to a small mall with a big Tuskee's food and department store plus a few stalls of crafts and local fabric. The best part was that it was "safe" enough to walk the 5 minutes there and have an experience "in Kenya" rather than being taken everywhere in a car. We followed the local advice not to take a backpack, camera or wear flashy jewelry. The main risk in western Kenya is not personal violence but robbery of the Hit and Run variety- as in any large town or city. We were so lucky to find Winnie who sells traditional Kenyan fabric and Kangas. Each piece is 6 yards and the choices were just too hard gifto make. One of our friends returned the next day, picked her fabric and had a dress and top made at incredibly reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    23
    29
    2
    7
See reviews for
6
9
1
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Although this is considered to be the best hotel in Kakamega (and I believe it is), you should lower your expectations because the best you get there is a great garden. We only stayed one night, so we cannot judge about the golf course or the pool, but other than the nice walking path in the cool air we found nothing nice in this place. The rooms are not expensive and neither is the restaurant. The room was generally acceptable - bed, mosquito net, tv (no idea if it worked or not, though - looked ancient), complementary bottle of water (one - though it was a double room and there were two of us) and soaps, suitcase rack, wardrobe, mirror, nightstands and an armchair. No table. The hotel is currently under constructions so the guest are warned about the possible inconvenience. Other than huge holes in the outer walls there was nothing else that would disturb us. The drainage system was no good and we had the water staying on the floor after the shower. Flushing can also be problematic since the tank need a lot of time to fill in so it is not really possible to use the toilet immediately after someone else was using it. The balcony is spacious and had a nice view over garden, but the fence is very low so one migth not feel really safe, and it would not be good for the kids.The worst part of the stay was the restaurant. The service was slow and the food was mostly no good. To be honest, mine tasted well, but it was cold. But there were two more persons and they could not finish their meal. I tried the lamb and it was not possible to chew it. The avocado was not ripe and they had no other to replace it. Breakfast was acceptable, fruits and cornflakes, sweet pastry, hot buffet (eggs, sausages, beans, potatoes, omelet) and juices. The guards were extremely friendly and polite, we also had help with the umbrellas because it was raining when we came. The lobby looked nice, with comfortable leather armchairs. However, I would not really like to spend another night in this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that looks at the garden and the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kakamega hotels

shropshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

It's difficult to know what to expect from a hotel in such a remote area of an African country. I was here for almost a week, and was generally comfortable and happy. My room was quite adequate and had a small balcony with a view over the garden. There is a small pool and a very short walk to the town centre with a couple of small shopping malls.
The staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful, but food was unimpressive. Breakfast was OK but I failed to find anything I really enjoyed for dinner. The menu was quite extensive, but devised by someone with a degree in creative writing. I suspect the problem was the freezer/microwave regime; every meat or fish we tried was somehow dessicated and dry. Chips were OK though!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dred11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I really enjoyed my 10 day stay at this hotel because I was made to feel very much at home. The staff are really attentive and go out of their way to smile and say hello. I have to say it is very clean and this is down to the incredible amount of cleaning which goes on at the hotel. There is hard work from all staff at the hotel. They are able to cater for large business functions and meetings, there were many going on at the time. I'm impressed with the level of security this made you feel safe but I also feel that the security personnel were far more important than this they were ambassadors to the hotel talking and being friendly to everybody- great to see from security. I believe it offered good value for money as I have stayed in much worse places for more money and the level of service is excellent which makes you feel your getting value for money. I always slept well and this was down to the cleaning staff, new sheets on beds everyday they made the room so comfortable. I highly recommend a visit here so you can go to Kakamega forest. The rooms are large and spacious with a warm shower and working tv. Wifi is included in most public areas but intermittent in bedrooms, not a problem for me. They have a good swimming pool area to relax and a pool side bar. Food is fine especially from the buffet and they do simple things well. Patrick was always friendly and all the serving and waiting staff were great. It is a special place with good people working there. It deserves to have a 5 rating taking into account the context and type of hotel it is.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back look over the gardens and golf course. A range of rooms available some with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is the luxury hotel in Kakamega. Luxury meaning that it has wi-fi (slow, however), flushing toilets, and warm showers, but it is nothing comparable to a 5 star hotel in a big city (like the Ritz or Savoy or even a Hilton). It is clean and secure, the staff is friendly, and the property is gorgeous. There is a lot of land, a small swimming pool, and several gazebos on the property. It is also a very short walk to downtown Kakamega. You will mostly find foreigners in this hotel because it is too pricey for the locals. One thing is that you should be very wary of the food. Because most of its business comes from tourists, the food isn't as well-prepared, and one of my friends thinks he got ecoli from a hamburger here. If you want something a little less "western", then look at Sheywe to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam44586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xemxija, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Huge rooms with OK lighting, bathroom good, food good, bar good, facilities close by, helpful staff, not the Ritz but comfortable and clean. Not somewhere to stay for more than 1 or 2 nights but makes a good base whilst exploring the area.

Room Tip: If you want a bath, ask for a plug!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Hutz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed there one week for a workshop. The hotel is quiet and staff are helpful and friendly. There is a small swimming pool and a nice garden. Food at the restaurant is good. I assume this is the best place to stay at in Kakamega. The passion fruit juice from the morning buffet is delicious!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trip_lover_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Golf Hotel Kakamega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Hotel Kakamega

Property: Golf Hotel Kakamega
Address: Khasakhala Road | Box 118, Kakamega 50100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Western Province > Kakamega
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kakamega
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing